Kaplan University Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaplan University Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 503 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Betty Vandenbosch
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High pressure sales not appropriate for admissions advisor(in 23 reviews)

  • "Limited diversity in upper management(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Studrnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan University for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed learning environment, outstanding instructors

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of at this time.

    Kaplan University2018-03-26
  2. "Organization with lots of growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Financial Aid in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Focus on Growth and Development of employees.

    Cons

    Constantly changing company culture and department leadership

    Kaplan University2019-07-12
  3. "Not a supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan University part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free tuition was a huge perk!

    Cons

    Adjunct status... few full-time opportunities. Isolating remote work environment.

    Kaplan University2019-06-03
  4. "Kaplan is worried more about student reviews than anything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Instructor in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the students were amazing! Eager to learn and they were so helpful to eachothers needs as well. I really really loved my students.

    Cons

    Some of the students were completely catered. They were on student visas and would come check in and leave the classroom for the rest of the day and never come back. Kaplan was more worried about negative reviews than reiterating to students that they were on student visas... AND they would expect very thorough reviews on students every 6 weeks- some on students who may have only been in my classroom for a couple days—...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your teachers more and give them some more leeway on how to conduct the classroom. Also, pay them better! Compensate them more for their lesson planning and don’t try to be so intimidating when sitting in on their lesson plans.

    Kaplan University2019-02-15
  5. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Admissions Advisor 

      I worked at Kaplan University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great group of people to work with.

      Cons

      Ridiculous goals to meet

      Kaplan University2019-02-14
    • "Poor Communication"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Kaplan University for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great colleagues and flexibility to work from home

      Cons

      I never had less than a great review from my dean or assistant dean and had high marks on reviews from my students for 7 years. Then enrollment drops and they don't even explain why you cannot get a class --- ever. I finally found something else but communication after 7 years would be the classy thing to do. Also the live webinars every week HAD to be in the evening, which was a drag.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your adjuncts that have been there forever as more than disposable pieces of trash.

      Kaplan University2019-01-27
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kaplan University part-time

      Pros

      Pay was reasonable Help was there when you needed it Lots of support from department chair

      Cons

      hours and classes offered inconsistent

      Kaplan University2018-10-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "Unprofessional Work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Aid Officer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Kaplan University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The health benefits are great and they are somewhat flexible with scheduling. You can start as early as 6:30 AM if you prefer and sometimes management will buy lunch for the team.

      Cons

      Managers will yell in your face at meetings, even if you are sitting right next to them. People were afraid to ask questions after the first 3 meetings and I was there for a year. Managers play favorites and will threaten to fire employees at least once a week. There is a high turnover rate. Promotions happen because of this high turnover rate, not because someone is competent. They are now Purdue Global, maybe the people...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Talk to your employees as if they are humans. If you can't do the job yourself, you should not expect an untrained person to do it in your stead. It is unprofessional to ridicule and disrespect employees when there is a death in their family and cannot do overtime.

      Kaplan University2018-10-21
    • "Phase out of high priced Online Education"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kaplan University full-time

      Pros

      Constantly training you in areas that will increase your effectiveness and helpfulness to the students.

      Cons

      Need an improved business plan that matches the current online education climate

      Kaplan University2018-10-23
    • "Admissions Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL

      I worked at Kaplan University full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are not bad.

      Cons

      Stressful Environment at times with monthly expectations.

      Advice to Management

      Need more resources to ensure ALL advisors can be successful at their job. Some advisors are designated more resources than others to help them in being more successful at their job, in which seems to be a bit inequitable to others.

      Kaplan University2018-10-19
    Found 503 reviews