Journeys Key Holder Reviews | Glassdoor

Journeys Key Holder Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
54%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Journeys Chairman, CEO, & President of Operations, Genesco Robert J. Dennis
Robert J. Dennis
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Laid back job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Duluth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Journeys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chill environment. I like the freedom of expression. The competitiveness of getting your sales goal makes the job fun.

    Cons

    Just run into the occasional flaky new associates. Or they'll try and steal your sales.

    Continue reading
    Journeys2017-12-24
  2. "Journeys kidz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Key Holder 

    I have been working at Journeys full-time

    Pros

    Easy company to move up in

    Cons

    Little hours given For full time workers unless your a manager

    Journeys2020-01-14
  3. "Good part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead/Key Holder 

    I worked at Journeys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, team and sales-oriented

    Cons

    Not for everyone and at times can be stressful

    Continue reading
    Journeys2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Key Holder 

    I worked at Journeys part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hrs, friendly environment, dress code

    Cons

    Management, low minimum wage, little to no recognition

    Journeys2019-05-21
  5. "Great First Job - Not for long run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead/Key Holder in Lehigh Acres, FL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Journeys part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great managers - Great training - Flexible hours - Vacation days

    Cons

    - Extremely low pay - Very little hours - Competitive sales requirements - SOPS. Sales associates start making minimum wage and stay making minimum wage regardless of how long you’ve been with the company. You also have this thing called “SOPs” where you basically HAVE to make anywhere from $500 - $1,000 dollars a day of your own PERSONAL goal and it has to be split evenly between socks, shoes, and accessories. Yes, this job is like that of a knives salesman. Whoever greets the customer first and assists the customer first with shoes/sales, gets dibs on that customer and rings them out and gets that dollar amount added to their goal. You only get raises with promotions. I got promoted within 3 months of being with the company. My raise was a .70 cent raise from minimum wage. Even though I was only a key-holder/sales lead, my responsibilities were the exact same of that of a co-manager or store manager except with half the pay. I only worked for 20-25 hours a week making 9.25 and doing everything a main manager did. And get this: if I did get promoted to co-manager, I wouldn’t make an hourly wage anymore. I’d make commission. 4% of every transaction. 4%. And you work 45 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    Journeys2019-05-21
  6. "Journeys key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder 

    I have been working at Journeys part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, laid back dress code

    Cons

    Pitiful pay, unbelievably poor management

    Journeys2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hit or Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Journeys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40 Percent off anything in the store (even sale items) Quick development if you apply yourself Can be a fun env

    Cons

    Hours suck (8-10 hours a week for part time and 20-25 hours for key holder) Corrupt and hypocritical management in some stores Sales numbers are what determine your position and job security which can be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Journeys2018-05-22
  8. "Key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead/Key Holder in Cerritos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Journeys part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a fun working environment, you meet cool people. Journeys rewards hard work.

    Cons

    The management is very immature, Journeys hires people easily so in turn makes unqualified managers. Pay is also very bad for the amount of expectation they have on part timers and key holder. You can easily find a better paying mall job. If you’re looking for a full time job journeys is not for you however if you’re in high school and still living with your parents then journeys will be a perfect fit.

    Continue reading
    Journeys2018-04-11
  9. "Not the Best but Not the Worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full-time Key Holder in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Journeys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet tons of cool co workers as well as awesome customers. The products are always nice and the discount was amazing.

    Cons

    It’s very competitive. Promotions are kind of hard to come by if you don’t make your numbers.

    Continue reading
    Journeys2017-10-02
  10. "Going Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Journeys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount Fun atmosphere Easy goals

    Cons

    Long hours with no breaks Commission is hard to make Management doesn't care Writen up for the smallest infractions Anyone who isn't at least co-manager doesn't get a say in disputes

    Continue reading
    Journeys2017-08-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews