KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Kahiki Foods

Is this your company?

Kahiki Foods

Add a Review

Kahiki Foods Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
Kahiki Foods Plant Director Lonnie Howard (no image)
Lonnie Howard
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growing Company

    May 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay for Skills for hourly teammates, free lunch on fridays, training and development at all levels, english & spanish courses courses, continuous improvement program, lots of local partnerships, great company values, good new hire experience, good work/life balance, monthly awards, kahiki bucks and company store,

    Cons

    Lots of growth means some growing pains.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Lots of hours but nice job security

    Jan 20, 2021 - Quality Assurance Technician in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of overtime and job security

    Cons

    A lot of overtime, a lot of crap to deal with. Old plant with high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Wonderful and Caring Comapny

    Jun 3, 2020 - Quality Control in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family Environment, excellent culture and comp

    Cons

    limited growth opportunities if you are ambitions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Manager

    Aug 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has historically been a pretty "average" place to work, but efforts are underway to make it a more fun, interesting, and open place, and those efforts are making a difference. Dress codes are being relaxed, we have more interaction with all levels of the organization, there are social events, etc. Communication can always be better, but things are definitely improving in that regard. Marketplace competition is tough, but the company seems to have a good strategy and it seems like we are starting to make some progress in the market.

    Cons

    There is some seasonality to the business, which makes things very hectic in some time periods, and pretty slow in others. Managing the seasonality is a challenge. While most people seem to be on board with the direction the leadership team is taking the company, some folks have not bought in yet, or dont fit the values that are part of that direction. That creates some tension and dysfunction.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kahiki Foods Response

    Marketer

    Thank you for your advice to management, believe us, we hear you loud and clear and we agree with what you are saying. Because we are in a period of strategic transformation, it is only fair to give people some time to determine if this is the right place for them. We have big, hairy audacious goals and a one-track mind to get there. It is an exciting time for the company, and our hope is that those handful of people you mentioned get on board to help us reach our goals. Thank you for your response!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Business casual at its finest - built on trust in employees

    May 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'd say job satisfaction is roughly 75% determined by coworkers. Kahikians are a fantastic group of people. My supervisor is always there for me supporting me on (almost) any projects I want to do. If you have the initiative to make improvements, Kahikians will support you every step of the way. The team is very laid back. We wear jeans to work. Sometimes I take my laptop outside and work on the patio. Other times I'll work on some couches in the office. Flex-time is a great perk as well. If you value family time, this is your ideal place to work. It's not unusual for someone to leave early to make it to their kid's sports game. Kahikians have high standards, but not at the expense of work/life balance. Oh, and the weekly employee lunches cooked from scratch? Fantastic!

    Cons

    There has been a high turnover in leadership in a short period of time. Our brand and identity has suffered because of it. However, we seem to be on a good, steady track now.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kahiki Foods Response

    Marketer

    We appreciate your feedback. Turnover at the top level has created some turmoil, but we are glad you now see steady leadership. We have clear goals on where we want to go, and we will continue to drive towards them with relentless execution.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Malama (formerly the Trail Boss)

    May 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kahiki is a wonderful place to work and is comprised of compassionate and supportive people. The company culture supports the values of Do the Right Thing, Be Excellent and Play As A Team. There is opportunity to advance, a great work/life balance and benefits that stretch far past healthcare and 401k.

    Cons

    Kahiki Foods is growing - fast. You have to be flexible and adaptable to thrive here. Fortunately, most of the employees are.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Full Time Employee

    Jun 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company could be good with right daily leadership.

    Cons

    Company could be good with right daily leadership. We are missing an experienced leader and the self-appointed HR person has no experience running an operations. Cute names and ping pong do not help me on the job. "fun" stuff at break is only at break and provides nothing helpful and meaningful for our jobs and our future.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Company Review

    Aug 9, 2015 -  in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for.. The people care about you and they are making it a wonderful place to work. Great Products..

    Cons

    The frozen food business is seasonal and therefore the demand for sales is low during the summer months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    As an intern, I am paid well and receive valuable training and feedback.

    Feb 19, 2011 - P/Marketing Intern in Gahanna, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment and competitive wages

    Cons

    Management is often too busy to communicate

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Production Associate

    Sep 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunch on Fridays with seconds.

    Cons

    Slave wages and no assigned times for breaks and lunches. Most of the employees make you feel stupid and have no patience with you learning. Working mandatory overtime working Saturdays and Sundays which is off limits for me. Even if they paid me more money my weekends would still be off limits. Too many employees try to be the boss.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Kahiki Foods Reviews FAQs

51% of Kahiki Foods employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Kahiki Foods 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Kahiki Foods to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Kahiki Foods Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Kahiki Foods? Share Your Experiences

Kahiki Foods logo
or