K. Hovnanian Homes Employee Reviews about "builders"

Updated Aug 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 312 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
K. Hovnanian Homes Chairman, President, & CEO  Ara K. Hovnanian  (no image)
Ara K. Hovnanian
145 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Their some great people in the field who do an excellent job with what timelines their given to build a nice looking home(in 19 reviews)
  • "The benefits are good and the floor plans were well designed.(in 19 reviews)
  • "The pay is good and the company is on the cutting edge of technological support.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Good training, lots of inventory(in 9 reviews)
  • "Work life balance is good(in 8 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of K. Hovnanian Homes and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "builders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sales Consultant

    Mar 21, 2017 - Sales Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working in new home construction for over 10 years and have had the opportunity to work for 3 large, national Homebuilders. K. Hovnanian Homes has been far and away the best company to work for. The way management runs the business leads to a great working environment, timely closings for my buyers...which of course leads to happy homeowners.

    Cons

    This isn't something that's specific to K. Hovnanian, but trade labor shortages have made EVERY Builders' day to day operations more stressful now more than ever. Supply and demand. But the lack of highly skilled trade contractors in the business right now (installers, framers, sheetrock crews, etc.) results in more errors at the job site and delays in construction.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Construction Manager

    Aug 27, 2020 - Community Construction Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is an opportunity to make good money and a ton of autonomy.

    Cons

    The autonomy leads to far more job duties than other large builders. You will put together your own plans, manage your own schedules, and handle A TON of warranty. More importantly, you will be solely responsible and accountable for your job sites.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company to Work For

    Jul 15, 2020 - Community Construction Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great bonus structure. Teamwork environment. People there were great to work with.

    Cons

    Budgets for subcontractor labor are significantly lower than other builders, which made it difficult to hire new trades. Lots of micromanaging. Hardly any employee appreciation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    K. Hovnanian Homes Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear about your great experience at K. Hovnanian Companies, LLC. Our employees' opinions and feedback mean a lot to us.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    What was once great.. turned to garbage

    Jun 13, 2018 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Forming good relationships with co-workers were a mainstay to keeping your sanity.

    Cons

    If you enjoy a demanding position, this is a great place to grow. If you enjoy work/life balance, forget about it. Expectations on managers and above is 24/7, even when you have lost a loved one. This is not a joke, it is a sad commentary on the company environment. And anyone who has studies leadership knows, the company atmosphere is set from the top. Aside from that, take a look at the stock values for the last 5 years and compare to other national builders. Take a look at their financials, and the MASSIVE amounts of debt before you decide on a career path that leads to these doors.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not the best place to work

    May 15, 2017 - Assistant Community Manager in Dover, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They work hard to get the newest technology to help do your job. Good PTO and personal days.

    Cons

    Upper management fails to listen to the people below them or choose not to listen to certain ones (very clicky). Behind on the times with other builders around them. They also fail to change any designs or implement new designs or options that homeowners ask for.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It was real but not fun....

    Oct 3, 2016 - Sales Representative in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    National Company offering a gorgeous product.

    Cons

    Super unorganized. Overall they do not care about anything but numbers. They dont look out for their employees nor their homeownets. Working for K. Hovnanian was depressing. Seriously, I became anxious and depressed during my duration here. An absolutely miserable environment. Please do yourself a favor and choose another builder. I beg you! I have since switched careers.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Sales Assistant

    Jun 11, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The division you work in will really make a big difference, no capped commission

    Cons

    You are required to work every weekend, some builders give you 1 off a month, you can choose to take it or not.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    you can learn how to become a builder in a short period of time.

    Cons

    it will take you a long while to get moved up in salary when you become a builder.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Beware the company that always has job postings.

    Jan 15, 2016 - Sales Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sales team seemed very professional and my sales partner could not have been more helpful. Sales management was pretty hands off. Manager would pop in maybe once a week to ask if we needed anything. Strong marketing support.

    Cons

    Quick hook. Was recruited to work a new part of town where buyers had lots of credit challenges, the current section was winding down, the new section wasn't ready yet, and I didn't have many Realtor connections. Sales came slowly and I was cut when the company decided not to open a new section of another community and they decided to keep a more established salesperson from the other community even though my manager knew I had sold my home to move closer to work. Manager provided very little guidance or training especially on what sets K. Hovnanian apart from other builders. Company relies on sales partner to train new salesmen.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Sucked the life out of me!

    Jul 6, 2015 - Construction in Naperville, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Enjoyed the people that worked for me and the trade relationships I built. That is about it for pros.

    Cons

    They will take advantage of you every chance they get! You will do the job of 5 people and never get the credit or money you deserve. Upper management that are in the office are quick to blame you or field guys just as quick as they will take credit for your success . Trades do not get paid on time, The V.Ps taught they are a top 10 builder look around, Their stock has not been above six dollars. Highly leveraged company full of self righteous morons.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with K. Hovnanian Homes Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at K. Hovnanian Homes? Share Your Experiences

or