KIXEYE "unlimited pto" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

KIXEYE Employee Reviews about "unlimited pto"

Updated Feb 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
KIXEYE President  Clayton Stark (no image)
Clayton Stark
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the catered lunches (good restaurant choices) and the facilities are pretty nice(in 14 reviews)

  • "The perks similar to many other companies (Food, Gym, unlimited PTO)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's a "culture of fear" that I'd heard about since I got there but never experienced myself(in 17 reviews)

  • "chaotic upper management style, lower salary(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "unlimited pto"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Full of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Colleagues are some of the smartest & most interesting I've come across in my career. Generally from motley background but everyone values execution and outcome above all else. - Employees are encouraged to step outside core bounds of their job to improve an existing process or function. If you can do this properly, you are swiftly recognized and rewarded. I've wasted too many years at companies who promote over rigid timelines based on arbitrary nonsense. - Benefits are unreal. One of the nicest gyms in the city, central location in downtown SF, tons of snacks/booze/catered lunches. Quality insurance, unlimited PTO

    Cons

    - Work is high pressure / high reward. Not a con per se as I prefer to keep challenged and engaged, but I recognize that isn't for everyone.

    KIXEYE2018-02-12
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Be Warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time

    Pros

    KIXEYE as a company is decent. Co workers were some of the nicest people I've ever come across. The perks similar to many other companies (Food, Gym, unlimited PTO).

    Cons

    Be warned that any positive reviews are due to encouragement from the recruiting team for employees to write one. Middle management is awful. From game teams to operational teams...people are dropping like flies. Who ever said "People don't leave companies, they leave managers" must have worked here when they came up with that saying. Over all KIXEYE is decent. They have comparable perks to other SF startup-y companies. Co-workers are great. However, when your manager is filled with nothing but lies and empty promises, why stick around when you can't trust the people you work for?

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2017-09-26
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Fantastic people, fun problems to tackle, terrible business strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since working at KIXEYE, I've met some of the most talented, passionate, and amicable people in my life. A majority of the people working here are very intelligent, motivated, and a pleasure to work with, making the day-to-day work quite enjoyable. If you're looking for a group of individuals that respect, appreciate, and rely on each other every day, look no further. Benefits are great, and salary is on the upper end of the average. Free gym membership, two catered lunches per week, awesome health / dental, and unlimited PTO / sick days make this an environment that takes great care of its people. Location is very BART-able, and tons of great food nearby for non-catered lunches in the FiDi. Great kitchen with tons of food and drinks.

    Cons

    The ego of this company will be its downfall. Executive management has little-to-no sense of urgency about market opportunities, and has become extremely risk-averse after several misguided attempts at becoming a "real game company". Too many big bets with too many points of failure while the competition creates mobile title after mobile title with varying levels of success. KIXEYE has become a dinosaur. Heavily reliant on its splitting-at-the-seams legacy titles for survival, the company's only means of growth has been to shrink. Heavy turnover, multiple layoffs, and more cost-cutting measures have resulted in a better bottom line, but the company has effectively backed itself into a corner. With no employees left to spearhead quick, prototypical projects, the company's fate lies in the hands of one very pretty, albeit needlessly risky, mobile title that has little to no room for failure. In summary, a distinct lack of urgency, an archaic approach to success in the modern F2P space, and little to no attempt to assuage those concerns all make KIXEYE a company that has clearly had its time in the sun, and will gradually fade into obscurity.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2015-12-09
  4. Helpful (8)

    "They like to fire top managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefit, unlimited PTO, People in production teams are generally friendly with experiences. Casual working environment

    Cons

    They postpone yearly review in order not to give a raise to their employees. It happened to me and another 2 co workers. My friend almost works there for 2 years and hasn't gotten his one year review. Upper managers got fired/let go/quit all the time. they got 4 CTO in 18 months. its really hard to make good progress when they constantly changing the head manages. Marketing team can change whatever they want without coordinating with production team.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-12-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Takes a special personality to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel trusted here to make game and business impacting decisions. I feel like I'm treated like an adult. LGBT friendly Truly unlimited PTO/sick leave. People have taken month long vacations and have come back more recharged than ever. Compensation is highly competitive. Kixeye is the first company I've ever worked at I got raises within six months of starting out. You need to demonstrate what you bring to the company. No one will just hand out a raise.

    Cons

    Culture of fear is still very real here. Not everyone is cut out for the high stress environment at Kixeye. You need a Type A+ personality to work here. High turnover impacts game teams. Management is reluctant to fill much needed open positions. Management doesn't understand opportunity cost. Those unfilled positions cost a lot of time and stress on the rest of the team. Software gets written internally when commercial off the shelf solutions would of saved time and total expense. Game studios business model - game teams are fighting each other and having competition over resources when we should all be wanting the same goals. No support for professional development such as attending non-local conferences. They do have a couple of team passes for GDC you can share.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-08-10
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Run away !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO (not really useful though) Interesting challenges and problems to solve

    Cons

    Very unprofessional atmosphere which I do not suggest for any female or minority to work here. Developers work late due to unrealistic work deadlines, and working on weekends a guarantee. There are no weekends for family here . Firing is very regular no matter what how smart you are , it could be political . Benefits at this company are very insignificant for the amount of work and verbal abuse from the top that you will be subject to, regardless of the job position you have.There is no career path. I really can't stress enough that if you are a female then this is not at all the place for you. Please run ..and find better place , otherwise you will lose your sleep and mental peace.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-09-04
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, somewhat fun place to work, company outings every now and then.

    Cons

    Management decisions, high turnover affecting morale

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-07-22
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Time to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO. Unlimited sick leave. Catered meals twice a week. Nice office location. Free game play. Interesting culture.

    Cons

    CEO. CTO. Bonuses going from quarterly to annually (if goals are met). Slipping game release times. Poor lack of communication across management. Culture of fear. Random firings because CEO is having a bad day or does not like your tone in an email. Bro culture.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-06-24
  9. Helpful (17)

    "2 year employee, leaving because it sucks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Benefits - Unlimited PTO - My own microcosmic team was amazing - There are a lot of awesome, fun, smart people who WANT to do great things!

    Cons

    - Will (CEO) - Executive management in general (inept) - Most middle managers (don't let smart people under them do good work) - Office culture has gotten MISERABLE - Lack of innovative products (let's make another clone! let's clone the clone!)

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-05-15
  10. "Good company, good people, still has some growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are great - intelligent, hard-working and a great team environment. The people here really do love gaming. KIXEYE has the usual Bay Area perks (lots of food, ping pong, ect.) and decent salary. The unlimited PTO was a great benefit and your ability to take time off is very flexible.

    Cons

    There are definitely some growing pains going on as the company has expanded in the last 3 years. There are many disorganized policies, odd promotion choices, hiring issues and communication issues that are indicative of a company that needs to restructure as they get larger. This is partially the fault of still having a "start up" mindset at >500 people and partly due to bad management choices.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-05-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews