KLA Director Reviews | Glassdoor

KLA Director Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
4%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
KLA Chief Executive Officer Rick Wallace
Rick Wallace
13 Ratings
  1. "Learning and growing everyday next to friends, family, and fantastic products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA full-time

    Pros

    You'll be given opportunities that outstrip your current skills, but (probably) not your capabilities. You'll be challenged every day. You'll work with the best and brightest. You'll work hard and play hard. You'll help move bleeding edge technology forward. And you'll find family. I've worked for KT for 25 years. I've lived in California, Vermont, Japan, and Singapore. I've seen the world. I wasn't 'trained' for a single job they gave me, but they saw the potential I didn't. That's all cool, but it's the small part of the story. My wife and I are part of a family that will never fade. Recently we've experienced a medical crisis in our family. With little prompting, our larger family at KT gathered around us - providing connections to doctors, references to others who have experienced what we've been through, staying with us through the toughest days, and sharing their prayers and wishes. An example? Two teammates stayed with me through the darkest moments of surgery. A senior VP that I've never worked for, and seldom with, stopped by to provide support. Wishes came from around the world - from current and former KT employees. An impromptu renewal of our vows brought my boss (My boss, how many of you can say that?) to conduct the renewal ceremony and colleagues to celebrate it. I'm not a senior executive. I'm a mid-level manager. Yet many who read this will know who I am. That's the community we have here, if you invest in it. Perseverance? Yes. Growth? Yes. Honest, Forthright, and Consistent? Yes. A life that repays everything you invest? Yes. Yes. And Yes.

    Cons

    If you don't want to work hard. If you don't want to be challenged. If you think that style trumps substance. If you think you'll be nurtured and weened... you've got the wrong company.

    Continue reading
    KLA2013-08-16
  2. "great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Practice Director 

    I have been working at KLA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    positive environment, work culture and growth

    Cons

    uncertaininity, work load and location

    KLA2020-01-25
  3. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging job with lots of smart people

    Cons

    Poor management needs to be trained

    KLA2019-05-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KLA for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The leader in the field of semiconductor inspection, metrology, and defect review. Large automated opto-mechanical systems, with high end optics, precision mechanics, fast image processing electronics. Engineering is never boring and always poses new challenges. Well developed engineering and production process. Good engineering teams.

    Cons

    HR appears to be set up to protect the company from employee lawsuits, rather than genuinely care about employees. 7 or more layers of management. Engineering process is sometimes superficially formalized.

    Continue reading
    KLA2018-01-06
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Marketing / Program Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You got a job. Cult culture if you like that sort of thing, they think they are the best thing around. Great PLC its like an M.Sc on product introduction. Have gone through all 7 phases as I was the only one doing 4 jobs so over worked and under paid

    Cons

    Very political, constant hiring and firing means that people spend more time ensuring you get laid off at the next down turn rather than them. Not the highest pay, like 10 to 15% below average. PLC is not stream lined. Instead people think that doing an excellent PLC documentation is more important than actually doing the work. Marketing has to get the YES answer or else the team is out of a job. So it is biased so that why the PLC does not work and is broken.

    Continue reading
    KLA2017-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities continue at KLA-Tencor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Director, Engineering in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA

    Pros

    Access to and opportunity to advance the leading-edge semiconductor process control challenges.

    Cons

    Increasingly compartmentalized, due to restricted NDA demands imposed by customers.

    Continue reading
    KLA2016-04-16
  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Director in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KLA

    Pros

    The coworkers are great to work with

    Cons

    I Was always working weekends

    Continue reading
    KLA2016-01-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Past Performance may not be a Good Predictor for the Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    KLA-Tencor is the world's largest supplier of inspection and metrology equipment to the semiconductor industry, and it has been able to achieve this position through hiring top-tier talent, consistently innovating to develop the highest-performing products, and developing and leveraging excellent engineering, product-development, manufacturing, and business processes. The resulting work environment is technically challenging, intellectually stimulating, and generally satisfying, and KLA-Tencor colleagues are some of the smartest anywhere. These are things that have driven KLA-Tencor's past performance and growth.

    Cons

    KLA-Tencor's past performance and growth have been very strong. Nearly all of this growth, however, has been organic growth aligned with the semiconductor industry itself. And, most of that organic growth has been in KLA-Tencor's "traditional" products lines for reticle/mask inspection, wafer inspection, and overlay/film metrology. KLA-Tencor has been less successful diversifying into other areas in order to drive future growth. And, since the semiconductor industry's growth has slowed and Moore's law node cycles have lengthened to ~2.5 years, KLA-Tencor's growth has slowed/flattened as well and will continue to do so. All of this means that KLA-Tencor may remain a good place to work but might have fewer professional growth opportunities for employees going forward.

    Continue reading
    KLA2015-09-14
  9. "Director, Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Milpitas, CA

    I have been working at KLA full-time

    Pros

    Multidisciplinary complex problems, interesting, challenging work

    Cons

    Company in definite contraction mode

    Continue reading
    KLA2015-07-21
  10. "Strong strategy, strong technology, strong people - good benefits but you earn every penny."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best and brightest people, hands down. Best technology and the technology groups always surpass expectations.

    Cons

    If you call it a down-side, you better be smart and motivated or go somewhere else. Some new college grad hires are first-rate while others are questionable, at best.

    Continue reading
    KLA2012-12-18
Found 21 reviews