Journal Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Journal Media Group Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great to produce seven publications in team environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copy Editor in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Everyone cares. Excellent to produce news. Management cares about us. Let's us know why they are doing things. Feeds us on holidays.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is hectic if staffing is short but job gets done. There are not many cons here. Most people have bright outlooks.

    Journal Media Group2015-12-03
  2. "Gannett"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Journal Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a laid back environment. I worked with great people.

    Cons

    After JMG was bought by Gannett there was a scramble. Those who were not picked to transition to Gannett were laid off.

    Journal Media Group2019-04-06
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you want to hide for your career this is the place to do oit

    Cons

    Unrealistic priority is given to various egos in the company. It's like working with a bunch of children.

    Advice to Management

    Seek out incompetence and get rid of it

    Journal Media Group2016-03-17
  4. "Modern Journalism Prodution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group

    Pros

    The production (design and copy-editing) is largely done at central locations of newspaper chains. Designers and copy editors work produce pages for print editions that are printed on presses miles, perhaps time zones, distant. Through email, phone and the central pagination system, we keep editors and reporters apprised of status of their paper, before "sending" pages to platemaking equipment in the various cities. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    You understand that you are rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic. The pay is fairly low for the education and years of experience.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be as upfront as you can in this everchanging industry.

    Journal Media Group2015-12-14
  5. "Journeyman Press Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Modern presses and facility. Great workers and foremen. Good wage with good benefits..

    Cons

    Really can't think of nylons.

    Journal Media Group2015-11-09
  6. "Journal Media Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advertising Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management that is looking towards the future. I have been given the room to do my job without interference and given the training I need to do my job the best way possible. I have found that management is approachable and will listen and provide answers to the questions or problems.

    Cons

    We are in the process of being sold.

    Journal Media Group2015-10-15
  7. "TBD after merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group full-time

    Pros

    New company, yet to be determined how things will be. Many changes underway, hopefully all for the best!

    Cons

    In the past Journal Communications struggled with morale, communication, organization. Hopefully a bright future is ahead for JMG.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate and give more ownership and voice to lower level employees.

    Journal Media Group2015-08-19
  8. "Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group

    Pros

    Good people - good benefits

    Cons

    lack of direction - constant change - little job assurance

    Journal Media Group2015-09-10
  9. "Senior Multimedia Journalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Multimedia Journalist in Wichita Falls, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -New assignments each day allows for some variety to the work day. -Office atmosphere tends to be rather laid back.

    Cons

    -If you're good at what you do and are dedicated, you'll work long hours. Many of my bi-weekly checks have been easily over 100 hours. -Very little room for promotion. -While pay isn't the best, it's compounded when pay raises have been few and far between also.

    Advice to Management

    Try to better distribute the work load and hours. Some people are barely putting in their 40 hours while others are burning the candle at both ends and working 50-60 hours routinely. These tend to be the better employees that care, and it can lead to resentment and burnout.

    Journal Media Group2015-04-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Struggling to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Journal Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are a media partner of the Packers. No one talks in the building during the day so it is quiet

    Cons

    Morale is low. Constantly trying to overcome the newspaper is dying thing. The atmosphere in the building can be like a funeral.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example instead of relying on former glory. Focus on the customer a lot better. Allow the work atmosphere to be fun.

    Journal Media Group2013-10-02
Found 10 reviews