Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Lifeguard Reviews | Glassdoor

Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Lifeguard Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Owner and President Todd Nelson  (no image)
Todd Nelson
7 Ratings
  1. "Kalahari"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits you can get in this job are awesome

    Cons

    Really can’t say much job is really cool and always warm inside no matter the whether

    Advice to Management

    Have to be more up on the lifeguards

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-06-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Management needs to respect others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Wisc Dells, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet a lot of people from all over!

    Cons

    Two managers taking jokes too far and being extremely rude and disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    If your managers or leadership don't respect employees, why would anyone want to work there.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's an easy job to get and keep

    Cons

    You're treated as if you're disposable

    Advice to Management

    We're humans (mostly teens), not names on a spreadsheet

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-05-07
  4. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Wisc Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, food, wage, plays, restaurants

    Cons

    Nothing, only the weather in the winter

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-02-28
  5. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My co workers were great. Most of the guest were nice and sometimes made your day.

    Cons

    The managers at Kalahari were very annoying and micromanaged us around. They abused there power. In my opinion they shouldn’t care if I’m leaving against the slide or not. They should be paying more attention to the guests. With the poor working conditions we go through we should get at least a free meal. We could easily walk down the road to great wolf lodge if they keep treating us like this. It’s ready hard enough to find people who want to drive all the way to kalahari, that People shouldn’t get fired because they forgot to take their earnings out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    One free meal to your under paid staff won’t hurt you

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2018-08-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Waterpark Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Pocono Manor, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entertaining environment/setting, great coworkers, great owner who runs the business with his family. Guests are fun, occasionally rude but for the most part some will make your day. Management has some great leaders such as the director, some also not so great and I believe need to be weeded out.

    Cons

    Management is very incoherent, not on the same level as one another , and treats you as if you are a robot. Promotes within but only given to people with pure favoritism and not within good work ethics and hard work. Seen so many unfair promotions within years of working there

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to who works hard and try to keep personal relationships away when it comes to forming a team. Great company great environment but plenty of dissatisfied staff and guests. Pizza occasionally doesn’t make a team bond!! Although appreciated! Connect and care and be compassionate towards your TEAM!! Not “associates.” Considering there are many jobs like this one in the area and a ton of competition people don’t care on leaving! Seen many people come and leave a week later and we always are understaffed almost year round due to the poor work conditions. I believe once that is set it would be a greater place to be employed at.

    Show More
    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2018-05-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Defiance, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Alright pay, meet new people, discounts

    Cons

    Managers play favorites and it is annoying, boring job

    Advice to Management

    Pay better for your terrible service

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2018-01-27
  8. "Good job for inbetween jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deep Water Lifeguard in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kalahari has a fairly substantial compensation network regarding their employees and anything work related that could cause injury, and they don't hassle either, which was a plus for me. They also care about their employees at times, but I he bigger they become, the harder it becomes for them to maintain this relationship with their employees as well. Ive have been working at Kalahari 10 months now, at their newest addition in the Pocono Mountains. They take pride in their resort, but many managers like to micromanage, which causes a lot of issues with many workers as well. I have worked here while in school, and they work very well with your schedule and are flexible with hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    Alright, now the downsides. Kalahari managers love to micromanage their employees. Some enjoy it, but I prefer to have the trust of my supervisor that I will be doing an exceptional job, and not have them constantly making small critiques that have no affect on my work. Also, do not work in the water park either. My job is a lifeguard at Kalahari, and while I do enjoy the job itself, and chlorine, obnoxious guests, and inexperienced managers make the job unbearable in some departments such as the water park. Also, the owner of Kalahari, Todd Nelson, is very meticulous with the resort, and it isn't unheard of for employees to be fired directly from him because of small insignificant infractions such as have a piercing in on stand at the water park or not having your visor on when you're outside. Also, there is no employee cafe or free lunch served to us, to be prepared to bring money for your breaks. Overall, Kalahari is a great place to work at if you're looking for a job to hold you over for the short haul. If you are looking for a more stable career, I would not suggest Kalahari for employment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give more responsibility to the supervisors and other lead figures in departments, and allow the employees to have free meals. For having overcharged food flying off the shelves, you won't to bankrupt for giving the employees one free meal.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2016-03-08
  9. "working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff at times, and you get to meet people all over the world.

    Cons

    Some days can be a drag. Sometimes you have to be put in uncomfortable situations with guests.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2014-09-11
Found 9 reviews