KIXEYE "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

KIXEYE Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
KIXEYE President  Clayton Stark (no image)
Clayton Stark
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the catered lunches (good restaurant choices) and the facilities are pretty nice(in 14 reviews)

  • "The perks similar to many other companies (Food, Gym, unlimited PTO)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's a "culture of fear" that I'd heard about since I got there but never experienced myself(in 17 reviews)

  • "chaotic upper management style, lower salary(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "qe developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - QE Engineer 

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great lunch, great engineers, great snack

    Cons

    chaotic upper management style, lower salary

    KIXEYE2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great People, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team-mates were wonderful, amazing people. My direct manager changed a few times, however I was always able to forge a good relationship with them. The office itself is great. Catered lunches, flexible time off, on-site massage, gym memberships, good benefits, 401k, etc. Recruiters and HR are some of the best I've worked with.

    Cons

    Management made big mistakes that tanked several products, and the hard working dev teams took the fallout as mass layoffs pushed us out. There was also toxic culture in departments outside my team. Bad attitudes trickle from the C-level down. Some of the upper management treated us as disposable and made the work environment uncomfortable.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2019-04-24
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Good springboard...nothing more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - CEO despite what people say actually does care - great place to hon your skills - Benefits package and PTO package are great.

    Cons

    - most upper management are horrible and unorganized - games are boring and lack any imagination or thought - most managers will stifle creativity to further their own agenda.

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2016-01-07
  4. Helpful (9)

    "How the mighty have fallen..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not On A Game Team in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - For two short years this was THE gaming company to work (2012 - 2013) - Good benefits (health, dental, PTO) - Salary is good but could stand to be a bit better for SF in 2015 - Recruiting (probably the best thing the company does) finds some amazing people to work with - Generous severance package - They buy the right tools you need to get the job done (as long as you make a strong case for it) - Middle-management genuinely wants to do good work and collaborate

    Cons

    - Not really a "game company" anymore; any fun that was left has been sucked out of it - No trust from upper-management; autonomy is a practically non-existent - Relying on outdated user-acquisition models - Most execs are yes-men and unwilling to do anything that risks angering CEO - Severely diminished gamer culture: a good portion of the employees left don't actually play any current games - They talk of bonuses when you're hired but haven't given out any in a long time - All-hands meetings are a farce because whatever is said is usually contradicted a few months later - No freedom to fail, which results in a lot of finger-pointing when something goes wrong

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2015-07-31
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get a job there, they seem desperate, flexible leave, some middle management are way better than the company deserves (not speaking about myself) , OK compensation.

    Cons

    Upper Management are egomaniacs and rule by fear, systems are a mess, company expects to own your life, Limited product, Chaotic Work environment, Out of control, good workforce being screwed over

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2014-10-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The Good, The Bad, and the Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KIXEYE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team I was on had excellent process, some of the smartest people I've worked with, and good communities that formed within the company across teams and disciplines. There is some stability in their two major products, Battle Pirates and War Commander, which is giving them some freedom in their next set of projects. Perks are good; gym memberships, meals twice a day, heart of SF, etc. For the game industry, you could do much worse, esp. outside of California. PTO was also flexible and as long as

    Cons

    This comes up again and again, but a lot of good talent is leaving, and not in a happy way due to the lack of upwards movement and also the pressures of having to navigate unrealistic expectations from upper management sometimes. Project leads and executive producers I felt had the hardest jobs trying to do what was best for their projects despite the pressure from above.

    KIXEYE2014-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "OK employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE

    Pros

    Mixed and varied staff, from which many friendships can be formed. It was a fun place to work at.

    Cons

    Lack of direction from management. Poor upper management decisions which effectively lost years of development by removal of their unique selling point.

    KIXEYE2016-01-01
  8. Helpful (11)

    "what a bunch of idiots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KIXEYE

    Pros

    comfy chairs lots of tea quite funny watching people who dont know what their doing

    Cons

    working their was like being the reverse robin hood steal from the poor give to the rich poor gamers not getting what the deserve from feeble upper management cant deal with complaints quite embarrassing for a major company has no respect for customers i think kix eye will close by 2016 good riddence

    Continue reading
    KIXEYE2015-02-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews