Kansas State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Kansas State University Reviews

Updated August 22, 2017
321 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard B. Myers
25 Ratings

321 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Very accommodating to scheduling and in general set up to be a very learning work environment (in 23 reviews)

  • Sense of family through community, employs a variety of faculty and staff who are award-winners, land grant mission (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Pay differ according to the department, so cannot generalize, but some departments have minimum wage (in 10 reviews)

  • relatively small town, not many place to go to (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "KSU Foundation is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Officer in Manhattan, KS
    Current Employee - Development Officer in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It is a great place to work. Great people and great mission.

    Cons

    Difficult for internal promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the inconsistencies of salaries between the different colleges for development staff and how this impacts employee's interest in outside positions or going to other colleges which wears down loyalty.


  2. "Math Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time

    Pros

    It is a good chance to review and practice the knowledge you learned in class.

    Cons

    It is repeated work, you need to have a good patience.

  3. "KSU Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time

    Pros

    good place, safe place, nice colleagues

    Cons

    Nothing to say about Kansas State University

    Advice to Management

    recommended

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    It's great to hear you enjoy working here at K-State! Thanks for leaving the great review.


  4. "scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good place, safe place, nice collegues

    Cons

    no no no no no no

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for being part of K-State and taking the time to leave a review! Did you know that K-State ranked number 3 for Best Quality of Life by the Princeton Review?


  5. "Great Family to Work With!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The Political Science department is more than a group of colleagues but become more of a family. They are very professional and willing to help.

    Cons

    The only con is the job position structure does not allow for salary or job growth within the position. That is not a problem with the department of the school but a problem by the state.

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for sharing your great experience working in the Political Science department. Your Cons feedback provides great insight to share.


  6. "Tutor at Kansas State University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Manhattan, KS
    Former Employee - Tutor in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This is a great place to network, they work around the students schedules, and the students and staff are friendly and warm.

    Cons

    Low pay and very limited amount of cultural diversity.

    Advice to Management

    Fair pay for the quality of work, please.

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for the review! It sounds like you had a positive experience as a Tutor. The Advice to Management will be shared with the department.


  7. "Was a great place where the students truly lead with conviction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The students are some of the most driven I have ever worked with. I have had the most amazing interactions with these students, whom have challenged me to be a better professional day in and day out.

    Cons

    Having not went to Kansas State for my undergrad, I was definitely an outcast. Administration truly love "their own", and I felt suppressed at times because I was an outsider.

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. We're glad to hear you had a rewarding experience working with K-State students. We take employee experience/feedback very... More

  8. "Project coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Manhattan, KS
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work for a research lab and have very flexible hours and for the most part no one micromanages my work. The work isn't super hard or stressful and there is a ton to learn which I enjoy.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the greatest and there isn't room for promotion or growth.

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for leaving a review! We're glad to hear your current position has provided you with a positive experience and opportunities for continued learning. Our Compensation team within Human Capital... More


  9. "Sr. Administrative Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people and great benefits

    Cons

    Dependence on State legislature for funding causes swings in funding availability and keeps salaries lower than comparable positions

    Kansas State University Response

    Aug 3, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thanks for being part of K-State and taking the time to leave a review. The benefits are a GREAT perk of working here! https://www.k-state.edu/hcs/benefits/


  10. "Kansas State Resident Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employer works well with school schedule, benefits include room & board as well as a monthly stipend paid over 10 months, employees have summers off, and the job site is on-campus which makes for an easy commute.

    Cons

    RA's are responsible for overseeing Hall policies are followed by peers. This can be frustrating because employees end up reporting violations made by friends and neighbors in the hall. While the job is great, this aspect can be a turn-off for people who don't like to get others "in trouble".

    Kansas State University Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Strategic Partner

    Thank you for your response and being part of K-State. Your review provides great insight into working as a Resident Assistant, thanks for sharing.


Showing 321 of 332 reviews
Reset Filters