KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 CEO  (no image)
1 Ratings
  1. "Teacher aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Aid in Kingman, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working with children since I was 18 I’ve play sports all my life growing up and I know a lot about sports

    Cons

    I really don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Working with children since I was 18 years old and I love sports and teaching them how to play the game and about being a team and working with others

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202019-04-28
  2. "KUSD high school employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Classified Coordinator in Kingman, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Kids are mostly wonderful, even the teens with troubles. Dedicated coworkers for the most part.

    Cons

    High teacher turnover. Very low wages. Some of the lowest in the entire country. Teachers started at 26k per year so most only lasted 1 year to get experience. Non certified staff stay longer. But the medical insurance is astronomical. If you have children or a spouse relying on you for medical insurance, you will have a negative income.

    Advice to Management

    Start a movement to increase taxes in the area. Teachers and staff need to earn more money. Either that or force parents to participate in education by transporting their kids themselves or implementing long distance education to cut down on transportation costs. The transportation costs in this rural area eat up the majority of the budget. The community needs to step up and pay for the schools they use. Nothing is... free. We are all supposed to contribute to educating our young people.

    Show More
    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202018-12-12
  3. "Instructional Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Coach in Kingman, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students in this district are awesome!

    Cons

    Low pay for being a highly trained professional with a Master's Degree...

    Advice to Management

    find a way to get pay up....

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202018-02-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Kingman Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Teacher in Kingman, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Kingman has great weather and a pretty low cost of living. They have a lot of openings and are always looking for more teachers.

    Cons

    They told me I would be fully vested after 5 years. I wanted to leave after 4 but stayed one more year. They then told me I was 0% vested and I lost out on about $25k.

    Advice to Management

    Make quality hires instead of filling empty spots. Pay more to keep people around. There is no incentive to stay once you have a few years of experience.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202018-02-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Teaching opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time

    Pros

    four day work week, can receive a bonus off your performance, get lots of training from the district, and benefits are okay if you are single.

    Cons

    Pay is not the best in the nation with cost of living and taxes. Expect lots of work for little pay at times. Upper management will be shady in making decisions. Sometimes will not stand behind their employees.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202017-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20

    Pros

    Working at Kingman Unified School District gives teachers valuable experience and what they can and can't handle. It's hard work but valuable experience.

    Cons

    There is little to no funding for the school. Resources are incredibly limited and student behavior is not good. Teachers need to have thick skin and be prepared for anything.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202016-03-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20

    Pros

    I can not think of one thing positive to say about this place. There are no positives.

    Cons

    Everything. Teaching here will ruin your chances of being hired anywhere else. Terrible district, and city.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202015-12-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Teacher in Kingman, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many openings each year. Great Summer Academy, professional development for teachers. Great support for new teachers by grade level planning.

    Cons

    Low salary. Many changes of strategies and academic programs each year in an attempt to increase academic success. Small community that has limited activities and is a distance from large city. Hot climate.

    Advice to Management

    Ask teachers what they need for better results. They are in the trenches and know. Strive for less turn over.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202015-08-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 for more than a year

    Pros

    Good support & collaboration with colleagues Weekly staff meetings on improving instruction A real sense of commitment to improve the students education & opportunities by the staff

    Cons

    Inconsistent discipline implementation Unstable administration at the leadership levels Location

    Advice to Management

    In my opinion the school I was at needs a more consistent discipline policy implemented by the staff & led by the administration. Also I believe there needs to be more stability it the leadership level.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202015-08-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult to evaluate with all the changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Kingman, AZ

    I have been working at KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #20 full-time

    Pros

    There's a lot of work being done to make effective changes and to reach the students who come from a predominantly challenging home environment.

    Cons

    The current district administration doesn't seem focused on caring about their teachers and employees. There hasn't been much done to lift the 5-10 year freeze on salary steps even while they seem to keep adding positions for higher-paid administration.

    KINGMAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #202015-06-01
Found 12 reviews