K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES Reviews | Glassdoor

K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "Sad to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Wauwatosa, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at K. Singh & Associates was a very fulfilling experience. I was sorry to leave but my family circumstances took me elsewhere. This firm really believes in training and teaching young staff how to be successful engineers. They work closely with everyone and get to know your family, etc. They are a good bunch to work with - very kind, energetic, and definitely trying to grow and expand. Would most definitely recommend...

    Show More

    Cons

    I enjoyed my time at KSingh. I will try to work with them in the future again.

    K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-03-09
  2. "Fun Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly employees and hard working group. They mainly work on government buildings such as train buildings and also work on privatized buildings, basically anything consultant. Mainly office work, not much field work unless need be.

    Cons

    They don't give you much to do, more of finding out how you fit with the company. I pretty much did anything assigned to me in a faster time than expected and since more advance work couldnt be assigned,. not much for me to do at times.

    K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-04-29
  3. "Steady Work and Great Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Project Engineer in Wauwatosa, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      If you are a young Engineer, this is a wonderful place to get involved with some very rewarding and challenging projects. Most of the employees, including the owners, have a very strong work ethic and they are proficient at what they do. There are plenty of opportunities to grow both vertically and horizontally. The firm does support family values and culture as I have been allowed flexibility as necessary to attend...

      Show More

      Cons

      For me the Personal Time-off system was confusing as vacation that was accrued during the calendar year had to be taken during the fiscal year. That always led to questions, especially towards the end of the fiscal year. I am glad now the policy has been changed so that the accruing of PTO coincides with the beginning and end of the fiscal year.

      Advice to Management

      I do realize the value of hiring somewhat experienced staff over entry-level engineers or interns, but to stay ahead of the competition,I would recommend the firm to have presence at the Career fair at any one of the big Engineering schools in Southeast or Southwest Wisconsin, at least once every other year. The Brewers Game outing was excellent, I suggest similar events in future for intra-company interaction.

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-04-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Glad I'm an intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Wauwatosa, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES for less than a year

      Pros

      There are some quality people at the staff level I really enjoy working with and will miss them, management not so much. I've gotten a chance to do a lot of different things thus far, which will help in my studies and find what part the field I'm interested in.

      Cons

      Most employees seem unhappy with the company, just lost another construction guy and can't seem to bring more in, doesn't seem like much interaction between branches of the company. Pay is on the low end for interns and the travel is tough at times.

      Advice to Management

      Treat people better, stop the staff turnover, attract quality people because right now, I'm done after 1 year.

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-03-24

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES Response

      March 31, 2016Vice President

      Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed working with other staff members at KSingh. We hope you found your internship to be a rewarding experience.

    • Helpful (3)

      "No Future Here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Engineer in Wauwatosa, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES for more than a year

      Pros

      If you are out of other options and feel adventurous, this may be a place where you could be for a few months while figuring out what you are going to do long term.

      Cons

      No career management development or support, family run business where policy pay and other important factors to an employee are at the sole discretion and whim of a single person. Very low on backlogged work so there is a serious question if this company will still be in business in a few years.

      Advice to Management

      Find more work (a lot more), and don't try to be all things to all people at the DOT. Find a reasonable work load for current employees and try to keep them employed for the long term.

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-03-28

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES Response

      March 31, 2016Vice President

      Thank you for the feedback! Regarding your comments, we provide annual departmental budgets with a training allotment for each individual staff member. Prior to finalizing the dept. budgets, staff are asked what, if any, training they are interested in pursuing in the upcoming year. ...

      Show More
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to work. Great people. Management is solid and policies are really clear. Flex schedule and task oriented culture. Great career path and professional development opportunities.

      Cons

      Reviews below must be from younger staff with no prior consulting experience. Ksingh much better than most other firms I've worked for.

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2016-02-10
    • Helpful (5)

      "Only will keep you employed if your are billable 100% of the time."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES full-time

      Pros

      Little to no oversight or involvement from upper management, little to no formal policies. Above average pay.

      Cons

      Steady work is unreliable, bad and outdated IT (computers, servers, etc.), no professional development or career path structure

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES2014-01-15

      K. SINGH & ASSOCIATES Response

      March 28, 2016Vice President

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the time you took to write this review. Regarding your concerns, we have an employee handbook developed by our management and corporate counsel that lays out our policies. With regards to upper management, they strive to stay involved ...

      Show More
    Found 7 reviews