KBR "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

KBR Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
KBR CEO Stuart J. B. Bradie (no image)
Stuart J. B. Bradie
323 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly and good pay, teamwork in the department(in 71 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and a great school overall(in 53 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Empresa Excelente"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sr Subcontracts Administrator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and a great school overall

    Cons

    I can't find anything to say against the company

    KBR2019-09-18
  2. "Goods and Bads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager/Business Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive colleague interactions, good benefits, pleasant working environment, great downtown location.

    Cons

    Upper management dosen't get it!

    Advice to Management

    You spent hundreds of thousands of dollars on training to get the right people doing the right work, you need to look at retention and careers again!

    KBR2019-03-07
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Professional - Process in Newark, DE

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Less stressful work environment, Good 401K match and big company with multiple locations who wants to move.

    Cons

    Judgemental manager don't care about employees at least the one who are onsite at DuPont. Bias attitude towards non-white employees and poor pay scale for them. A lot of bad politics involved. No new excited projects in this office.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally.

    KBR2019-02-06
  4. "Insulator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insulator in Victoria, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at KBR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Company really cares. Great benefits, 401k, vacation, paid holidays. Working 4 tens.

    Cons

    There's isn't really anything bad about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    KBR2018-08-15
  5. "It's a decent job. Hard work doesn't necessarily get rewarded here. But it's a safe work environment with decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instrument Fitter in Longview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working 4-10's, safe work environment. The people you work with are usually pretty knowledgeable about their craft. And did I mention 3 day weekends?

    Cons

    Hard to move up, not all who are in charge have actual knowledge. People who move up are usually friends of those already in power. Lately there has been a shift in the management philosophy of this company. A rep from HQ came to our site and threatened to hire a bunch of "Filipinos" to come do our work for half the pay. Needless to say, it wasn't the best way to promote a sense of pride and respect for our company

    Advice to Management

    If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Just like large gov suppresses and stagnates growth in business, so do excessive "safety" regulations that only serve to slow productivity which thusly discourage our clients from renewing our contracts. You've got too much fat in the offices. Cut the crap and get your head out of your behinds. Let's get to work. How about we do a quality job, safely, but also efficiently at a... competitive rate?

    Show More
    KBR2017-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, comfortable work environment.

    Cons

    Dwindling benefits, no pay raise in a few years now and there appears to be none on the horizon.

    Advice to Management

    Quality Employee retention is every bit as important as the stock holder's bottom line. One makes the other one more profitable in the long game but the little guy shares in none of the benefits. Too many good people leave the company and you'll be left with a serious issue.

    KBR2017-06-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Company is weathering hard times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great employees, Good work environment. Many of the staff have been with the company for 10 yrs or longer. Covered parking.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, benefits have decreased and there is an indefinite freeze on raises below the executive level . It seems that there is more emphasis on establishing catchy safety campaigns and stock holder happiness than employee retention.

    Advice to Management

    Better compensate your employees below the executive level.

    KBR2017-05-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Electritian dealing with all fabrications and new installations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electrician in Borger, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KBR for less than a year

    Pros

    Safe work environment. Great pay as you move up in rank.

    Cons

    Rain or bad weather days don't allow you to put in hours.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication

    KBR2017-04-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent work environment and professional crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KBR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment and professional crew

    Cons

    Less value in retaining employees during downturn

    Advice to Management

    Allocate budget for retaining valuable employees that will create loyalty and that will set an example (or bring in confidence) for the new comers.

    KBR2017-01-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad time for those in the oil and gas sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KBR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good talented employees Laid-back work environment Good salary

    Cons

    The oil and gas business unit has suffered significantly as a result of a declining oil price and consequent lack of projects in that sector. Layoffs happen regardless of individual's talents or experience. The loss of talent will probably hurt the company on the long run.

    Advice to Management

    Adapt faster to the constantly changing business environment

    KBR2016-08-02
Found 53 reviews
</>Embed