KBR "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

KBR Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 25 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
KBR CEO Stuart J. B. Bradie (no image)
Stuart J. B. Bradie
322 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly and good pay, teamwork in the department(in 71 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and a great school overall(in 53 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ironworker in Port Lavaca, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of money to be made all the time

    Cons

    Requirez a lot of travel and long hours

    KBR2019-09-19
  2. "Great pay and pretty good conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equipment Operator in Pascagoula, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay well and safe environment

    Cons

    Long hours and could be anywhere in the world

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees better

    KBR2019-11-26
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HVAC Mechanic in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay for all employees

    Cons

    long hours overseas and troubled times

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with dignity and respect

    KBR2019-07-23
  4. "Lead Quality Assurance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, career growth is out standing.

    Cons

    Travel Long hours

    KBR2016-12-08
  5. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at KBR

    Pros

    Very competitive salary and ease of advancing throughout the company. Great established corporate culture. Great mentoring and guidance from senior management .

    Cons

    Long hours and extended work week

    KBR2016-05-27
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at KBR full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits in an exciting industry. Management is forward thinking and employee-friendly. Locations all over the world.

    Cons

    Industry has its ups and downs, often correlating with world oil pricing. Sometimes working long hours is necessary but not so much different than any other job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work the company is doing well and having success finding, bidding, and securing new work to keep the employees busy all of the time.

    KBR2015-12-30
  7. "Project HR Administrative Specialist IV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Human Resources Administrative Specialist IV in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KBR

    Pros

    KBR is one of the most successful worldwide Industrial Engineering Constructions companies. I truly enjoyed being a part of such a strong and successful company which offered my excellent benefits, knowledge, experience and excellent pay. My supervisor was the Project Sr. HR Generalist, Nancy D. Fisher. I learned from her and walked away with experience and knowledge of the great Construction world. truly enjoyed... the challenge and opportunity that was given to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't like working long hours, this isn't for you. I loved the hours and time I spent working for KBR and the great Sr. HR Generalist, Nancy. D. Fisher who I worked side by side with as her assistant. I would do it all over again!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and they will respect you in return. That's creates an excellent Team which you can always depend on and know they will all pull together for you at all times. Let your employees know you appreciate them and thank them for their hard work.

    KBR2015-09-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Training Ground not a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time

    Pros

    Young engineers get the chance to work on major project designs and implementations within their discipline. There are decent mentors in some groups. Employees can put international company experience on their CV.

    Cons

    No long term future for moving up. The company is stacked with senior engineers which limits the abaility of new employees to move into more challenging roles. There are long hours and quite a bit of micro managing by supervision. There is not a good work life balance and many managers are clock watchers. Company seems to be going the wrong direction, so the long term future is questionable.

    KBR2014-10-16
  9. "Good people, good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at KBR

    Pros

    Pay. Excellent company if you want to travel.

    Cons

    Travel, must be mobile. Long hours

    KBR2014-01-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of America's Best ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Most in leadership were excellent ... the few who weren't caused some issues, but they were eventually replaced. - Excellent benefits - Leaders ensured workforce was aware of company's focus, vision and strategy

    Cons

    - Long hours if involved in producing proposals. I regularly worked 70-80 hour weeks when we were working on submitting a proposal. Nice annual salary suddenly becomes a poor hourly salary when working these hours. Fortunately, it was only 3 months or so out of the year. - Retired Army generals are not always the best action/project managers. Particularly those who surround themselves with an entourage of... "worker bees" - people who work hard to cover the general's glaring lack of knowledge. - Upward mobility was lacking in most areas.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring in the retired general officers to work in business development ... shake hands, keep in contact with their active duty counterparts, and help shape the RFPs when possible. The majority of them (didn't say all; saw a couple of top-notch ones) come in to run things, knowing zilch about the job or how it is done. Some of these I saw cared more about protecting their image than they did about making the hard... calls and "going to bat" for their employees. In fact, these guys wouldn't take a fall ... but they were always sure to throw their folks under the bus.

    Show More
    KBR2012-08-27
Found 24 reviews
</>Embed