Kareo "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kareo Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kareo Founder & CEO Dan Rodrigues
Dan Rodrigues
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very competitive salary, good incentives, amazing work environment(in 16 reviews)

  • "Looking forward to taking part in the wellness program along with free yoga and boot camp(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Kareo is definitely going through its share of growing pains(in 10 reviews)

  • "I think upper management has taken a lot of steps in the past few months to address concerns listed in the previous reviews(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Blessed to have worked here a little over 6 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Business Development in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kareo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at a Kareo was an amazing experience. I definitely walked away with more than I walked in the door with. While at Kareo I had the opportunity to grow not only in my position but in knowledge. I started in the Customer Support team, moved over to the Business Development team, worked a short period in Sales and then back to the Business Development team as a lead. During my time there I always felt support not only from my immediate manager, Heather but from the entire management team. I feel fortunate to been able to survive and get through the growing phases of Kareo. I will always cherish the memories and be thankful to have worked at Kareo. I am excited to continue to see the company grow!

    Cons

    I personally don't have any cons. Kareo was a great company to work for. Sure there are growing pains however I feel Kareo tried their best to help get us through the pain.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2019-07-05

    Kareo Response

    July 18, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback! Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Kareo and that you felt supported by management. We are thankful for your time with us and wish you the best!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Product Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, product portfolio, work-life balance, professional growth opportunities, ability to work outside your swim lanes and be creative and have a voice

    Cons

    Growing pains, 1 bathroom to 300 employee ratio (this is the building's fault), no 401K match

    Continue reading
    Kareo2017-04-03
  3. Helpful (17)

    "The People are great. Growing pains in a competitive Job Market feel insulting as workforce gets gutted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo

    Pros

    I love the people I work with. It's the only reason I'm still here.

    Cons

    Company is going through "growing pains". We can't run a quality Medical Software/Service company, have good culture, attract talent, and be profitable at the same time. At least not with so many bad bets that haven't paid off. Many of us came here because of the people and the culture. But now company needs to become profitable so we can control our own destiny. Translation: Venture capital investment we scored is dried up, and investors are ready for a return. Understandable, except we've all been witness to several unsustainable moves made over the last few years, and are feeling the fall out of all of that more and more each day. Core workforce doesn't feel good about their work because of ineffective outsourcing across several departments. Those of us who are pros in our fields saw that a lot of these moves were short sighted as soon as they were implemented, making things even more insulting as we bear the burden. Even if we win the short game, and we become IPO, and maybe even get bought out by another company, we still have underserved customers and several outsourced workforces that can't seem to get it together. In fact, if we play hot potato with a new investor, whatever vision this company had will be gutted further in the name of return on investment. So, unless you have a stake in an IPO, there's literally no reason to stay. Find some place else where you can do work that you still feel good about, instead of walking in and out of the office every day feeling like you and all your colleagues are 6 feet under water. The solutions to all of the current problems are staring us in the face, we either don't have the guts, or the resources to do quality work any more. So we must fantasize about growing, and doing our customers right, while simultaneously reducing our staff to a skeleton crew. There are too many incompatible philosophies at play here.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2016-09-26
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kareo employs very sharp and motivated people. Most folks here genuinely care about helping our customers succeed as independent practices in a rapidly consolidating and complex healthcare system. As a product manager, I work very closely with the on-boarding, training, and support teams and feel like the folks on those teams care deeply about the customer experience and are always looking for ways to improve. I also work very closely with the product, design, and development teams consisting of high caliber individuals who think critically about the customer problems they're are trying to solve. I have learned a great deal about how to build good software and build the right experiences around the product from my colleagues. The executive team does a good job of listening to what employees think. We have regular surveys to provide feedback to our direct line of management. We also have regular company-wide surveys to provide feedback to our HR/Culture team. These surveys have led to some positive changes (e.g., new events) that foster the culture we are striving towards. As for other issues that have surfaced through these surveys (e.g., work-life balance, constant change/stress)...results are TBD.

    Cons

    Kareo is definitely going through its share of growing pains. We are now in 3 different software businesses and have rapidly grown in the managed billing services market as well. It's hard to do well with 4 lines of businesses across both software AND services, and to try to do it with fewer and fewer resources due to recent turnover and layoffs. We have a few executives who are extremely opinionated about what needs to be delivered and by when, instead of providing a clear and succinct company strategy with success measures, and then letting the smart people who work for them figure out HOW to get there. As a result, working here can sometimes be frustrating and even sometimes disempowering.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2016-06-09
  5. "Fun and Challening Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kareo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been more challenged in this job than any other I have had. It has pushed me to grow and learn new things, which has made me better at what I do. The team is great and collaborative.

    Cons

    While a company growing this fast has growing pains, the leadership takes fixing problems seriously and does their best to address issues as they come up.

    Kareo2016-02-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Advisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo

    Pros

    The people you work with become your second family. I have met people who have became my best friends. The office is clean and Kareo spoils the emoloyees within a buffet of coffee and drinks. Not to mention all the catering. Don't be surprised if you gain 20lbs working here. ;) management like Richae, Wendy and Robert Fostmier are what really keeps KMB going. These three individuals are so brilliant and work hard to make sure people feel heard. Robert is a "go getter", you tell him something needs to change and he hits the ground running and doesn't stop until he has a plan of action in the near future. Richae is AMAZING! This woman is how all managers should be. She gives constructive criticism, tells you when you are not performing well but provides you with the tools you need to succeed. Richae always give correct advise and has your back anytime you need her. Thank you Richae and Robert! :) Dan, these two deserve a shout out.

    Cons

    With any young company you will be hit with growing pains at one point. Unfortunately, these growing pains have caused a lot of people to leave (some really good people). Kareo is such a great company and can really be an excellent place to work; however, people feel extremely overwhelmed with work loads and quality of an accounts coming through the pipe line. Processes are rulled out when 90% ready. I feel that our customers deserve 100% so why are we changing processes and having our clients follow our instructions on a process that is only 90% complete. This is usually a disaster for advisor and success team as we are the face and one on one contact for these clients.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2016-02-04

    Kareo Response

    March 12, 2016CEO

    Every few months I see a review like this one that includes extremely helpful, very well written and highly actionable feedback. So thank you because it really means a lot that you took the time to share at this level. And I hope that you will continue to do this direct at dan@kareo.com. In 2004, we began (what we knew would be) a long campaign to make the lives of small, independent physicians (and their staff) easier through technology. To help them get paid faster, spend more time with patients and feel the satisfaction of running a successful small business. I care deeply about what we are doing and why we show up to work everyday – it has been a substantial part of my life for more than 12 years. And while I can’t respond to all of your comments here, please know that I read every word and appreciate the time you took to share this feedback. In terms of your feedback on the workload and your concerns about our ability to deliver service levels, this has to be addressed on a continuing basis and I believe it is a focus of our new management team members there and newly focused staff from HQ in support of them. Please keep customer care feedback coming and thanks for being their voice with me. In terms of your advice, thank you. I will look for specific opportunities to engage with or look for opportunities to tap in to the knowledge our “brilliant minds”. We did this recently with Alexandra when we flew her down to HQ when we had a customer in town for a visit. She was incredibly helpful!

    Continue reading
  7. "1 year later..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo

    Pros

    I have been with the company for a year now and the dust has settled. But I still feel like I am on my honeymoon. The people at Kareo are some of the smartest people I have every worked with and the level of enthusiasm and kindness is off the charts. I feel like I make a significant contribution to the organization most every day. I have worked for many companies in Orange County over the years and this is by far the best job I have ever had. I think Kareo has done a great job of creating a community where everyone has a voice or an outlet to express their thoughts and ideas.

    Cons

    There have been some growing pains in the past year, but I think that is typical for a company that is in hyper growth mode. Sometimes you have to stop, re-evaluate and then plot the course to move forward. This has been uncomfortable for some people as expected.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2015-08-13

    Kareo Response

    September 16, 2015CEO

    It’s great to hear about your experience here at Kareo after a year on the job. Thanks for taking the time to to share your feedback on Glassdoor and feel free to share more feedback anytime to me direct at dan@kareo.com. I read every e-mail and respond to each as well. Thanks also for your encouragement and comments on our need to adjust as we grow. This has come up before in other reviews and I think it’s an important topic to discuss here on Glassdoor. It’s one of the reasons we focus so much of our management time on maintaining and developing a positive culture here at Kareo. Success is a balance of managing growth objectives and delivering a great workplace to our teams.

    Continue reading
  8. "Meaningful work in an industry where many problems are not yet solved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company culture (positive, supportive, progressive, open, liberal) Work with uber smart, talented, and passionate co-workers Super cool progressive 50,000 sq. ft. office Strong compensation packages Equity in the company Stable "Start-up" Company paid lunches In office Yoga Lots of autonomy / no micromanagement Work for a company in which many of the top executives have helped companies achieve tremendous growth / strong and "in-touch" leadership Choice of MAC or PC

    Cons

    Fast pace isn't for everyone Occasional "pivoting" Typical growing pains you'd expect in a fast growing, product driven software company

    Continue reading
    Kareo2014-01-03
  9. "Energetic, customer focused company that believes in their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Advisor in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kareo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, highly-skilled individuals who are passionate about their work; believe in the product and want to create a customer successful product

    Cons

    Some minor growing pains because of expansion

    Kareo2014-01-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "This company is going places - but if you don't fit the mold, you won't be going with them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kareo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are top notch. Sales training is extensive and ongoing. Management has ethics, transparency and really cares for the business as well as the people. Company money seems to be spent wisely and the culture is better than most companies.

    Cons

    Because it's growing, there are growing pains; such as a plethora of technical tickets to tackle, so much work it can be overwhelming, not enough subject matter experts to help with some detailed billing questions. Not many females in management, especially the sales department. Seems if you're not a white male with a Type A personality, you won't be getting ahead.

    Continue reading
    Kareo2013-07-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews