Joy Reviews | Glassdoor

Joy Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 144 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The employees are all really nice to each other only because we have to stick together from the awful head office staff(in 15 reviews)

  • "50 if you are a style advisor for any age group(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The entire Head Office team lives on pins waiting to know what mood senior management will arrive in(in 42 reviews)

  • "Senior management would phone you up telling you to stay longer the next day for a visit that never turns up(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "!!:)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Joy

      Pros

      It was a really great experience

      Cons

      not being paid on holiday days

      Joy2018-10-17
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Style Advisor in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Joy part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good flexibility, good for students, usually have nice team

      Cons

      Management show no urgency in helping shops when there is no senior staff e.g. no manager

      Advice to Management

      Care a little more pls

      Joy2019-06-18
    • "Good for exposure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Allocator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Joy full-time

      Pros

      Easy exposure to management due to size of company

      Cons

      Have to be prepared to work very hard and get stuck in to help with adhoc jobs that may not fall under your title

      Advice to Management

      Introduce bonus scheme

      Joy2019-05-25
    • "great staff poor headoffice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Joy full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        great staff,some nice clothes and home decor

        Cons

        not properly manged by owner, should hire people with approprite skills and experience to run a company

        Joy2019-05-15
      • "amazing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Joy part-time

        Pros

        management awesome to work with

        Cons

        had to leave for personal reasons

        Joy2019-05-06
      • Helpful (4)

        "Geriatric dictators"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Head Office Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Joy full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        If you can amuse yourself at the irony of it being called ‘Joy’

        Cons

        The words ‘if we make her cry again she’ll just leave’ were spoken by management. This was about a senior member of staff they wanted to go. Literally no respect for anyone or proper procedure. The owners are heading for financial ruin and no one is going to feel sorry for them because of how they’ve treated people.

        Advice to Management

        Stop harassing your staff and retire

        Joy2019-06-05
      • Helpful (5)

        "There is no Joy at Joy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Joy full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        None really worth mentioning. You will learn a lot I suppose, mostly how not to run a business. They manage to hire lots of lovely, talented people who form tight knit friendships over how bad the owners of the company are.

        Cons

        The company is failing due to the owners who manage it, who are very much stuck in the past. The CEO is foul, you can expect sexist discrimination from him, and he enjoys having his ego stroked and throwing his weight around. There is no HR at this company and so many illegal practices go on here un-monitored You can expect : - The bare minimum holiday allowance - No sickness pay, with the assumption that you...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Sell the company and retire.

        Joy2019-06-02
      • "JOY"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Joy full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The retail side of this brand has changed so much over the last 18 months. It’s completely unrecognisable. All for the better. Staff members are heard and changes implemented by the new senior management team. To the point where retail has built a solid foundation of managers across all stores for the first time in a long time. Vm Team are great too, they come weekly to help support and move the store on and provide...

        Show More

        Cons

        Expectations are very very high and salary doesn’t reflect this. We don’t see Area managers and Head of Retail as often as we would like but they are responsive to everything which to some of us looks like they are running themselves into the ground a bit but we all respect them for it which makes us work harder.

        Joy2019-03-26
      • "CSA- Amazon"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Chennai
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Joy full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Enjoyed working, got many friends and fulfilled working place.

        Cons

        Shd work hard with our talent

        Advice to Management

        -

        Joy2019-03-27
      • Helpful (2)

        "Would not recommend"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Joy full-time

        Pros

        Overall, the team is nice.

        Cons

        Terrible management lacking respect for others and abusive to a point.

        Joy2019-03-16
      Found 144 reviews