Kaplan "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaplan Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Kaplan Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Andrew S. Rosen (no image)
Andrew S. Rosen
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you're considering working for this company, don't sign a non-compete for part-time work(in 21 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management and lack of resources(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Instructor in New Brunswick, NJ

    I worked at Kaplan part-time

    Pros

    Great people; flexible; merit based pay resulted in a 120% raise in one year.

    Cons

    Too much turnover; managers frequently come and go

    Kaplan2019-04-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    -Great people -Very Supportive and can grow here

    Cons

    -Low pay -Benefits are not too great

    Kaplan2018-10-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The bones but no meat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    401k matching up to 2%, Pension, newly not-for-prfit representation of Purdue University Global, great people to work with

    Cons

    Inflexible with schedules unless you've earned the right with arbitrary scores. Limited job growth, very little opportunity for pay increases, no development of existing leaders to make them better.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your front-line leaders like people too, smaller leader-to-team ratio will give better results, create a plan for career advancement, put effort into really building a winning culture not just putting it on the wall, putting people-first will lead to happier students, not the other way around.

    Kaplan2018-10-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ops Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ops Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with great people. Transparent leadership. In most roles, you also get to work from home. Good community vibe.

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to market value. Health insurance is very costly and recently, the primary healthcare provider in my area was deemed "out of network". Very little upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to increase pay. Making the company a "great place to work" can only mask the low pay for so long.

    Kaplan2017-11-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Kaplan Test Prep Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, work from home (for some positions)

    Cons

    Salary is lower then industry standard, no loyalty, layoffs every year

    Kaplan2017-11-07
  6. "Pre-college test prep teacher/ tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-college Test Prep Teacher/Tutor 

    I have been working at Kaplan part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with! Everything is online, and it is set up well. If you like teaching and test prep material, you will really like it.

    Cons

    Depending on how far you are willing to travel, teaching assignments can be scarce. May not be an issue depending on what you are looking for. You can become involved with other projects and work at home sometimes.

    Kaplan2017-10-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Poor upper management and lack of resources

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Kaplan2017-10-17
  8. "Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    Great people, flexible schedule, can work from home

    Cons

    Low pay, not a lot of opportunities to move up

    Kaplan2016-09-15
  9. "From Student Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kaplan part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful company - very open and welcoming! Easy to work with great people.

    Cons

    My job as virtual - I would've preferred an in person job.

    Kaplan2016-06-28
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    A lot of layoffs occurred while I was there.

    Advice to Management

    Praise your staff A LOT!

    Kaplan2016-04-28
Found 36 reviews