KPMG Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

KPMG Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "The best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    solid company in the amrket of consular and immigration services

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Advice to Management

    I refer

    KPMG2015-05-17
  2. "Solid company to work for, great exposure!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, Exposure, Flexibility, Exit Opportunities

    Cons

    Hours, Bureaucracy, Low pay for lower level employees

    Advice to Management

    Compensate Associates-Managers higher as these employees do 90% of the work

    KPMG2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Find the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere Good work-life balance Supportive teams and good work environment

    Cons

    Paid less than other Big 4 Smallest, least mature, and least aggressive of the Big 4, which can translate to second or third tier projects. After a few years, you'll notice that top performers get frustrated and leave while average performers stay.

    KPMG2019-02-27
  4. "Hard Work, Good Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consulting Senior Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best work-life balance of the "Big 4"; Great perks

    Cons

    High travel utilization; Lowest salary of the "Big 4"

    KPMG2018-06-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Get in and Get out in 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experience at big 4 looks good on your resume; lots of on the job training. In house training is decent.

    Cons

    The Cleveland office is unfortunately an old boy's club. Most of the male partners come from uneducated blue collar families & no nothing outside of FASBs or Tax Code. As a female I couldn't wait to get out of there. Many of the male partners regularly hit on the much younger females. Lots of pressure to get everything done perfectly & done quickly. Lots of favoritism on the better jobs and lots of travel.

    Advice to Management

    Prepare for lots of turnover just before or after employees make Manager. Increase soft skill & harassment training especially to Sr. Managers & partners.

    KPMG2017-11-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "To Become Manager & up Means No Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Compensation is Competitive (Received a 23% raise with 10% Bonus) - Working with intelligent, young people for the most part - Technology is great and we are moving fast in that direction - Great way to advance your career very quickly

    Cons

    - Some engagement managers, most directors, and all partners do not contribute to anything until it is done then they screw it all up. Need to be more involved and treat the KPMG employees better than the client. - VERY cuthroat and political. If you get on the wrong persons bad side, then you can kiss any good projects away, at least from him/her. - The potential to be in one practice (Consulting), but able to be... placed on a long term project that delays your growth in your field and thus hurts your chances of being promoted.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Better business planning (have not hit our goals consistently). - Stress to upper management that they need to be more involved and actually do some damn work.

    KPMG2017-10-20
  7. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at KPMG for more than a year

    Pros

    They bring on bright people.

    Cons

    Bright people are restricted by the firm's presuppositions

    Advice to Management

    Free your people.

    KPMG2017-05-27
  8. "Great Firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management Consulting Senior Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced learning environment

    Cons

    Long hours and almost 90% travel

    KPMG2016-05-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Services Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Services Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    The management consulting group that I was part of cared very little about the clients that we worked with. They also care very little about their employees. I have never worked anywhere like that where people leave in droves almost quicker than KPMG can replace them.

    Advice to Management

    The Executive group better wake up and smell the coffee before their Management consulting group is the laughing stock of the industry.

    KPMG2016-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ok firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks and benefits; Exposure to varieties of clients in the industry

    Cons

    Work-Life balance; Staff level employees are treated like a number; zero recognition of efforts; Very unfair promotion structure

    KPMG2015-09-29
Found 30 reviews