Karen Kane Reviews | Glassdoor

Karen Kane Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Lonnie Kane
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Conpany!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Karen Kane part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful managers, positive work environment! Flexibility!

    Cons

    Slightly lower pay than average, but completely worth it for the flexibility and positive work environment!

    Karen Kane2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (4)

    "HORRIBLE WORK ENVIRONMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vernon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Karen Kane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of one.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE. HUMAN RESOURCES, she is aware of the gossip, bullying, and discrimination. She can't do anything about it because she's part of the problem. DO NOT ACCEPT A JOB HERE! Turnover is high because of the toxicity in the entire company. People in the Production Dept call Customer Service The Circus because it's full of clowns and dummies

    Advice to Management

    Take classes on how to actually manage your department.

    Karen Kane2018-07-22
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Vernon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Karen Kane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and discount on the clothes at outlet store.

    Cons

    The most negative company culture I have ever experienced. -Inappropriate behavior from management. (Clips toenails while at their desk!) (makes childish remarks about other people) (bullies people in their own department as well as sabotage their diet and will consider it humorous) -Toxic behavior between managers; even experienced yelling at some point between managers. -The women are very rude, bitter, and speak...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be careful on how you proceed, there have been lawsuits before. Many can sue based on wrong treatment, stress...I myself developed a condition due to the stress of the negativity in this place.

    Karen Kane2018-07-18
  4. "A Pleasure to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Karen Kane full-time

    Pros

    Bi-coastal company, great hours, close family culture, company with strong ethics and morals in the fashion space, upper management always accessible.

    Cons

    No paid maternity leave, office gossip and politics were a little frustrating at times between the two coasts.

    Advice to Management

    More benefits for employees and maternity/family leave policies.

    Karen Kane2017-10-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Retail Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Business Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Karen Kane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free clothes if you like a 'mature' look. American company. Mileage & meals paid for when traveling. Contests with gift cards awarded.

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits, no internet on tablets, pay for travel out of pocket & 30+ days to be reimbursed, no office time given & a gps tracking device on personal phone

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example. Don't tell employees 'this is not a work from home company' when that's exactly what you're doing. And by working, I mean watching employees on the gps monitor.

    Karen Kane2017-07-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Karen Kane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company. Awesome director. Great perks like clothes and discounts. Great learning experience. All clothes are made on U.S. the company pays all their factory workers a really good wage.

    Cons

    I really have no cons. Other than maybe offering part time employees benefits. They may do that now. I really have no cons but this will not let me submit unless I 20 words so I am just trying to fill space. I absolutely love this company. If you get a chance to work for them go for it.

    Karen Kane2017-05-15
  7. "Store Co Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Manager in Camarillo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Karen Kane full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Beautiful clothing.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about company.

    Karen Kane2016-06-08
  8. "Very close-knit, warm company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Karen Kane full-time

    Pros

    I have worked at Karen Kane for several years and have had a very positive experience at the company. It is small enough that you feel like you know everyone, but big enough that it doesn't feel too cliquey. There is a lot of opportunity for people that are positive and motivated to get ahead, but if you expect to get promoted automatically, this is probably not the right company for you. I love how independent I get...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is not huge, so the opportunity to move up is limited. Certain departments are a bit more "old school" in their thought process, but overall the company has become much more progressive in recent years.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees' suggestions. It would be good to create more community-building programs to help departments meet each other more. Extend ice cream Fridays to all-year instead of summer only.

    Karen Kane2016-05-26
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Karen Kane full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    small, intimate company with great colleagues. very personal - you will get to know everyone

    Cons

    limited opportunities for advancement, smaller company may not be right for people who want a "corporate" atmosphere

    Karen Kane2016-04-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Karen Kane

      Pros

      Amazing place to work! the staff is very friendly and really cares about its employees.

      Cons

      not much room for advancement.

      Karen Kane2015-06-02
    Found 16 reviews