KLLM Transport Services Reviews | Glassdoor

KLLM Transport Services Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
KLLM Transport Services President & CEO James M. Richards, Jr (no image)
James M. Richards, Jr
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Freedom to learn the business as a lease purchase driver(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good miles great dispatcher good money(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dispatchers have absolutely no respect for drivers(in 10 reviews)

  • "Home time is a struggle as well(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLLM Transport Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people/employees, management is not your typical hard-head--they will actually listen and work with you.

    Cons

    Honestly cant think of any.

    KLLM Transport Services2020-01-18
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLLM Transport Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good miles great dispatcher good money

    Cons

    i haven't found any yet

    KLLM Transport Services2020-01-03
  3. "Otr driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services

    Pros

    This was an opportunity to get my feet wet

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay You have to fight for what you work for Home time is a struggle as well

    Advice to Management

    Please understand that without drivers your job wouldn’t exist. We are human.

    KLLM Transport Services2019-10-25
  4. "Stay Away! Doesn't Honor What They Say!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is just like all of the other big truck driving companies. They sell you a dream until you actually get out on the road! Once you're put with a trainer, get ready to experience hell! My trainer was super lazy and never wanted to do any driving and just wanted to be on his phone laying around! I was told during orientation that the driving would be split 50/50 then once out with my trainer, I was told to do whatever the trainer wanted me to so I had to drive all day & night until my time ran out plus the work you have to do once you get to the destination. Mind you after taxes, you're only getting $400 per week, and if you have insurance, it's less than that! So you may be driving 11 hours each day plus working hard at the location for hrs, and not getting much rest depending on the route because of delays of getting unloading & loaded for 8 weeks making $400, or less which is less than minimum wage when you're driving/working all day long non-stop! The student rep was very helpful, but everybody else seem to not even care! Everybody just want you to suck it up and deal with it!

    Show More

    Cons

    After being with a trainer, it gets worse! You dont get the home time promised, truck constantly breaks down which affects your money so the $1000 per week, or more they say you can make, is more like $500 per week due to crappy trucks and places they send you too. You'll only make money by having lots of experience going to a good company that cares about their drivers as well!

    Advice to Management

    Just be honest and fair!

    KLLM Transport Services2019-10-09
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Richland, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and management. Regular set schedule.

    Cons

    Boring at times. Other than that I loved it.

    KLLM Transport Services2019-09-04
  6. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KLLM Transport Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of miles, very nice people here that help you out,

    Cons

    Got nothing but good things to say

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work,

    KLLM Transport Services2019-08-29
  7. "Concentrated Mostly on Driver Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Jackson, MS
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time

    Pros

    Nice Looking Trucks and Building

    Cons

    Leadership seemed inexperienced and promotions occur due to tenure rather than expertise

    KLLM Transport Services2019-09-06
  8. "Did Lease Operator dedicated OTR and company local dedicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with time off, decent pay.

    Cons

    Sometimes communication was slow or unclear. Dedicated clients can drop local contracts without notice.

    KLLM Transport Services2019-07-18
  9. "Aweful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lease Purchase 

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Everything is wrong! Wish for a different experience

    Advice to Management

    Change FSC rates to be more competitive. Give reasonable miles to make payments & take care of family since we are the ones sacrificing our time!

    KLLM Transport Services2019-08-05
  10. "A company that couldn't care less about drivers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inter-modal Local Driver in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KLLM Transport Services full-time

    Pros

    You get home every day, and the pay is not bad.

    Cons

    Too numerous to really mention. Dispatchers have absolutely no respect for drivers. Managers are totally clueless regarding supervising.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the trucking business because you are making a great industry, and a vital part of the U.S. economy look bad.

    KLLM Transport Services2019-04-17
Found 75 reviews