KONE Reviews | Glassdoor

KONE Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 367 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
KONE CEO Henrik Ehrnrooth
Henrik Ehrnrooth
147 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative and collaborative culture with top notch people!

    Cons

    Like all large, global companies, there are a few micro-cultures that do not align with corporate.

    KONE2018-10-20
  2. "5 Year Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time

    Pros

    Open feedback is encouraged, focus on individual development, very competitive benefits package.

    Cons

    Cumbersome processes involved for Sales Teams and managers. The roll-out of newer technology is helping though.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on career ladder development and opportunities.

    KONE2018-10-19
  3. "Flexibility is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time

    Pros

    I like how KONE provides the opportunity to understand that family comes first and if there is something going on personally, they make sure you take care of that. The Work/Life balance for that reason is something I talk highly about with my social networks.

    Cons

    Sometimes our communication tools have disrupting moments, but that comes with the territory of this continuously technological advancing society.

    KONE2018-10-19
  4. "Good company, good future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great products, good service delivery, flexibility in working arrangements and locations

    Cons

    Not many, but constantly changing incentive plans, and lots of busy work using sales tracking software which is not very impactful.

    Advice to Management

    Look to remove busy work and focus on items that directly enhance the product offering

    KONE2018-09-21
  5. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE part-time

    Pros

    There are none to address

    Cons

    It’s like an Cult. And if you’re not kissing up quick to be ostracized

    Advice to Management

    They are the ringleaders

    KONE2018-08-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Consultant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance, fun and interesting work every day. Always learning with help from others. Company car is major plus!

    Cons

    Tuition reimbursement is a joke - $5,000 life time maximum. I felt like I was tricked throughout the interview process to believe they had a real tuition reimbursement program. I left a competitor who pays $60,000 lifetime.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees so they don't look else where for future growth.

    KONE2018-07-24
  7. "Elevator Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Elevator Inspector in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at KONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very rewarding and a feeling of accomplishment. Making sure public is safe is first priority. Able to provide for family and make a decent living.

    Cons

    A lot of time away from Home. Dealing with multiple personalities can be hard at times.Finding parts for equipment can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    More incentives for job well done and beyond the scheduled time

    KONE2018-07-11
  8. "Outstanding work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Global *Great pay *Excellent benefits Great place to challenge your skills. Definitely keeps me motivated. I love that management acknowledges your hard work, input and efforts on a daily and recognition is given when deserved. Coming from a military background, I can say this is a great place for veterans current service members because of the team work, challenges, diversity and zero tolerance for BS really....

    Show More

    Cons

    Low minded individuals who cannot work as a team but thats everywhere in civilian world.

    Advice to Management

    *Sales order schedule and structure can improve *Keep up the great work

    KONE2018-07-08
  9. "Great company - great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the people I work with - smart, hard working, committed, fun Products are innovative, and company is known for being on the forefront. Wonderful global environment where you can learn to engage with different cultures. Finnish culture that is pragmatic but dynamic. Company is moving in the right direction, and I see good things in the future.

    Cons

    Sometimes we act more like a family owned business than a cutting edge global company - in particular in North America. We need to hire the best and expect the best, and find a way to stay relevant with today's changing workforce. Sometimes leadership can be "old school" and so many of them have grown up at KONE that they have a hard time thinking about or even excepting new ways of doing things. Structure is flat,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Embrace new ideas, in particular from people who can bring outside of the company/industry knowledge to KONE. Expect excellence and be ready to make transformational changes in order to do that.

    KONE2018-06-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Do NOT start work here if you are a woman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KONE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people. Global exposure. Excellent PTO.

    Cons

    95% of directors are male. 85% of managers are male. 50% of staff is female. Do the math. Promotion opportunities for females are limited and typically they already know who they want in the position before it's ever posted.

    Advice to Management

    Need to really look at how you do promotion and hiring. It's absolutely ridiculous in today's world that more women aren't in leadership positions.

    KONE2018-07-06
Found 367 reviews