Kaseya Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaseya Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Kaseya CEO Fred Voccola
Fred Voccola
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Getting rid of the old, welcome the new"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaseya full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic and brilliant engineers building a solid, technologically advanced product. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere where everyone knows your name and what you do. Most importantly and something I have come to admire is, leadership is not afraid to admit they were wrong and course-correct immediately. There were two Fridays in a row with layoffs but mostly necessary. "Old software" guard is not going to cut it... here anymore neither will the people that don't roll up their sleeves and do whatever it takes to make us successful, no matter what your title says. I'm happy with the changes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough people to do the job, especially in Marketing; we can't hire fast enough. Revamped sales team will need a lot of coaching to catch up.

    Advice to Management

    We need to keep on hiring brilliant team members like we have been doing lately. Keep listening to the feedback from employees and don't let go off the vision we have carved for ourselves.

    Kaseya2015-06-12
  2. Helpful (5)

    "The fake reviews are out in force"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Good people, below management level. They actually try to improve the software. Learn how to write fake 5* reviews on Glassdoor. If you just want to come in, pick a bug ticket off the board and pretend to work on it, never say a word (to avoid being noticed and fired) )while collecting a paycheck, this is a great job for you. Get to hear Sr. management talk bad about everyone else while promising... you are the only one they can trust. Good lessons in how not to run a software company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Dishonest management Extreme turnover Desperate attempts at outsourcing that increased turnover Cuts in benefits Company culture was destroyed by new management Old technology, buggy and insecure software No future plans (other than management to cash out). They buy companies to destroy them, while thinking outsourcing to eastern Europe is a good idea. Middle management (as seen in previous reviews) are... constantly hired to be scapegoated and fired for upper managements mistakes.

    Show More
    Kaseya2019-07-03
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Avoid this dead-end career wrecker!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Building is nice, Colleagues are amazing, though mostly because they understand how horrible it is and don’t want to make matters worse, Quiet because so many have left.

    Cons

    Management is absolutely clueless and has no idea how to manage a lemonade stand let alone a software company. They change the process every day, sometimes multiple times a day. If you enjoy renaming branches and jiras all day, then this is the place for you! The build servers are constantly overloaded and buggy to the point where it takes hours to build code that takes seconds on a laptop. The code baseline is... ancient and you will be working on random bugs for a poorly architectured product even though they sell you on a pipe-dream of amazing code and next-gen tech. You’ll be making changes to the functional equivalent of dreamweaver the code is so bad (and old!). You’ll be blamed constantly for giving large estimates that still aren’t enough because it takes two weeks to hunt down the tiniest bug. This company literally fired their QA and closed the positions. If that doesn’t tell you all you need to know about quality control, nothing will. They expect engineers to do 2-3 weeks of manual testing each month so you only even get to work on bugs and code for a week before the “sprint” is up. Last but not least, upper management will ask for your advice or opinions then turn around and either fire you or punish you when you disagree. If you work here, my advice is to kiss the ring and get a new job as soon as possible. The CTO is especially horrible - he acts like he cares but he can’t take a suggestion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to take suggestions from employees about how to improve your company - especially when you ask! Stop changing all of the people, processes, and procedures every day. Stop using 4 ways to communicate with employees. Give the vacation time back that you stole from all of the engineers. Stop outsourcing new development and leaving the boring tests and bugs for your stateside engineers. Enough is... enough! Learn how to code - most of your managers got there but can’t supervise coders because you can’t write code! You have no idea how long anything takes and don’t listen when we tell you about unreasonable deadlines. Honestly, this is the worst middle management of anywhere I’ve ever worked.

    Show More
    Kaseya2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kaseya for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting challenges to work on. Fun puzzles to solve. Smart colleagues.

    Cons

    At the time there was zero on-boarding, zero product introduction and a really strange office culture. They have since been acquired so its probably no longer the case.

    Kaseya2016-02-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sr Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have had a great experience working for Kaseya. The people are great and the team that I worked with was amazing. Friendly and relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Lots of changes in the management caused to loose a lot of great talents. New management fire 100s of people without thinking about the cost for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Valuate your employees and keep the founders company's vision.

    Kaseya2015-08-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with great engineers using the Latest technologies. Great company culture, family oriented. Management had a clear vission most of the time.

    Cons

    Fast pace environment. Learn on your own in a short term. Vacation needed to be requested weeks in advance.

    Kaseya2015-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, telecommute options, good benefits

    Cons

    Limited scope for development growth

    Advice to Management

    More communication is needed to all levels of company. More structure in the development process. Do not allow too many adhoc solutions to infiltrate the product

    Kaseya2013-10-16
  8. Helpful (7)

    "good riddance ..chaos and uncertainty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kaseya full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1.) flexible work timings 2.) relaxed dressing 3.) good work from home and leave policy 4.) sodexo coupons worth 1k /month.

    Cons

    1.) Nobody knows what going on leading to uncertainty and chaos and management doesn't share information with team . 2.) Huge trust deficit management proposes and promises new policies and then doesn't stick to it itself and does things which it says exactly wont do like " no more layoffs" 3.) myopic view of product and rolling to age old.net technology and pulling plug on state of... the art project and cutting edge technology work and wiping off a good portion whole team across US/INDIA overnight. 4.) There has been a series of "layoff" since august in US and India, the tech staff in India team is now down to single digits from 50, also a few employees who were shifted to US with long term plan a while have now back here. 5.) No lunch facility at work place, only a tiny breakout area. 5.) India center has now has hardly any tech related work left now only sales and support work is happening here on older products. + HR sucks

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of slowing killing the team , shut the reminding of Tech resource in India off, pull the band aid at once its easier for everyone.

    Kaseya2016-01-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the most dynamic and versatile companies I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaseya

    Pros

    Wow. I was reading some of the reviews of the prior posts and was quite amazed. Is this the same company I work for? I have been here several years and have had tremendous growth and mentoring. And, the management has given me all of the tools and opportunities to advance and do more than I imagined. Pros - Where do I start? Work/Home life balance, technical, fun, great leadership, visionary. Just look at the... Gartner Magic Quadrant Chart. Kaseya is actually in it for Visionaries! Pretty impressive!

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of people tend to complain way to much and Kaseya listens way too often. Writing this level of software can be technically challenging and not for your every day average developer. Not a place to work if you don't like technical challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Visit the different offices on a more frequent basis. Post more blogs on what it is we are doing, it's very exciting.

    Kaseya2012-01-28
Found 9 reviews