Jumpstart Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Jumpstart Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Jumpstart President & CEO Naila Bolus (no image)
Naila Bolus
66 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with supportive supervisors

    Cons

    None that I can think of; overall wonderful

    Jumpstart2019-12-02
  2. "Positive learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good experience in early childhood education. Good work life balance - I believe it is doable along with schoolwork. I did not feel particularly overwhelmed by the responsibilities Jumpstart operates at many schools. This positive review is for the supersite headed by the supervisors at The George Washington University. I know therefore that other schools may offer differing experiences.

    Cons

    I do not want to say that everything was positive but I have nothing of memory to report, I really enjoyed my experience.

    Jumpstart2019-10-28
  3. "Awesome place to work for work study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader in Northridge, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is awesome to see your kids improve as you teach them the lesson plans throughout the year.

    Cons

    Dealing with unresponsible coworkers that make it ten times harder than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Help out your leaders as much as you can and prepare them with proper training sessions before going into schools.

    Jumpstart2019-10-16
  4. "It was great seeing the kids make progressively"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Corps Member in Upland, CA

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work directly with the children involved in the program and seeing them make progress over time was amazing

    Cons

    Your experiences may vary depending on the teacher in the classroom

    Jumpstart2019-10-13
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator 

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time

    Pros

    Great mission and place to grow.

    Cons

    Local sites can be somewhat disconnected to national.

    Jumpstart2019-09-26
  6. "Great Work-study position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of training and support. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Not much flexibility in the curriculum or room for creativity

    Jumpstart2019-09-24
  7. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Engagement Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpstart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits for staff/employee -2 weeks paid vacation in December apart from PTO and Sick time -Very flexible with work schedule -Able to telecommute on some days

    Cons

    -Restructuring often makes it difficult to adjust

    Jumpstart2019-08-14
  8. "Rewarding position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corps Member in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meaningful connections with kids Gives you experience working in schools

    Cons

    Big time commitment Americorps requires lots of hours

    Jumpstart2019-07-16
  9. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corps Member in New York, NY

    I have been working at Jumpstart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, team is excellent

    Cons

    Limited work hours per week

    Jumpstart2019-07-10
  10. "Former Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Site Manager 

    I worked at Jumpstart full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for non-profit role and flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    The organization was constantly restructuring every few years.

    Jumpstart2019-07-01
Found 189 reviews