K&L Gates LLP Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
K&L Gates LLP Global Managing Partner James R. Segerdahl (no image)
James R. Segerdahl
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I enjoyed working at K&L Gates and would recommend it to anyone looking for a big-firm experience(in 10 reviews)

  • "Zero work life balance if you are on call(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Firm I've Ever Worked For!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K&L Gates LLP full-time

    Pros

    I absolutely love working at K&L Gates. We work hard, and I enjoy the fast pace and steady workload. The firm has great client service and I am proud to support the lawyers in providing excellent service. The work environment is enjoyable and I love working with others as passionate about their work as I am. The firm does a great job of providing perks and management is always working to improve and be flexible which I appreciate, as one who has a busy "at home life" with meetings, doctors appointments, etc. I think it is important to remember you get out what you put in! I have had the best experience and am proud to be a part of the firm!

    Cons

    We work really hard, so this might not be the best fit for you if you don't have a strong work ethic!

    K&L Gates LLP2020-01-24
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people and benefits, good environment

    Cons

    Large corporation feel, decisions are made in one location which affect all locations.

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2020-05-05
  3. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at K&L Gates LLP full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, salary is ok

    Cons

    No big disadvantages that I can think of

    K&L Gates LLP2020-04-04
  4. "Great people!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Matter Planning Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with and felt supported in my personal/professional development.

    Cons

    Nature of the work led to lulls and quick ramp ups.

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2020-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "High Quality Attorneys, Culture Suffers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney 

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time

    Pros

    Top notch attorneys, strong professional network and resources available, competitive compensation, great benefits

    Cons

    Lagging in diversity and inclusion initiatives and outcomes; persistent 'good ole boy' network in some offices

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2019-11-21
  6. "Charlotte office is a mess"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Assistant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co workers are wonderful people!

    Cons

    Office administration is a disaster and has driven away numerous employees and attorneys. HR structure in Charlotte office is confusing and staff feel like they have no one to turn to. Office admin duo do not handle issues appropriately and they do not have your back. They will pay you the minimum as long as they can get away with it.

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2019-11-14
  7. "Undergraduate Government Affairs"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Government Affairs Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay for an undergrad internship in DC. Good way to learn about lobbying and policy from the private firm perspective.

    Cons

    Interns were assigned some mundane tasks sometimes, like delivering luggage to clients around DC and running on delivery errands.

    K&L Gates LLP2019-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just okay"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, good salary, national client base

    Cons

    Focus on quantity of output, rather than quality of work and professional development

    K&L Gates LLP2019-09-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Old fashioned. Close minded. Social hierarchy is shameful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time

    Pros

    Overall benes are good. Pay is fair. Cafe in building is way cheaper than going out for lunch. Next door to the YMCA and small gym in building. If you're an atty you'll be happy.

    Cons

    Attorneys are the top 1%. All others are irrelevant. No bonus ever except for attys. New firm admin doesn't advocate for staff, instead it's about pleasing the attys and doing their bidding with no question or thought for staff. You are expected to bill at 100%=2080/yr but. The annual billable but it is unattainable unless you bill 100% 2080/yr. no time off. Paralegal schedule 36.25/hrs/wk only allows for 1880/yr at 100%. Which is still impossible unless you skip pto and work OT to cover your admin work. Certain attys talk down to staff often. Firm gatherings never include staff unless it's purely internal and once a yr. Non attys get none of the opportunities or work life benes that atty s do. Don't expect to last if you are different in personality, have family obligations or a learning disability. They want perfection now and no mind if you're supporting 10-15 people! No policy for telecommuting except for top 1% and Mgmt. They'd rather fire u to avoid unemployment. No concern about the implications that will have on your family.

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2019-10-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at K&L Gates LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, good time off

    Cons

    Expensive insurance, staff treated like low lifes vs. lawyer's.

    Continue reading
    K&L Gates LLP2019-07-23
Found 245 reviews