Joy Global Reviews | Glassdoor

Joy Global Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Ted Doheny II
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work schedule, people that care, good benefits, good salary, potential for bonuses(in 14 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, good pay, good peers(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management promotes on ability to do current job, not ability to lead and manage(in 10 reviews)

  • "Coal mining industry is in a downfall due to market and regulation(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mechanical designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, professional atmosphere

    Cons

    Follow same path as other global companies

    Advice to Management

    Be original, care more about employees, and diversify more in product lines

    Joy Global2018-06-14
  2. "Toxic managers headed to Toxic Dump"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None left. All the pros were walked out years ago

    Cons

    Never in my life have I experienced nepotism to this degree. Presidents and VP’s cover for one another to the point of illegal activities.

    Advice to Management

    Quit! There is no room for your selfish tactics

    Joy Global2018-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Gillette, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great have some retirement

    Cons

    Mandatory 60hrs a week call you in on your one day off when you're on nights. No family balance at all the interview is all lies

    Advice to Management

    Stop overworking your employees

    Joy Global2018-10-02
  4. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time

    Pros

    Good engineers to work with. Good work life balance under all my managers.

    Cons

    Poor health benefits that are too expensive.

    Joy Global2018-08-09
  5. "Worst management ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Joy Global full-time

      Pros

      Big talk, no action.

      Cons

      The importance of finding the right butts to kiss far exceeds any importance given to the work you do.

      Advice to Management

      Fire all the children and start over.

      Joy Global2018-08-05
    • "Good Company, Poor Upper Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Joy Global full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for, excellent safety standards, comfortable work environment

      Cons

      Leadership is lacking, watched 14 supervisors come and go in the total of 3 to 4 years on the off shift, they had a golden opprotunity to get all their eggs out of the coal basket and into Oil and Gas but sold that off faster then a blink of an eye. Now here I am jobless thanks to a plant closure and the company gets sold off and the old CEO's make millions!

      Advice to Management

      Hope Komastu runs it better then the old heads of state!

      Joy Global2018-05-31
    • "Limiting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Joy Global full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to move within the organization. Great team initially.

      Cons

      The working relationship between corporate and the union wasn't the best making it really difficult for the company to do anything from paint lines in the parking lot to implement cost saving initiatives. The facilities were in rough shape.

      Advice to Management

      So many changes so fast they were not taken seriously; rather, considered flavor of the month. A more detailed look at what needs to happen and when and how to implement would be valuable.

      Joy Global2018-04-30
    • "Upswing/Cyclical"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Joy Global full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, people that care, good benefits, good salary, potential for bonuses. Now part of Komatsu and initially seems and feels like a good company overall.

      Cons

      Travel can be extensive depending on project. Constant restructuring causes confusion and lack of guidance.

      Advice to Management

      Too much restructuring.

      Joy Global2018-04-16
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great Co-Workers, Worst Leadership Ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - My colleagues were some of the greatest people I've known. - Work Hard / Play Hard Environment - Great Pay / Benefits -Winter Shutdown for Holiday Season

      Cons

      - Nepotism ran wild. The influx of CNH employees that came in during my time there was astounding. Some were good, many were absolutely horrible. -Throughout my time, leaders were hired that were some of the most foul individuals I have ever met who not only lied on a regular basis, but also made you manipulate for them. The minute you stopped becoming their "pal", they tried to destroy your career.

      Advice to Management

      I continue to hear such horrible things from old friends that are still there, and absolutely NOTHING has changed. Get rid of the the leaders who continue to destroy the culture/morale.

      Joy Global2018-04-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Joy Global full-time

      Pros

      Good people, great hours and benefits

      Cons

      management is spread thin and doesn't always recognize contributing staff members

      Advice to Management

      listen to your employees for they live it all the time

      Joy Global2018-03-10
    Found 175 reviews