Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Reviews

Updated Mar 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Kalahari Resorts and Conventions Owner and President Todd Nelson  (no image)
Todd Nelson
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Further guest services skills (tremendously)(in 7 reviews)

  • "Flexible scheduling depending on the department you work in(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Scheduled long hours (10-12 hour shifts)(in 7 reviews)

  • "low pay,took 2 years for an evaluation(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Bellman 

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time

    Pros

    Awesome hours to work and great pay.

    Cons

    Lots of people to take care of

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-02-17
  2. "Was good for 97% of the time."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ride Attendant in Baraboo, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Simple, Self motivated and Focused on improving quality.

    Cons

    Repetitive, Overwhelming at certain points.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-03-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY OR JUMP SHIP ASAP !"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Pocono Summit, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    let them fire you ! no relocation repay !

    Cons

    7 - F&B Directors in 5 years 7 - Executive Chefs in 5 years Sexual Harassments is allowed by Senior leaders and owners and hush money is thrown at them by there attorneys or a senior manager is sent out for gastric sleeve weight loss surgery cause he couldn't do it own his own All Prop level managers are berated by senior leaders to the point of screaming and yelling by owners

    Continue reading
    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-03-22
  4. "Great experience, what you put in is what you get out"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Sandusky, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive office environment Coworker's willing to help Further guest services skills (tremendously)

    Cons

    Low hourly wage Management can be slow if you need them to do something

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-02-07
  5. "Water park manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Water Park Manager in Mount Pocono, PA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions

    Pros

    Fast paced, busy, fast, busy

    Cons

    Long hours, pay was low

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-02-16
  6. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Food Runner in Wisc Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The owners are kind, good working conditions, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    J1 sometimes take up the hours

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-01-11
  7. "Fun Job. Not too much work alot of interacting with guest."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ride Attendant in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted Rates, Ride down slides sometimes

    Cons

    Hot at the top of slides

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2020-01-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Highly active position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions

    Pros

    Very active and in depth. Great resume builder and great experience to gain in emergency response, report writing, supervising, and communication

    Cons

    Lack of hours during slow reason

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-12-19
  9. "Great job for a new experience filled with fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Mount Pocono, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were very flexible when it comes to schedules. They also have a Benny Bucks program, which you earn randomly and can use it to get discounts or free things. I had a great time and made friends with co workers along the way.

    Cons

    There is a food center, however it costs money. You have to buy a $20 or $30 lunch card. I wish there were more benefits to the job but I still enjoyed the experience.

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-12-18
  10. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at Kalahari Resorts and Conventions part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours for younger people

    Cons

    I do not really have any cons

    Kalahari Resorts and Conventions2019-12-17
Found 122 reviews