KMG Chemicals Reviews | Glassdoor

KMG Chemicals Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
KMG Chemicals CEO Christopher T. Fraser (no image)
Christopher T. Fraser
6 Ratings
  1. "Health & Wellness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Owner Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KMG Chemicals

    Pros

    Able to help staff be more healthy.

    Cons

    Had to train in the offices. Literally moved desk & office equipment aside in order to have space to train.

    Advice to Management

    Have a area strictly for training in any kind of way. It truly helps productivity in the overall work day.

    KMG Chemicals2017-04-18
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KMG Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    (Prior to Merger) Good company culture. Quarterly Employee Appreciation luncheons, beautiful offices. Excellent location.

    Cons

    (Post Merger) Everything. Why mess with a good profitable plan and cause hardship for those who worked so hard to make it what it was. It's just business.

    KMG Chemicals2019-03-04

    KMG Chemicals Response

    March 18, 2019Corporate Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as well as for sharing the positive comments about KMG’s company culture. We recognize that acquisitions can be challenging; but by combining the strengths of KMG and Cabot Microelectronics it is our goal to deliver higher quality products and services for our customers along with offering employees opportunities for career growth. Transparent communication is one of our highest priorities so if you have a specific concern please don’t hesitate to ask questions, discuss with your manager, site or regional leader, HR representative or leadership team members any concerns you may have. Thank you for your feedback and best wishes for success in your career. – Stephanie B., Corporate Relations

    Show Less
  3. "Arrogant, Two- Faced Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KMG Chemicals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and decent work schedule.

    Cons

    Upper Leadership team is unapproachable and my immediate manager is only concerned about himself and moving up the ranks. Two- faced to put it lightly and not opened to any new ideas unless his own.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees and their grievances because the employees are people too and do not have a voice.

    KMG Chemicals2018-11-21
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KMG Chemicals for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, reasonable benefits, skilled management group, and friendly environment.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, very little employee appreciation events, and a few reimbursement process are just not adequate.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in keeping employee's moral high.

    KMG Chemicals2018-08-15
  5. "A very bottom line focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at KMG Chemicals for more than a year

    Pros

    A job and a paycheck

    Cons

    Showed very little interest in employee moral.

    KMG Chemicals2017-02-07
  6. "A place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KMG Chemicals

    Pros

    KMG is a fast growing company with a CEO who is very knowledgeable and wants to continue to grow the business and the stock price.

    Cons

    In a growing business there are growing pains, and KMG is currently experience some of this. With a recent relocation of the corporate office there is so many new employees that there is some additional stress on everyone right now

    KMG Chemicals2016-08-26
  7. "Company keeping up with Technology and Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Cash Manager/AP Coordinator/Tax Assistant in Sugar Land, TX

    I worked at KMG Chemicals for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company recently migrated to SAP to help it's growing accounting needs.

    Cons

    Needs improvement in communication amount departments.

    KMG Chemicals2016-08-29
  8. "Steer clear of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KMG Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There aren't any positives about this company.

    Cons

    This company cares nothing about its employees. The CEO speaks about caring about his employees and then decides to relocate the corporate office almost 4 hours away. You would think since he claims to care about his employees that he would offer to relocate any employee willing to relocate. No less than half of the corporate office was offered relocation and the ones that were invited weren't even the most talented... or had the most tenure. A lot of good people were let go and put in financial hardship. If you are desperate for a job I would say consider working here but just until you build more experience or find something better.

    Show More
    KMG Chemicals2016-04-15
  9. "Accounting Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Accounting Contractor in Katy, TX

    I worked at KMG Chemicals for less than a year

    Pros

    I was only there for a two month contract position and I enjoyed my short term there. Was asked to stay an additional two weeks to help their Accounting department, where I was taught the SAP program, as far as entering invoices and purchase orders.

    Cons

    The company was relocating to Forth Worth, and their was a layoff of about 75% of their employees.

    KMG Chemicals2016-01-25
  10. "Ok if you are not trying to advance or explore other opportunities within the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KMG Chemicals full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours. The benefit package is more than most are offering.

    Cons

    Credit is often given to those who brown-nose the best. Benefits are great but no one really wants you to utilize them.

    Advice to Management

    Give credit where credit is due. Managers are only concerned with how they look to the outside, not how they are portrayed to the employees.

    KMG Chemicals2013-03-06
Found 12 reviews