K. Hovnanian Homes Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
K. Hovnanian Homes Chairman, President, & CEO  Ara K. Hovnanian  (no image)
Ara K. Hovnanian
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They only care about upper management(in 19 reviews)

  • "Hovnanian, but trade labor shortages have made EVERY Builders' day to day operations more stressful now more than ever(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Company to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Home Sales Associate in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, fantastic benefits, good salaries, family like help and involvement, incredible sales training, constant support, open communication with all levels of management

    Cons

    Expectations are high, you will need to be on top of your game. Hours are long and we could use a little more vacation time.

    Continue reading
    K. Hovnanian Homes2020-03-31

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    March 31, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear about your great experience at K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC. Our Associates' opinions and feedback mean a lot to us.

  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Construction Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, decent pay, most managers are awesome, pretty good corporate support

    Cons

    Not enough to complain about

    K. Hovnanian Homes2020-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Manager in Monroe Township, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are the ones that makes it fun to work for the company.

    Cons

    Company will always hire new employees rather than promoting current employees. Not much room to move up in the company.

    K. Hovnanian Homes2020-05-10

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    May 11, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are committed to investing in our people and appreciate you providing feedback about your experience.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the time and energy"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Sales in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the atmosphere of the buyers, as well as learning all new products

    Cons

    Doesn't pay enough to tolerate bad management

    K. Hovnanian Homes2020-04-11

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    April 13, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our work environment and striving to improve.

  5. "Marketing Sales"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Vice President of Marketing in Gambrills, MD

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great and location is good.

    Cons

    too many meetings, some managers micromanaged their staff and didn't need to

    K. Hovnanian Homes2020-03-11

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC.

  6. "Build Quality"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Home Sales Consultant in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    KHoV builds a solid home. More expensive than others but worth it.

    Cons

    Realtors are paid more than consultants

    K. Hovnanian Homes2019-12-10

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    December 19, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC.

  7. "Excellent Trainers, amazing team of people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with professionals that support you and share their knowledge with you, so you can improve your selling techniques.

    Cons

    I have no cons so far

    K. Hovnanian Homes2019-11-18

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    November 19, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience! This is a really great feedback and we are glad you feel this way about us.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "run...."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk 

    I have been working at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are what make this company

    Cons

    They only care about upper management

    K. Hovnanian Homes2019-11-15

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    November 19, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our work environment and striving to improve.

  9. "Project Lead position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Lead in Red Bank, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and workload is decent

    Cons

    Your manager and upper management can be a headache.

    K. Hovnanian Homes2019-11-17

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    November 19, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to evaluate and improve.

  10. "Sales consultant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K. Hovnanian Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Potential to earn six figures

    Cons

    Treat employees like pawns in a chess game (extremely high turnover ratio, well over 80%) Have to work every holiday and weekend No creativity allowed Hostile environment No salary A lot of communities are wrong product type but management blames the sales team (they eventually change product/price after firing 2-3 consultants at that location) Management does not respect sales staff Micromanagement to a suffocating degree

    Continue reading
    K. Hovnanian Homes2019-12-16

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    December 19, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our work environment and striving to improve.

Found 222 reviews