Juice Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor

Juice Beauty Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Juice Beauty CEO Karen Behnke  (no image)
Karen Behnke
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great products and a good team to work with(in 5 reviews)

  • "I never have to worry about being asked to cut corners that may sacrifice the client's experience, which is really nice(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "This, without a doubt was the most negative work environment I've ever had the poor fortune of being in, and I am thankful every day to be out of it(in 4 reviews)

  • "Low work/life balance and recent changes that have everyone chasing numbers vs spreading brand knowledge(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Ethically and environmentally responsible with great opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Juice Beauty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I been working at JB for 5 years and have found it to be one of the most ethical and environmentally conscious companies I’ve ever known. Management treats employees fairly, with respect and creates an open and friendly culture. Benefits are great and there is plenty of room for advancement.

    Cons

    We are growing so much that it is sometimes a challenge to keep up with the pressures of expansion.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-12-02
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Psycho Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Juice Beauty

    Pros

    Decent pay, able to make your own schedule

    Cons

    People at the corporate office are crazy. They have unrealistic goals and be asking for too much. After adding up all the stress they give you with a lot of emails and threats about consequences for not meeting goal you than realize the money ain't worth all the stress. Also, they randomly let go of their people and won't even tell you. They just stop scheduling you. Do not work for this people. There are much better companies out there

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Believe the bad reviews, don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Juice Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart, talented, and kind employees

    Cons

    The “founder” has no integrity, no business knowledge, and treats everyone like children. She does not allow anyone to do their jobs, because she believes she can do it better. One day she will have to do it alone, considering 30 people have left in the past year. The board is completely aware of the issue and support and enable her to destroy the business. It’s very sad. Please don’t work here. It has literally destroyed people’s mental and emotional health and damaged people’s lives. At least Glassdoor has started to remove the fake reviews she had paid a “fixer” company to post, so hopefully potential new hires can be warned.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Not a Startup- stop acting like one. The company is 14 years old!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Juice Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice, smart (over worked) and abused coworkers- all together in one ship that is about to sink.

    Cons

    The company is not a startup. It is run by a woman who has bad business acumen, is extremely cheap and doesn't understand skincare. Let alone makeup. Now, I have an advanced science degree. The owner of this brand does not. Now, by putting high levels in juice into your product and throwing a few food preservatives in there is basically going to give you a rotten fruit puree which the preservative system is only preventing microorganisms from growing. The fruit juice has already gone rotten before you even open that jar of ooh this product smells like fruit loops. Now, when you do put this level of juice (read sugar) on your face; it feeds the microbes that live on your skin. Thereby making a lot of people's skin red and breakout. I wish. I truly wish there was some science behind this brand. No wonder there are so many micro issues that the company has been facing. Yet the owner will not recall them.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-10-29
  5. Helpful (23)

    "Keep Looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Juice Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance and company gratis

    Cons

    Micromanaging management, financial issues with the company trickling into every aspect of work

    Juice Beauty2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (26)

    "The Juice Beauty founder, Karen, is like Trump..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Juice Beauty

    Pros

    Juice Beauty is able to hire good talent, however...

    Cons

    The good talent will never be used. DO NOT WORK HERE, you will regret it by the first week. The founder, Karen, is literally crazy. Want to work for Trump, we’ll she is a spitting image of Trump. She runs Juice Beauty like Trump runs his businesses, with dishonesty manipulation, etc etc. Every time there is something in the news about someone quitting Trump’s admin, I literally know how they feel because I feel the same working at Juice Beauty. The one positive is it’s skin care not the country. But if you want to have your spirit completely broken, then gaslighted by the founder that you are at fault for breaking your own spirit, work for Juice beauty. It will take you years to recover from the PTSD. Also the benefits are awful. I hope you don’t have a family or get pregnant. Juice Beauty doesn’t pay for coverage for family’s, they offer it, you just have to pay for your family (eg. $$$$). And there is no maternity leave, just state disability. As a female run company, this is pathetic. See the Trump resemblances?!?! It’s 2019, health care and maternity shouldn’t even be a perk! So I’ll leave you with this, read all the other one-star reviews because they are real. Then switch out Karen for Trump when you read it. That is the best way I can hammer into your head what it’s like working at Juice Beauty. Run! And this message is to Karen - you can pretend all you want but you know deep down no one respects you. That’s why you try and try to demand it, like Trump, but you will never ever earn it, because you have no aspirational or inspirational qualities what so ever. Everyone uses you as a model of what NOT to do or be in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Juice Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product but never certain if the company is fully honest about the ingredients. The CEO will cut corners where possible if she can get away with it.

    Cons

    The CEO. The same message from employees over the years with constant turn-over. But nothing changes. Company will never grow as it should because the CEO doesn’t care about the employees so the employees don’t care about the company.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Disappointing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Juice Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product samples and office parties. Dog friendly office. People are really nice. Yoga!

    Cons

    I had high hopes coming into this company but quickly left due to the high negativity and low morale. I did see a potential to learn, grow and I felt like I provided valuable work. But the high turnover wasn't very pleasant and too much drama between staff and the CEO.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-06-07
  9. Helpful (20)

    "Toxic, Unhealthy, & Negative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Juice Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came away with some friends that will last a lifetime. Co-workers were extremely talented and sadly, extremely under-valued.

    Cons

    Unlike many reviewers, my experience with Karen, the founder was mostly pleasant. The true problem, in my opinion is upper management. The favoritism shown by upper management to certain employees is almost laughable. This blatant display was obvious to all other employees and we were all in disbelief at the degree of unprofessionalism. I witnessed outright bullying to certain employees, by upper management. This all happened in front of other employees, which made it a toxic environment for everyone, not just for the person being bullied. This, without a doubt was the most negative work environment I've ever had the poor fortune of being in, and I am thankful every day to be out of it.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-06-21
  10. Helpful (16)

    "The management should work on their communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Juice Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Great products and a good team to work with.

    Cons

    The top management does not know how to work with employees. It is easy to get detailed instruction for a task and a new instructions are then given when you are midway, this is a very frustrating trend. I wish the CEO can appreciate the hard work that employees do every single day instead of being so demeaning in how she addresses them.

    Continue reading
    Juice Beauty2019-04-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 44 reviews