Jumpstart Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Jumpstart Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Jumpstart CEO Naila Bolus (no image)
Naila Bolus
66 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Unrealistic expectations. Little to No Support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart full-time

    Pros

    A worthy cause if we had the capacity to execute

    Cons

    There are serious staffing shortages. The workload is redistributed amongst its existing staff. We have no choice but to accept the absurd demands because everyone else is doing it too. It’s normal here. We get encouraging reminders for the many things they need us to do in a short amount of time. Jumpstart knows that we care deeply about our students and the mission. They remind us how the excessive workload is in the name of “serving the children.” That’s all fine and dandy but will you be paying us for our 12 hour work days? Is it fair to ask someone to work unfair conditions because they care about your organization? Do you care about the children and the cause enough to support your staff to get this work done in an ethical and fair way? Do you care about the children and the cause enough to notice that passionate and dedicated staff are leaving in droves because of these conditions? It’s obvious we care about the children and cause. It is not right to use this as a tool to propagate unfair work standards. We are not oblivious to the fact that the support staffing is reduced every year and the work remaining is silently tacked onto our growing list of responsibilities. Do you understand why there is backlash from institutions we parter with?

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-12-02
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good intentions, not so great execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great program that offers opportunities to help narrow the achievement gap before children can even fall behind. Friendly staff and lots of joy. Everyone working here demonstrates a passion for the mission and values that Jumpstart strives for.

    Cons

    Low pay that is inequitable, especially if you are not one of the mostly young white women fresh out of college who have roommates and are supported by their parents that work here. This is a major factor in turn over, especially for the staff that do not fit this mold. Those that do fit the mold also leave as soon as they finish grad school, get married, take on any new responsibilities, or grow in any other way. White savior mentality abound. Many staff members join the organization with good intentions but no real connection or relationship with the communities they work in. Their allyship is often performative at best. Though I truly believe the communities and school they work with benefit tremendously from the program, their lack of understanding can also widen the gap between them and those communities. They are paternalistic to those they serve and exhibit subtle (and not-so-subtle) racist attitudes like clutching their purses if a black man gets on the elevator with them or talking to the few minorities in the office about the voluntourism they did in that person's native country. This diminishes the number of minorities willing to work at HQ and also pushes away volunteers from those communities because they can feel staff pitying/looking down at them and their people.

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-11-01
  3. "Jumpstart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Corps Member in Washington, DC

    I worked at Jumpstart for less than a year

    Pros

    Get good experience with working with children

    Cons

    Paid little for the work.

    Jumpstart2018-10-30
  4. "Passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jumpstart full-time

    Pros

    Everyone cares so much about early childhood education. Can be self-directed in job.

    Cons

    Non profit environment, not a lot of budget for things

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-10-12
  5. "Team Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time

    Pros

    Nice concept on how to reach out to children in cities

    Cons

    Lack of professionalism Low pay Lack of clear communication on what is expected of Team Leaders Speedy training process, that is not executed correctly

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-10-30
  6. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time

    Pros

    Get to help the community. serve children that need it

    Cons

    Very time consuming, spend a lot of time prepping

    Jumpstart2018-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Site Manager Review 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpstart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jumpstart is a great organization that is committed to children and the education gap across America. Jumpstart seeks to stay on the cusp of development and maintain a leader in the early education sphere. Jumpstart provides trainings for the mentors to delve into the program in an intentional way.

    Cons

    Jumpstart operates across the nation and lacks the ability to support it's staff from a geographical and social standpoint. At times restructuring has caused layoffs without a plan for retaining the staff and expertise. Demands placed on staff can be unobtainable.

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-09-10
  8. "Corps Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corps Member in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpstart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people there are so amazing

    Cons

    nothing really, it can be hard to deal with kids sometimes

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-07-23
  9. "Enjoyed my time here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work-life balance. Great mission and dedicated employees!

    Cons

    Management is constantly reorganizing and restructuring every couple of years because they've struggled with figuring out the National vs. Local structure and how to share best practices and communicate across the org.

    Jumpstart2018-08-03
  10. "Awesome place to volunteer with preschoolers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corps Member in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jumpstart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with other corp members, there is also a stipend at the end when you complete your hours.

    Cons

    It is mandatory to complete 300 hours of service. It is only part-time.

    Continue reading
    Jumpstart2018-07-17
Found 188 reviews