Kansas City Police Department - Missouri Reviews | Glassdoor

Kansas City Police Department - Missouri Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Patrol Sergeant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patrol Sergeant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a plethora of opportunities on KCPD who a person can help the community. Community bonds with citizens, churches, professional groups exsist so help can be sought for citizens. There are also law enforcement groups to help fight gang crime, gun crme, drugs, civil disturbances and more. There are always new and innovative ways being presented on how law enforcement can be more than a law enforcer and help society...

    Show More

    Cons

    The continuous interaction with the worst of the less desirable people tends to wear on a person's outlook of the world. If not for the occasional "thank you" it would seem as if no difference can be made. The job must be self satisfying or the job can be interpreted as thank-less when it is very much the opposite for those who actually benefit from the work we do.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget to praise employees at every level so they do not forget every job is important.

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2016-03-05
  2. "good benefits, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    health insurance options are fantastic

    Cons

    not paid a livable wage

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2019-08-15
  3. "Overall Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large Department = Oppertunity to move around Great Benefits Lots of time off

    Cons

    VERY Dangerous to work in the Inner City Forced to live in Kansas City, Missouri City Limits as a Condition of Employment

    Advice to Management

    Remove the requirment to live in City Limits, the schools are terrible!

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2019-03-13
  4. "Academy Recruit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Academy Recruit 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, and room for advancement

    Cons

    You don't have a chance to work days without putting years in.

    Advice to Management

    Great place to start and management is very helpful.

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2019-03-11
  5. "Non police hater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time

    Pros

    Trashy non professionals I interested in getting off the clock

    Cons

    My buddies wallet and debit card was stolen and responding officers had no interest

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2018-05-18
  6. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time

    Pros

    KCPD was very welcoming and has a family-like mindset. The work is challenging and fast-paced.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy slows many things down, and budget is always a problem which causes understaffing and lack of resource availability.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your hiring process is communicative with applicants

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2018-03-16
  7. "Detective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to work many different units

    Cons

    Too many command staff and need to lose some

    Advice to Management

    Get more officers

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2017-09-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "KCPD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri

    Pros

    Lot's of vacation, choice of shift, self directed work.

    Cons

    Too many commanders and promotion of people who are not qualified.

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2017-01-07
  9. "Good for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forensic Specialist in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The department overall is very supportive of each other. Detectives and Officers are genuinely good people and great to work alongside with

    Cons

    Crime Lab is the epitome of a bad work environment. Just don't work there. Chain of command is not my jam, there is no give and take or discussion. Yes sir, is the beginning and end of story. I just don't work well in that type of environment but that's a police department so it can't really be avoided.

    Advice to Management

    My experience is with the crime lab and the management there needs to learn professionalism. It would also be wise to promote people who are good managers and not just the person who performs the tasks best. Just because you are a great fingerprint analyst does not mean you should manage other analysts. Managing and performing the job are two incredibly different things.

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2016-08-23
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kansas City Police Department - Missouri full-time

    Pros

    The people I work with every day are the best. I have a lot of pride in what I do.

    Cons

    It is a government agency. So you have to deal with government politics.

    Advice to Management

    Too many Captains that make too much money for what little they do

    Kansas City Police Department - Missouri2016-08-01
Found 19 reviews