Kaplan "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaplan Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Kaplan CEO Andrew S. Rosen (no image)
Andrew S. Rosen
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you're considering working for this company, don't sign a non-compete for part-time work(in 21 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management and lack of resources(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Summer Fun at Whittier College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Summer ESL Instructor in Whittier, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan for less than a year

    Pros

    You get manageable classes, great support, and terrific students. I liked the fact that they gave us a reasonable amount of freedom to choose what to teach while still laying out the scope of our lessons- they give enough materials for each week that you can pick what fits your students level and interests.

    Cons

    Although I loved it, I would have liked to be 'more involved' with the students while there- doing more than just sitting in the classroom with them. I'm sure not every teacher felt this way but I think it gives a better understanding both of the students and situation if teachers have not just class time with them. They were a great bunch of kids that were only here for a short time but half of them stayed in the... dorms and the other half were home-stay, so it takes up time to find out what they are doing in their free time everyday to help them practice conversational English. Also I would have liked a little more interaction between the different groups of students- there is only so much you can do during a class to get them to practice their English with people other than myself. Also since it's mainly just part time for summer- there are no benefits or long term positions- which really is sad. I taught ESL in China for 12 years and had wanted to continue when I returned to the US, but while summer classes were fairly regular- but when they asked me to continue during the normal courses they were unable to give me enough consistent hours to support myself. So other than a 'side' job there is no real future for it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to mix the students a little better outside of class so they don't group up and speak their native languages, get the teachers more involved in outside activities so that they get a chance to communicate in an unstructured way, and try to stay away from 'book' material during the summer lessons. Reading if a good way to learn- but during the summer program your goal isn't to teach- it's to inspire curiosity and... motivate students to love language. A program such as this should be student centered more than teacher centered.

    Show More
    Kaplan2016-11-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Re-Organizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher/Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The students are awesome. I feel useful.

    Cons

    The company is shifting from in-person classes to online classes. It makes sense to offer both, but they think 100% of their customers will eventually move online. There is already a group of online teachers, so in-person teachers are seeing our work hours cut. In August, a major re-shuffling of the managers will take place. My manager will move to a different team, and I will get a new manager. Many of our beloved... managers will be fired. If you're considering working for this company, don't sign a non-compete for part-time work! I am not getting enough hours, and I have no recourse.

    Show More
    Kaplan2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not the best experience for part time staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Westwood, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - classrooms are well-equipped - most students are pleasant - curriculum is pretty straight-forward, but some books have errors

    Cons

    - part time staff are treated like guests - no benefits for a year (this is a billion dollar company) - administrative staff aren't supportive - don't expect to be taken serious if you're a POC - HR is a joke - nepotism seems to be the norm ...basically you'd be better off getting a teaching job overseas.

    Advice to Management

    While mobility is possible, job security isn't. Nobody wants a promotion if they think they're going to get laid off in a year or so.

    Kaplan2018-08-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Neat Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ACT/SAT Tutor and Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kaplan part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work as a part time tutor/teacher and the position is flexible: you pick which job offers you want to take. Pay is decent for a part time job.

    Cons

    Sometimes there aren't any students or classes available.

    Kaplan2017-10-25
  5. "Overall, a Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan part-time

    Pros

    I was a part time SAT instructor -High quality curriculum provided -Lots of support from faculty manager, mentor, and veteran teachers -Good pay (started at $20/hr) -Opportunities to move up within the company -Free test prep class! -Flexible times -They will pay you more if your travel is excessive

    Cons

    -Hard to get a raise -Evaluated on teacher excellence rate only. Students rate teachers either poor, fair, good, or excellent, but the only positive rating is excellent. A teacher with 10 good ratings will be rated the same as a teacher with 10 poor ratings. -You rarely see your co-workers in person (could be a pro or a con depending on preference), just on video chat.

    Advice to Management

    Organize more in person meet-ups for teachers to hang out, share tips, etc.

    Kaplan2017-07-01
  6. "A place is a product of its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan

    Pros

    - Great flexibility - Possibility of working remotely - competitive wages

    Cons

    - some of the people in this organization are wasps - the company will try to keep people on part time or on contract to avoid paying full benefits

    Kaplan2016-10-10
  7. "KIC Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan part-time

    Pros

    They offer great flexibility and the international students are for the most part great. The class sizes are small and management. The academic management team is great.

    Cons

    Comparatively they offer a low starting salary and takes forever to get pay increases. There are often only a small number of hours available and a full time gig is virtually impossible for teaching. Finally, the part time benefits are not good.

    Advice to Management

    Try to offer more full time teaching positions as no one can survive working just a few hours per day. Moreover, the benefits package for part timers is non-existent and needs revision.

    Kaplan2016-10-08
  8. "Decent wages, too many antiquated online systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan

    Pros

    Great pay for a part time job. You have the option to choose which classes and tutoring students to take.

    Cons

    Sometimes classes are canceled last minute due to low enrollment. The online portals are super confusing and you will waste a lot of time trying to use them.

    Advice to Management

    Put together one good system for part time faculty to use.

    Kaplan2016-07-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "LSAT Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LSAT Instructor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kaplan part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have a very flexible work schedule. The managers usually give prompt responses. Not a lot of stress once you get familiar with the course you are teaching

    Cons

    not enough support for instructors-either training or as an instructor. Not consistent work if you only teach 1 subject and are part time.

    Advice to Management

    Need to have a more thorough training program and give instructors access to students' smart reports so we can give advice in accordance with smart reports.

    Kaplan2016-03-01
  10. "Has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vocational Nursing Instructor in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kaplan for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse working environments . Co workers are friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Poor fitting management. Poor management communication. Client, instructor relations are difficult. Company prefers to keep staff part time to avoid paying benefits. Budget is balanced on the backs of instructors. Work often will overcome personal time frequwntly.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your instructors. Take the instructor recommendations into consideration, Students are just that, students. Their opinions and comments should be considered but not taken at face value. The budget should not be balanced on the backs of instructors.

    Kaplan2015-09-12
Found 40 reviews