KS&Co Reviews | Glassdoor

KS&Co Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
James C. Kieckhafer
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Start Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KS&Co

    Pros

    Going into KS&Co, I lacked accounting experience. Interning in the audit department taught me so much in such a short amount of time. You will work if you are an intern and the time there is very hands on. Culture is laid back and everyone is patient, friendly, and super helpful.

    Cons

    I'm not sure this is considered a con but you will put in time and effort. This will not be a walk in the park experience and you will be frustrated at times. Nothing to do with the company, but rather the nature of public accounting.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    KS&Co2017-04-20
  2. "audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at KS&Co

    Pros

    good environment friendly co-workers and management

    Cons

    small team, limited clients access

    KS&Co2018-06-14
  3. "Tax Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KS&Co

    Pros

    Great people and actual busy season experience.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to grow in the long term.

    KS&Co2017-10-29
  4. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KS&Co full-time

    Pros

    Company offer you a great opportunity to learn things, if you are willing to learn, you will learn a lot.

    Cons

    workload is big, make sure you are ready for very hard working in busy season.

    Advice to Management

    more training in non busy season

    KS&Co2017-04-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hidden Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KS&Co full-time

    Pros

    Amazing firm! I learned how to do all types of tax returns and they trusted us with complex assignments. They also pay overtime and compensate employees well with food and other perks for the long hours. There are also good opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    I put in a lot of hours, even as an intern in school. I put in some 60 hour weeks and 14 hour Mondays, but that is usual for busy season. There was also a lot of pressure to make the budgeted time on assignments, and some times the budgets were too small.

    Advice to Management

    The training program taught me a lot, but I would work on improving the work-life balance at the firm.

    KS&Co2015-10-22
  6. "Typical small-mid-sized firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at KS&Co full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, plenty of opportunities to learn.

    Cons

    Long working hours, inexperienced managers.

    KS&Co2014-12-30
  7. "There are better accounting firms to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KS&Co full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can drive your own career, particularly if you are popular. A little more laid back than other accounting firms.

    Cons

    The benefits are disappointing. The cost of health insurance is sky-high, and there's no 401(k) match, just "profit sharing" that doesn't immediately vest. Somewhat of a "bro" culture.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like their next job is with your dream target client.

    KS&Co2013-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at KS&Co

      Pros

      Learned a lot of tax related filings as a intern, there is traing the first week then it is learning by doing, provided resources to do independent research

      Cons

      Low pay compare to other CPA firms, if not proficient at excel will have to eat hours, does not offer much benefits besides salary after full time, managers are not constructive during reviews

      KS&Co2013-06-23
    • "A great place to grow your career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at KS&Co full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work / life balance, Partner / Owners that truly care about the organization and the employees, limitless potential for career growth for professional and operational support personnel. The culture is constantly evolving for the better.

      Cons

      the growing pains that occur in any developing organization. there are always uncertanties in a growing company, but the partners try to address these issues as they occur to avoid unnecessary tension and stress for the employees

      Advice to Management

      Keep your core values in the forefront of all organizatioal developments and changes.

      KS&Co2012-12-16
    • "Current Enviroment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends

      I have been working at KS&Co

      Pros

      The Firm is focused on being the premier provider on the West Coast in each of its various services lines. KS&Co's primary service lines generally do not compete directly with the Big Four Firms; rather they are complimentary to the Big Four. With many client projects, KS&Co provides a product that is reviewed by a Big Four Firm. As a result, team members are exposed to complex issues and gain valuable experience early...

      Show More

      Cons

      Because of the changes over the past two years with the economic slowdown and the firm adding new partners, the communication from management has not always been timely. This issue is being addressed and remains a top priority for the partnership.

      Advice to Management

      Keep looking for improvements in communication

      KS&Co2010-10-21
    Found 10 reviews