Kangaroo Express "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kangaroo Express Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
33%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Kangaroo Express CEO Dennis G. Hatchell
Dennis G. Hatchell
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unless you're a manager, you will not get full time hours(in 13 reviews)

  • "There is no help from upper management(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overworked and underpaid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good dental and eye insurance. Hours are quite flexible with other life responsibilities. Always get 40 hours without a doubt! Immediate management/store manager great to work with.

    Cons

    Limited benefit plan health insurance sucks. Upper management such as District Manager needs some lessons in how to talk to employees. Puts you down and talks horribly to you in front of other employees.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2013-07-07
  2. "No work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Other than free coffee - nothing

    Cons

    No work-life balance, salaried employees expected to work up to 70 hours a week without OT, don't expect help if ask for it - there is NONE. OH and the whopper, mental health is a joke to upper management - was robbed at gun point, asked for help to get back on my feet (counciling) was told to leave my personal life at the door.

    Kangaroo Express2019-10-31
  3. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. This company doesn’t care about their staff.

    Cons

    Long hours. Rude upper management. Improper use of power.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2017-11-06
  4. "Store Managers live in the store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Sales Manager in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people. Face paced

    Cons

    Upper management did not support store managers.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2017-05-24
  5. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clermont, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meeting many, many interesting people.

    Cons

    As a store manager your job is constantly on the line. When divisional representatives are in the area, you are reminded their opinion of your store is totally "make or break". The labor hours are HIGHLY disproportionate to the amount of work to be done. At .25 cents above minimum wage, store associates are strung along for the ride that they might someday be full time, but they must have total availability during their part-time tenure. The recent acquisition by Couche-Tard has led the Circle K upper management make a dire situation worse, with the already less-than-stellar customer service of Circle K stores in the market being quite well known. After nearly a decade of flawless attendance, and raising store sales by 10 to 15% over previous year, every year, you are now in a position of starting over, with all of that history lost. Not to mention the many, many times I have seen actions taken by other members of management at the store level and higher that would ordinarily lead to instant termination in a decent company, instead lead to slaps on the wrist, or looking the other way.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2015-09-23
  6. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekly paycheck, customer loyalty, employment

    Cons

    This company will never have the back of an employee. I was A store Manager for 6 years and was terminated because of a customer. I did nithing to this customer and it was seen on video but because the customer called corporate , I was terminated. I had never been written up or disaplined prior to this incident. The turn over is horrible because I could'nt schedule associates or 28 hours, so of course they quit when they get full time. There is no help from upper management.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2015-07-15
  7. "upper management does not support you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Sales Manager in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting new people everyday. Fast paced environment.

    Cons

    No support from upper management.

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2015-06-02
  8. "Its work if you need it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they are always hiring people

    Cons

    they are always hiring because the turnover is so high due to poor upper management

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2014-11-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Company needs to do more for their associates. They let it show daily that they don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working with the customer and helping people

    Cons

    The upper management and the fact that you never have any help. I never see my child

    Kangaroo Express2014-05-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "worst job I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kangaroo Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    none no advancement for the cashiers , no full time unless you are management

    Cons

    under paid , bad upper management no full time no benfits ,

    Continue reading
    Kangaroo Express2013-08-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews