Cover image for Kaplan International
Logo

Kaplan International

Part of Kaplan
Engaged Employer

Kaplan International

Add a Review

Kaplan International Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 313 of over 358 reviews
3.6
67% Recommend to a Friend
86% Approve of CEO

Found 308 of over 358 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Kaplan International CEO  David Jones (no image)
David Jones
85 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Teachers

200.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Kaplan International~629964
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with(in 21 reviews)
  • "Great colleagues that leave you with international friendships all over the world.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Other staff were friendly and Director of Studies and Assistant Dos were fair and sound(in 16 reviews)
  • "nice working environment, relaxed, casual(in 5 reviews)
  • "Good culture.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Failing industry and poor management.(in 27 reviews)
  • "Low pay and PTOs.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Salary is low(in 14 reviews)
  • "It, more so than our Academic Manager, decided the fate of the teacher's classes as 20+ teachers relied on the one machine that broke down, constantly.(in 10 reviews)
  • "NO Benefits at all.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Kaplan International and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    great company

    Sep 26, 2022 - Director of Finance and Administration in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits and great pay

    Cons

    no cons to share about this organization

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    QA Engineer

    Aug 11, 2022 - QA Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Remote jobs - Good Teamwork - Helpful team members

    Cons

    - Too much shuffeling around - Less salary - Extra hours of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your time with Kaplan. Whilst your role and review indicates that you may have been part of another business unit that was not Kaplan International, I will ensure your feedback is passed to my colleagues in the relevant HR team. Many thanks Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  3. Join the Kaplan International team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok - low salary

    Jul 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, students, teachers, and some flexibility.

    Cons

    Very low salary and poor benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working at Kaplan International. We are obviously disappointed to see a review that indicates your time with us was not wholly enjoyable, but at the same time we always hope to learn from the feedback we are provided. We are working hard to ensure our compensation and benefits packages continue to keep us highly competitive in our industry, but I will make sure your feedback reaches the senior management team. I wish you all the best for the future, thanks again for your time with Kaplan International Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    WORK HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK

    Aug 16, 2022 - Instructor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to meet students from around the world at many differing English levels.

    Cons

    I only spent a short amount of time at Kaplan. In the short time I was there I was first thrown into high level classes, with no training. I was actually told by my boss that because of the lack of hours, I would do " non office work like painting walls." As a Woman of color, this felt even more painful because the history of unfair treatment of people of color in corporate environments. I have a master's degree and I am absolutely not a professional painter. It was extremely demeaning and disrespectful. After that, he offered me a class teaching from 2:15 pm-3:45 pm on Thursdays. Once a week, I would have an 1hour and 30 minute class. I basically had to beg for any hours and create new things to do. I assumed that there would be more on the job observations, co-teaching, and collaboration in the office, but it was not available for me. As Instructor 1, you are a substitute teacher even thought the job description does not say that is what the position is exactly. I went into the job assuming I would receive a class. I was wrong. Also if you are not a regular teacher, you really don't have any options. No sick pay, no ability to get hours and a steady income. Kaplan is EXTREMELY disorganized. It took two months to actually figure out how to send in my offer letter. But It turns out someone in IT mixed up the job site and said I was applying in New York for a position in Chicago. It took me almost a week to actually start and get my time sheets , email, and other things that would empower and prepare me to teach some students at such a high level. Staff had reasonable concerns but it took many meetings for the upper level management to do anything about it. As a person with no hours. There was no way to make advancement if I am never in the office. It was overall a very exhausting experience. Also because I had not hours in the office I was not able to sign up for any of the events around the city. I am a Chicago native and I think my experience could have been helpful. Work there at your own risk. NOT RECOMMENDED

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Decent starting point

    Jul 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay & benefits, friendly work environment, interesting students

    Cons

    Everyone is spread too thin, very fast-paced, lack of communication & transparency from management

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working at Kaplan International and I hope you are still enjoying your role with us. Thank you also for the feedback on what we could be doing better. Our industry has faced unprecedented challenges over the last 2 years, which I appreciate has impacted workloads as we begin to emerge from the pandemic. We are continuing to invest in staffing and resourcing to address these concerns. We have worked hard to ensure that our communication with every member of the KLG business is open, honest and transparent, through regular Town Hall meetings and business updates. I appreciate that Glassdoor is an anonymous forum , but if you would like to discuss any ideas on how we could be doing better in this area, I would be happy to have a confidential discussion at any time. Thanks again Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Exciting Job / Poor Management

    Jun 12, 2022 - Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting job, great opportunity to meet people from around the world, very fulfilling

    Cons

    Current management is very unorganized

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Kaplan International. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed your role and the many international and diverse opportunities that it provided. I also appreciate you taking the time to feedback on what we can be doing better, I will make sure this feedback is shared at our senior management meeting. Many thanks Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic & Supportive Environment

    May 3, 2022 - English As A Second Language (ESL) Instructor in Berkeley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management from the top on down is friendly, welcoming, and supportive. They have created a wonderful work environment, keeping an uplifting and light mood as we teachers go through our busy day. There are many high tech systems and solutions and the staff is very patient in the learning process. Once you get the hang of it the "Smart Board" really is a great teaching tool. You are paid for all of your training time and lesson planning as well. They go out of their way to let you know you are appreciated. They truly are inclusive and it's a pleasure working with such a diverse and international staff. And, the cappuccino machine doesn't hurt!

    Cons

    The technical teaching tools and online administrative systems take some getting used to and my learning curve was very steep. There are so many layers, but there is a lot of helpful information to be mined.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Kaplan International and in particular for your review of our fantastic Berkeley, CA, school. I know from my own visit to the school recently that the team there is led by an outstanding management group, who provide a great day to day experience for staff and students alike. I'm also delighted to see that the tools, technology, and paid time we provide to help support our fantastic teachers is helping you to enjoy your role. I'd like to build on the appreciation already shown by your management team by adding my thanks, on behalf of the global management team, for all of your and your colleagues efforts in creating a phenomenal student experience. Thank you again Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Fun atmosphere with limited benefits

    May 9, 2022 - Accommodations Service Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun atmosphere and some great people

    Cons

    limited benefits, especially if you're part time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Kaplan International. I'm really pleased to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere and working alongside your colleagues. I also appreciate you taking the time to feedback on what we can be doing better and I will ensure the management team receive this feedback. Many thanks Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Company

    Apr 23, 2022 - English Instuctor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility (teach based on your availability) Freedom to use your own creativity and curriculum in the classroom Great students Encourages and supports diversity

    Cons

    Compensation (but has improved since COVID changed the market)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Kaplan International, and for your 9+ years of service with us! I'm delighted to see that you enjoy the flexibility and autonomy our teaching roles provide, underpinned by a great set of students, within a diverse and supportive environment. We will continue to work hard to review or reward and benefit plans, thank you for your feedback. Many thanks Alex Rutherford VP of HR

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A good company

    Apr 9, 2022 - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly people and easy going atmosphere

    Cons

    Long working hour and no overtime incentives

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Kaplan International Response

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working with Kaplan International. I'm really pleased to see that you are enjoying your role and the fantastic colleagues you work alongside in our New York school. I also appreciate you taking the time to feedback on what we can be doing better and I will ensure the management team receive this feedback. Many thanks Alex Rutherford VP of HR

Viewing 1 - 10 of 308 Reviews
</>Embed

Kaplan International Reviews FAQs

Kaplan International has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 358 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Kaplan International to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Kaplan International employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Kaplan International. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

67% of Kaplan International employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Kaplan International 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Kaplan International to be benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Kaplan International Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Kaplan International? Share Your Experiences

Kaplan International logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Kaplan International Photos

+ Add Photo
Kaplan International photo of: Our Kensington Village offices
Kaplan International photo of: Pancake Day at our London office

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Kaplan International Job Seekers Also Viewed

Kaplan Logo
Kaplan

3.4

2,293 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 358 Kaplan International reviews submitted anonymously by Kaplan International employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Kaplan International is right for you.