Kaplan "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaplan Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Kaplan Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Andrew S. Rosen (no image)
Andrew S. Rosen
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you're considering working for this company, don't sign a non-compete for part-time work(in 21 reviews)

  • "Full time is a lot of hours and very intense but worth all the effort(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A company that listens to its employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan

    Pros

    This company is great to work for. Very structured virtual setting, all nice colleagues, work/life balance. It is possible to speak directly to executive management team without anxiety.

    Cons

    Sometimes the transitions are tough and they fire many awesome people and it's pretty tough during those periods.

    Advice to Management

    Continue leading by the same principles, good job.

    Kaplan2015-08-04
  2. "Career Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    There is good work-life balance.

    Cons

    There are no real growth opportunities.

    Kaplan2018-10-30
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Stay away if you want to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life balance, the people there is very nice.

    Cons

    They don't care about employees, doesn't matter if you work hard or not at all, the end result is the same, you won't get any raise no matter how much you work and how many times you ask for it.

    Advice to Management

    Either pay attention to the very talented people you have there or expect everyone to leave. I'm honestly starting to think the whole purpose is to force people to leave on their own to avoid having to pay any severance. Really terrible in every way.

    Kaplan2018-03-04
  4. "ACCOMMODATIONS COORDINATOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accommodations Coordinator in New York, NY

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is Good work life balance

    Cons

    There is lack of communication

    Kaplan2017-11-04
  5. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time

    Pros

    Short Days, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Quality of Students- low quality, some not concerned with learning.

    Kaplan2017-06-01
  6. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Customer Service Representative in New York, NY

    I worked at Kaplan for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great co-workers very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    work-life balance not so good

    Kaplan2016-12-07
  7. "Decent to work for but major operational pitfalls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most people really care about you and what they do. Everyone believes in changing lives of our students. support work-life balance

    Cons

    Upper management is slow to help fix things.They expect you to use a workaround until you're screaming in frustration. They push Lean principles yet all the workaround expectations are contrary to this.

    Advice to Management

    Don't allow things to fall apart so much before you decide to fix it.

    Kaplan2016-11-04
  8. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Kaplan

    Pros

    Working in NY headquarters, there was a nice sense of work/life balance and a sense of fun. There was also a belief that we were leveling the playing field and helping people develop test taking skills as opposed to tricking the test.

    Cons

    With troubles at Kaplan U, there have been some financial ups and downs. It has been less stable than it was.

    Kaplan2016-09-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great co-workers but work -life balance needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaplan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, talented and hard working. It is great learning experience. One of the best managers I have ever had.

    Cons

    Work - life balance is tough. 55 hr work weeks the norm except for month-end, qtr end where it goes up to 70 hrs.

    Advice to Management

    Fix system issues and let your employees know that you value them. Do more than a mass email saying thank you.

    Kaplan2016-03-13
  10. "Many changes happening at Kaplan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cumming, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kaplan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people that work at Kaplan are great people to work with. Everyone is dedicated and works as a team. Another upside is that they are very fexible with working hours as it is located in Alpharetta so traffic can be tough for a commute.

    Cons

    The biggest downside of Kaplan is that they do not have a good work/life balance. They are very short staffed which causes a lot of extra workload for everyone. People are stretched very thin.

    Kaplan2016-01-26
Found 41 reviews