Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
18%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Owner and President Todd Nelson  (no image)
Todd Nelson
6 Ratings
  1. "It’s a great job with a lot to offers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Great training Work hard play harder There’s always someone to go to

    Cons

    Employee lunch should be bette

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the employees they are what matters the most.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Management Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always busy so the time passes quickly.

    Cons

    Upper Management has favorites. Does not look at whats best for the Company only whats best for their personal gain.

    Advice to Management

    Owners should open their eyes to loyal hard working hourly and salaried associates. Lot of good help left because of this. Great Company, bad Management !!!

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-11-25
  3. "Great Team of Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sandusky, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Line level staff are very hardworking and team oriented

    Cons

    Management unconcerned with product or staff

    Advice to Management

    Hire better corporate leaders

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-09-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Family business for a family resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mount Pocono, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful place, great opportunities for associates to move up

    Cons

    Manager turnover, low employee morale

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sandusky, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady job in seasonal community.

    Cons

    Low pay, high turnover, under staffed, not given the proper tools to complete the task (i.e. Linen for hskp, functioning computers for front office, English speaking / adult life guards). Entire resort is unsafe and unsanitary.

    Advice to Management

    Pointless as they are all about making money. Guests and associates are treated the same, just a number.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2017-11-27
  6. "GROWTH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waterpark Maintenance Manager in Sandusky, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a previous intern for the Kalahari Resorts in Wisconsin Dells, WI I have worked my way to a salary management position in 1.5 years. You get back what you put into it which the Kalahari Resorts recognizes these accomplishments. They like to build from the inside allowing many associates to make their way through the ranks. Outside of the potential growth for individuals in the company it brings a lot of joy to the community and guest that attend our resorts

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no true "cons" for the Kalahari Resorts but something that can be difficult to understand is the Kalahari culture.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build hourly associates to allow them to grow in the company and reach their career goals

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2017-01-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Micro Management and Time Tracking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sandusky, OH
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I haven't been able to find any since day one when I was lied to. Family owned and they don't operate. They can't even trust their own employees to do their job, yet none of the family would know how to do any of the jobs.

    Cons

    Where to begin. The owners, who are all family, micro manage every aspect of the operation. The son, who has been FIRED from his dad's company four times, has to sign off on every item purchased. Takes 5-6 weeks to get expenses back, and they can't even track those properly. Let's talk about time tracking. If you expect a salaried position, plan on punching a clock. The family doesn't trust anyone who isn't family and seem to think everyone is going to take advantage of them. I've never since being a salaried employee, had to punch a clock. They don't even trust their General Managers! Grooming Policies. They don't allow anyone to have facial hair. Yet the owner and his favorite pets are allowed to. Hotel Rooms. Don't ever stay. I can't tell you how many rooms have had bed bugs. It's absolutely disgusting. Food. If you like flies all over your food, then this is the place to be. The health department needs to pay a visit. Employee relations. They have 9 year old outdated policies. Hourly employees only get 3 days of vacation per year. Turnover. Where should we start. I've see. Salaried people leave after a week. Half the hourlies don't even last that long. Wages are the lowest I've ever see in the hotel industry. They claim that over 60% of management has come up through the ranks. Well that's because anyone who knows how to operate a resort, and then sees how they operate one, gets out. So they promote up because no one else wants to do the job. How do you move a front desk clerk to a Director? Safety. I guess having one security guard on an overnight shift for the entire property is considered safe. Cops are here constantly. High rate of credit card theft. In fact they had a credit card breach just a year ago.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's amazing how the family can go to Africa for a month and then come back and tell everyone to watch your budgets. Stop micro managing. Stop badmouthing each other. Start being consistent. That's the one thing you are failing at. The hotel is in deplorable condition, the food is overpriced (no wonder 95% of your guests bring food in from the outside), and the lack of professionalism is prevalent. Start taking management classes and stop promoting incompetence.

    Show More
    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2016-11-01
Found 7 reviews