Cover image for K. Hovnanian Homes
Logo

K. Hovnanian Homes

Engaged Employer

K. Hovnanian Homes

Add a Review

K. Hovnanian Homes Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 318 of over 336 reviews
3.6
61% Recommend to a Friend
74% Approve of CEO

Found 318 of over 336 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
K. Hovnanian Homes Chairman, President, & CEO  Ara K. Hovnanian  (no image)
Ara K. Hovnanian
154 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on

Real Estate

970 Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/real-estate-5/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=K. Hovnanian Homes~302945
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Their some great people in the field who do an excellent job with what timelines their given to build a nice looking home(in 17 reviews)
  • "The pay is good and the company is on the cutting edge of technological support.(in 16 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and decent people(in 16 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance with market pay(in 9 reviews)
  • "They sent me to a 1 week training in New Jersey.(in 8 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of K. Hovnanian Homes and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Room for Growth

    Nov 1, 2022 - IT Manager in Matawan, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management invests a lot in your growth. Great team atmosphere. Lots of associates with long lengths of service

    Cons

    Management tends to pile on work with no regard for current workload. Unrealistic expectations for how much work can get done in a given period of time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It's okay

    Nov 21, 2022 - Architectural Drafter in Matawan, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Pay and raises are good

    Cons

    The work environment could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the K. Hovnanian Homes team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    23 Years

    Oct 18, 2022 - Production Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We build excellent New Homes.

    Cons

    Working short staffed since Covid Pandemic in 2020.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear about your great experience at K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC. Our employees' opinions and feedback mean a lot to us.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Astonishing miscommunication, mismanagement, disorganization

    Oct 15, 2022 - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of the people are nice and mean well. Benefits are decent, the offices are nice, and they're more flexible than many companies in terms of remote work, even though frankly the whole company could be remote with no problems, so the fact that people are coming in at all does tell you something about executive-level generational stubbornness.

    Cons

    The marketing department at this company is absolute chaos. Whole campaigns are changed from one minute to the next, weeks of work can be scrapped at a moment's notice, and people who are essentially nice turn into the worst versions of themselves out of stress and frustration. People work 15-hour days and are still reprimanded for not doing enough, and it's anyone's guess whether you'll be "allowed" to file overtime. Upper-level executives have almost no respect for marketing and expect them to work miracles. Understaffed to the point of absurdity -- if one person is out it ruins everyone else's lives for as long as they're gone. A bulk of the marketing strategy doesn't even make sense because you're just sending out eblasts encouraging people to join your mailing list, when they're already *on* the mailing list or they wouldn't be getting the eblasts. When the housing market was good it hid the fundamental problems of this company but now that the tables have turned, it's like picking up a rock and finding all the bacteria underneath. I'm on here looking for new jobs and after working here I'll accept almost anything. Run away. RUN. AWAY.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our work environment and striving to improve our processes and systems while meeting the changing requirements from customers.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Much to be improved on

    May 6, 2022 - Marketing in Matawan, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Great People to work with • Employee discounts (even though you had to jump through tons of hoops) • Good medical coverage • Decent benefits package

    Cons

    • Only partial remote - even though all meetings were remote • The role & responsibilities didn't match the pay • Job role didn't match the scope of work • Responsibilities weren't defined as the position was new to them • CMO was pretty abrasive and not a nice person • Platform they used was antiquated and very expensive (typical platforms were ten of thousands of dollars cheaper; the money could of been given to the employee) Also the main platform they used wasn't mentioned on the job listing. • Not enough vacation • Poor training & onboarding

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Corporate Company I've Worked For

    Jul 23, 2022 - Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Culture - Great Benefits package - Flexible schedule (at least for my position) - Freedom to explore my strengths and weaknesses and see where I want to advance in this company.

    Cons

    - Normal corporate restrictions that make performing certain aspects of your job more challenging (mainly in the accounting area) - Overall I don't have many cons. This company is amazing and is by far the best I have worked for. There is always going to be the normal hierarchy drama, but what company doesn't have that?

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    worst company I have worked before

    Nov 6, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Base salary is nice but its super low.

    Cons

    Long hour and you don't get paid the over time .

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We’ll look into this situation. At K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC we invest in our people and always act with honesty and respect

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Opportunity

    Sep 13, 2022 - Sales Professional in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great builder with strong leadership

    Cons

    They are building a great team.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience! This is a really great feedback and we are glad you feel this way about us.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Micromanagement Mediocrity

    Mar 26, 2022 - Land Acquisition Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got paid a reasonable salary.

    Cons

    Horrible micromanagement, I spent more time reporting than actually buying land. Land acquisition was 90% formatting/use of ancient unsophisticated financial systems and only 10% actually making money. Rude and mediocre middle/upper management. We were called 'cockroaches' for leaving at 5pm on a Friday, the mentality here is that you owe the company everything and should worship management for giving you a job, very old school company. I was discussing work with coworkers when a senior corporate manager yelled at us to 'get back to work', I laughed because I thought he was joking, and he got mad telling us to go back to our desks, which is super weird because we were just doing our job. All of these horrible people still work here, but every good coworker left. This place traps losers and makes anyone competent run for the hills, incompetence seems to increase with tenure. The CEO is a bizarre spoiled rich kid, I have worked with people far richer and smarter than him who showed employees much more respect. When he goes on land tours it's like the King of England is in town, he is very demanding and treats employees like his wait staff. He won't stay at the same hotel or even eat with high level division executives, super weird. This company is pretty much the laughingstock of home builders, if you desperately need a job, you can give it a try, but this should be your last resort.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience and offering ways to help make us better. We take all employee reviews seriously as we are adamant about providing the best possible work environment.

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Build Better Alone

    Oct 21, 2022 - CCM in Canton, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community part of khov is great

    Cons

    Build on your lot says “we build better together” and that is a lie. They tell you to forget everything community trained you on and then leave you alone and won’t help you at all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to evaluate and improve.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 318 Reviews
</>Embed

K. Hovnanian Homes Reviews FAQs

K. Hovnanian Homes has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 336 reviews left anonymously by employees. 61% of employees would recommend working at K. Hovnanian Homes to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, K. Hovnanian Homes employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at K. Hovnanian Homes. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

61% of K. Hovnanian Homes employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated K. Hovnanian Homes 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at K. Hovnanian Homes to be benefits, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with K. Hovnanian Homes Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at K. Hovnanian Homes? Share Your Experiences

K. Hovnanian Homes logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

K. Hovnanian Homes Photos

+ Add Photo
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes - ALDP Class of 2021-2022
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
K. Hovnanian Homes photo of: K. Hovnanian Homes
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

K. Hovnanian Homes Job Seekers Also Viewed

PulteGroup Logo
PulteGroup

4.0

735 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 336 K. Hovnanian Homes reviews submitted anonymously by K. Hovnanian Homes employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if K. Hovnanian Homes is right for you.