Joy Global Reviews | Glassdoor

Joy Global Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 173 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Ted Doheny II
61 Ratings
  1. "Nice company to work on with great opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Arequipa, Arequipa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment. The company takes care of their employees. Opportunities to grow inside the company.

    Cons

    No commissions are paid. Work load isn’t well distributed among teams and positions of a same area.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on customer satisfaction than just mere numbers.

    Joy Global2018-11-02
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Pinxton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Really good package, pension, etc. Really good opportunities to train and gain additional qualifications. Global highly organised company with good and highly skilled people.

    Cons

    Work atmosphere can be really unpleasant and alienating. Years of lay off's and cuts to work force left it's mark. Can be unwelcoming to "outsiders".

    Joy Global2018-11-02
  3. "Toxic managers headed to Toxic Dump"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    None left. All the pros were walked out years ago

    Cons

    Never in my life have I experienced nepotism to this degree. Presidents and VP’s cover for one another to the point of illegal activities.

    Advice to Management

    Quit! There is no room for your selfish tactics

    Joy Global2018-10-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Gillette, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are great have some retirement

    Cons

    Mandatory 60hrs a week call you in on your one day off when you're on nights. No family balance at all the interview is all lies

    Advice to Management

    Stop overworking your employees

    Joy Global2018-10-02
  5. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Joy Global full-time

    Pros

    Good engineers to work with. Good work life balance under all my managers.

    Cons

    Poor health benefits that are too expensive.

    Joy Global2018-08-09
  6. "Worst management ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Joy Global full-time

      Pros

      Big talk, no action.

      Cons

      The importance of finding the right butts to kiss far exceeds any importance given to the work you do.

      Advice to Management

      Fire all the children and start over.

      Joy Global2018-08-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Electrician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Joy Global full-time

        Pros

        Good people in the shop and office

        Cons

        Management is terrible and doesn't like hearing no.

        Joy Global2018-07-09
      • "Mechanical designer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Joy Global full-time

        Pros

        Great people, good pay, professional atmosphere

        Cons

        Follow same path as other global companies

        Advice to Management

        Be original, care more about employees, and diversify more in product lines

        Joy Global2018-06-14
      • "bad place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunderland, North East England, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Joy Global full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        shop floor guys are excellent !!

        Cons

        managers are corrupt and evil, back stabbing, back handed and unmoral parasites, Ted should get rid, if only he new the truth !!!!

        Advice to Management

        quit before you are found out and certain ones should go to jail for there crimes

        Joy Global2018-05-31
      • "Good Company, Poor Upper Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Joy Global full-time

        Pros

        Great company to work for, excellent safety standards, comfortable work environment

        Cons

        Leadership is lacking, watched 14 supervisors come and go in the total of 3 to 4 years on the off shift, they had a golden opprotunity to get all their eggs out of the coal basket and into Oil and Gas but sold that off faster then a blink of an eye. Now here I am jobless thanks to a plant closure and the company gets sold off and the old CEO's make millions!

        Advice to Management

        Hope Komastu runs it better then the old heads of state!

        Joy Global2018-05-31
      Found 173 reviews