K-VA-T Food Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

K-VA-T Food Stores Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Steve Smith
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love the people I work with from managers to other part time associates(in 4 reviews)

  • "Flexible scheduling for students, good benefits (especially eye and dental), customers are great most of the time(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Same as everyone else: I would like to be made full time(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

      I worked at K-VA-T Food Stores part-time

      Pros

      Management is fair, accessible, and helpful to employees.

      Cons

      Maybe it doesn't pay as much as other box stores.

      K-VA-T Food Stores2019-07-10
    • "Fair company to work for. Seems to give people a chance for employment."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Coeburn, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at K-VA-T Food Stores part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A relaxed apshere. Friendly co-workers.

      Cons

      Fair as far as have a regulated absent or late scale. Everyone follows certain rules Everyone has the same rules.

      Advice to Management

      Pay scale is awful. Is a fair friendly company to work for but, doesn't pay enough. I have been there 2 years and still haven't been offered full time. That should change.

      K-VA-T Food Stores2019-05-23
    • "I wouldn't recommend."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at K-VA-T Food Stores

        Pros

        Set schedule Holiday pay Co Workers

        Cons

        Management Lack of training Picking up others slack

        Advice to Management

        Having a set schedule was great! But when employees are continuously getting hurt because lack of proper training with heavy equipment, something is wrong. Management never done anything about it, just make sure to give you your certification so you can't hold them liable.

        K-VA-T Food Stores2019-03-27
      • "Decent company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at K-VA-T Food Stores part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some coworkers are like family; decent pay; usually decent hours; some decent opportunity for advancement

        Cons

        Management can be very overbearing and hateful, but then completely fake to upper management; favoritism; hiring new employees and cutting other employees hours to give to new employees

        K-VA-T Food Stores2019-02-26
      • "Great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Associate in LaFollette, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at K-VA-T Food Stores part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly and open about potential possibilities

        Cons

        No cons for me. A great deal of energy is great for this job, and that I have in abundance.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        K-VA-T Food Stores2019-02-09
      • "Courtesy Clerk"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, VA

        I worked at K-VA-T Food Stores part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Nice coworkers, public can be nice

        Cons

        Low pay, inconsistent managers, obvious employee preferences

        K-VA-T Food Stores2018-11-13
      • "This could be a great place to work."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at K-VA-T Food Stores full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Free employee parking and bathroom access .....

        Cons

        My store has had several different deli managers in a year, each one has left due to being under staffed and poorly trained. The expectation of corporate to bring in profit with the fewest employees possible creates this issue. The quality of management is directly related to the low wages they are given. You get what you pay for.

        Advice to Management

        The issues come from corporate down. There needs to be a complete management training overhaul, along with better pay for all employees. There are so many other store options for your employees to leave and make a higher wage.

        K-VA-T Food Stores2018-11-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Print Graphic Designer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Print Graphic Designer in Abingdon, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at K-VA-T Food Stores full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great Benefits, Great people to work with!! Always something to work on! If you start out in the wrong position, you can eventually get to where you want to be with strong work ethics!

        Cons

        Raises aren't that great for hourly employees, but with a company of this size, its standard I suppose.

        K-VA-T Food Stores2018-09-25
      • "Management is lackluster"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at K-VA-T Food Stores full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fast advancement if you're willing to put in the work. Managers work well with schedule. Great and highly affordable health/life/eye/dental/401k insurance. Also company participates in ESOP.

        Cons

        Pay is awful, management is a joke at my store. Fast advancement, but the hours are long . If you get promoted to a designated (assistant manager that's the lowest on the totem pole) you can expect to never see your children, family, have a social life or get much sleep. Company now operates on a "percentage" when it comes to scheduling hours, which has cut hours. Substantially. I see more and more new hires come in and...

        Show More
        K-VA-T Food Stores2018-10-04
      • "Ignorence is bliss"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at K-VA-T Food Stores full-time

        Pros

        The people that i worked with were amazing and always there for me

        Cons

        They would rather keep trash than good people

        K-VA-T Food Stores2018-08-25
      Found 78 reviews