KaBOOM! "hard working" Reviews | Glassdoor

KaBOOM! Employee Reviews about "hard working"

Updated Sep 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
KaBOOM! Chief Executive Officer James Siegal  (no image)
James Siegal
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fellow employees are generally competent and hard-working(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great mission and community build-model(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The 990, which is publicly available on the website as required for a non-profit, must list all employees making more than 100,000(in 9 reviews)

  • "work/life balance varies widely based on manager/team(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Inspirational Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KaBOOM! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High expectations lead to hard working, dedicated, passionate and committed employees. The passion of senior staff, including our current CEO, is a key driver that inspires me to do my best in the work that I do. The meaningful nature of our work is incredibly rewarding and continues to drive me. The organization is based on fundamental principals that drive our culture and work ethic. The outcome is a solid... delivery. The organization is very transparent and communicative. Our Boomer community is the best and is the glue that keeps us moving forward.

    Show More

    Cons

    Seasonality impacts work life balance. Upcoming changes are a little unsettling.

    Advice to Management

    As we transition with senior staff movement, please continue to focus on the fundamentals that define our org. Preserving our culture is key and focusing on advancement and retention of Boomers is critical to our success.

    KaBOOM!2015-12-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Few opportunities for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at KaBOOM! full-time

    Pros

    -Fellow employees are generally competent and hard-working -Working for a "good cause" -Flexible work arrangements are possible (depending on your supervisor)

    Cons

    -Salaries are pretty low, and not doled out equitably. After working there for multiple years, my salary was lower than the new hires. This is in part because all of this info is secret, part because annual "salary adjustments" are insubstantial, and in part because the management is selective about who they comb for upward growth. -The leader of my team provided few opportunities for professional development (e....g. 'stretch' tasks, collaboration, formal and informal training). I took it upon myself to seek out these opportunities, but given the culture and management style of the organization, it proved difficult. I think the leader of my team would prefer not to rock the boat, even if it means atrophying her team. -Funding partners have significant influence over the work we do. This is probably true for most non-profits, but especially at KaBOOM!. Most of our money comes from these partners (e.g. Target, CarMax, Keurig Dr Pepper) so you can be sure our talking points will match theirs, and our initiatives will fit in line with their profit-maximizing interests.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What would KaBOOM! look like if every employee was empowered to realize their full potential?

    KaBOOM!2018-09-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Major improvements since leadership change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KaBOOM! full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission and community build-model. Unique in services provided. Passionate, intelligent, and hard-working staff. There was a major lack of transparency in the past, but I believe this has improved a great deal since the change in leadership about a year ago. Great bonus program.

    Cons

    As mentioned above, prior to the change in CEO/leadership, there was a lack of transparency and innovation; I believe this has changed for the better over the last year. Salaries are not competitive. Mission shifted from a focus on community building to a focus on play everywhere. While I support both, the shift in mission/vision was not executed well.

    Advice to Management

    Need to innovate on the traditional model.

    KaBOOM!2017-09-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "A Long Walk Spoiled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KaBOOM! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard-working, dedicated employees who really want to make a difference in the lives of children and communities. Fortunately, it was announced that the Founder/CEO will be leaving in a few months. When this happens, KaBOOM will have solved one of its biggest problems. What began as an inspiring story 19 years ago with the founding of this organization ends sadly because the Founder/CEO was never willing to improve... himself and change with the organization. He has been unwilling to acknowledge feedback, stopped caring about employees, and forgot how to lead. Unfortunately after what should have been many good years, his legacy is a long walk spoiled.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ineffective management; too many changes in strategy; no upward career opportunities; no training; insufficient staffing; high turnover (40% in 2015); low pay; long hours.

    Advice to Management

    There's a reason the CEO rating for KaBOOM is the lowest in the Glass Door data base. He is rude, overbearing and has never held himself to the same standards he expects from everyone else in the organization. in 2016, you will have the opportunity for a new start. Re-build the culture and hold EVERYONE accountable to organizational standards. Everyone including the new CEO. The poor employee morale and high... turnover rate should improve.

    Show More
    KaBOOM!2015-12-18
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Need to Boost Morale among Current Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KaBOOM!

    Pros

    Hard-working, amazing intelligent, and smart colleagues Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    With the new strategy and focus on playability, many employees feel misguided. Everyone is working hard, but some are feeling as though the work they are doing is not being recognized, which is only going to cause them to leave the organization like so many already have.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to recognize the great work people are doing. If you don't stop to notice those who are giving so much to hold the organization together in this transition period, then you will lost them too and have to start from scratch with new employees.

    KaBOOM!2015-06-07
  6. Helpful (9)

    "mid-level employee, direct service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KaBOOM!

    Pros

    Great reputation; deliver a quality product; passionate and hard working staff.

    Cons

    Bad management. Disconnect between leadership and staff. Half-baked initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Value employees more.

    KaBOOM!2015-04-23
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Micromanagement has gotten worse in the face of increasing challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KaBOOM!

    Pros

    My colleagues are awesome- smart, hard working and committed to our mission. But an alarming number of them are trying to get out or have already left.

    Cons

    KaBOOM! is having trouble funding their new advocacy/social norm change strategy. This is creating anxiety and pressure throughout the organization. COO has resorted to micromanaging across the board, making staff even more unhappy and slowing progress.

    Advice to Management

    stop setting unreachable/unrealistic goals for your under resourced and shrinking staff - it's demoralizing.

    KaBOOM!2015-05-02
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Ineffective Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at KaBOOM! full-time

    Pros

    Solid benefits. Smart, hard-working staff.

    Cons

    At first glance, working at this nonprofit seems appealing. Don’t be fooled. The staff morale is extremely low for the reasons mentioned in other reviews: the intense focus on flexible revenue vs. mission; no real strategy for how the revenue will further the mission; CEO is a bully; senior leadership is ineffective and uninspiring; poor work-life balance; feedback and ideas are ignored; and staff is not empowered.... Unfortunately, this is unlikely to improve since it’s those at the top who are responsible for this unhealthy environment.

    Show More
    KaBOOM!2015-02-20
Found 8 reviews