Joy Global Reviews | Glassdoor

Joy Global Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Ted Doheny II
61 Ratings
  1. "Mechanical designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, professional atmosphere

    Cons

    Follow same path as other global companies

    Advice to Management

    Be original, care more about employees, and diversify more in product lines

    Joy Global2018-06-14
  2. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Joy Global

    Pros

    The IT team as a whole is a great group of people. Employees often return after leaving

    Cons

    Managers promoted based off ability to do their current job, not lead.

    Joy Global2017-10-23
  3. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people were great, the job was fast paced, strong focus on safety, business attire was casual, and I enjoyed my job.

    Cons

    Some mgrs. were disconnected but others made up for it. Wished they were a bit more flexible with work schedules, but it's my understanding that has since changed.

    Advice to Management

    .

    Joy Global2017-06-22
  4. "Onboarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Honey Creek, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people of Joy Global are very welcoming and helpful to a new employee. They have made me feel like I really belong here and am immediately part of the team. I couldn't have asked for a better transition!

    Cons

    Some of the onboarding systems are delayed/quirky, but everyone was willing to help get issues resolved pretty quickly. I guess I would have expected better technologies in this area for such a large company.

    Advice to Management

    Every manager is quite approachable - keep up the great attitude and down-to-earth demeanor.

    Joy Global2016-12-23
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. They take care of their employees and have a fun and safe work environment

    Cons

    Could have more cookies in the kitchen with coffee

    Advice to Management

    Do not change a thing you are doing a great job

    Joy Global2016-03-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to worlk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Writer in West Allis, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, great personnel policy, no particular issues with the workplace itself. Old line company with great products.

    Cons

    Unstable industry. Mining is tied to manufacturing and global prosperity, thus is very mercuric. Late cuts went to the bone. Older style of product model and manufacturing environment may not survive.

    Advice to Management

    Top to bottom review of how things are done. Over writing data just to keep the factory going and the bonuses high is not a sustainable heavy manufacturing model for the US.

    Joy Global2015-12-10
  7. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global

    Pros

    Great people and a great culture!!

    Cons

    Afraid to make decisions to keep things moving.

    Joy Global2015-07-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Joy Global

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Opportunities for advancement are abundant. Operations group headed down right path. Happy with employment there over past 5 years.

    Cons

    Future outlook is unclear. Dependent on coal market. Union can be very hard to work with. Overall not a bad place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep developing new technology. Keep managing to the financial budget. Keep pushing for a zero harm culture. Overall, headed down right path.

    Joy Global2015-06-06

    Joy Global Response

    August 7, 2015Advertising & PR Manager

    Thanks for the review! Though we historically depended on coal, we are making a big push into new markets, as well as expanding the service side of the business. We recognize that coal is in a tough spot, so we're making sure we grow beyond it.

  9. "Mechanical Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklin, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to work

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about joy global

    Joy Global2015-04-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love Joy Global"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working full time with Joy Global for over 6 months now and I absolutely love it. The management team in place is great, they offer competitive pay and a great benefits package. Plus the work - life balance is a big plus for me.

    Cons

    There are tons of opportunities for advancement within the company once you reach that one year mark, but until then you are expected to stay in your current position.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek out advice/ideas from employees on continuous improvement ideas for implementation.

    Joy Global2014-10-23
Found 175 reviews