Judson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Judson University Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Judson University CEO Gene C. Crume
Gene C. Crume
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Judson University

    Pros

    I worked in the library when I was a student at Judson, and I loved every minute of it. The administrative staff was really in tune with their student workers and would try to schedule around our other classes. Never did I feel the need to complain about a heavy work schedule or it interfering with my college studies. Now I'm looking to go into Library Science because of my time working there.

    Cons

    The only thing I'd suggest is to possibly hire less students. Give your hours to a certain amount of students first, and then hire more if necessary.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are great. I loved my time at Judson and I wouldn't trade my experience at the library for anything. Keep it up!

    Judson University2015-06-19
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Judson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to get a little experience in your field

    Cons

    No chance for advancement or upward mobility

    Judson University2019-04-15
  3. "Judson University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Judson University part-time

    Pros

    Great people, great mission, meaningful work

    Cons

    low pay, financial crisis currently.

    Judson University2018-12-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Radio Silence During Crisis/Loyalty is a Disadvantage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Judson University full-time

    Pros

    Employees are banding together to love students.

    Cons

    Five senior VP's and AVP's, HR, members of business office, admissions, and other personnel have left the University in the last 30 days and it is radio silence from the President. Staff wages have been cut 20% for the rest of the school year. Technically, staff is getting paid for 32 hour work weeks but workload hasn't changed (most are working 40-60 hours). New hires are being brought on at the full time rates..., making more than staff who have been here for a number of years. It stinks that we who love this organization are being penalized for having been here. Faculty programs are next. Many staff and faculty members are sad and angry but we are not talking about it as an organization.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lead. Please stop spinning the truth.

    Judson University2018-10-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Its an alright place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Elgin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Judson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People seem to be nice most of the time and they help you out whenever they can.

    Cons

    The place is a mess when it comes to how they handle things internally.

    Judson University2018-02-02
  6. "Great Place for Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Judson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being a private Christian College, Judson offers a welcoming and understanding team of people.

    Cons

    Judson has been in a tough money situation in the past couple years so they have had to make changes but they are growing to become much more functional and stable.

    Judson University2017-06-06
  7. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elgin, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Judson University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the culture of the university is awesome

    Cons

    The payment is not good enough

    Judson University2016-06-29
  8. "Academic Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elgin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Judson University part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The other employees during my employment were good, dedicated people. Everyone worked together and got along. We enjoyed each other and valued everyone's talents.

    Cons

    The management changed and became more of a traditional top to bottom mindset. There was little opportunity for most people to work their way up the ladder, especially female employees. No longer did employees opinions matter and because of the down turn in economy, it became more about finances than people.

    Judson University2015-10-18
  9. "Great Christian University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Professional Student in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Judson University for more than a year

    Pros

    They are a really good Christian university that does live by christian principies.

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Judson University2015-10-01
  10. "Overall thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Elgin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Judson University

    Pros

    This company is the most supportive company I have ever worked for. You have a great group of leadership and its a fun laid back work environment.

    Cons

    I cant think of anything.

    Judson University2015-05-28
Found 20 reviews