Kaspersky Lab Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaspersky Lab Reviews

Updated October 11, 2017
226 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kaspersky Lab Chairman and CEO Eugene Kaspersky
Eugene Kaspersky
158 Ratings

226 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Team and Interesting Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moscow (Russia)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moscow (Russia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab part-time

    Pros

    - interesting projects
    - awesome team
    - great conditions
    - all the basic processes are optimized

    Cons

    Haven't found any cons yet

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    May 3, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate it.
    Alena Reva


  2. "Just started working here and it's great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab part-time

    Pros

    -good values
    -the people strive to be their best and do their best for the company
    -the employees are taken care of
    -great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    -haven't seen any cons yet

    Advice to Management

    I haven't been here long, but i would say consistency is key

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Thank you for the feedback!

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab full-time

    Pros

    1. Great product
    2. Exceptional support and services team
    3. Fantastic/responsive IT department
    4. SOME incredibly talented and dedicated employees

    Cons

    1. Sales and HR executive management is weak (at best) - unqualified for roles they are in: poor communicators, out of touch with personnel, ineffective in addressing geopolitical issue, and ill equipped to set a strategy to get back to growth mode
    2. Promotions to undeserving individuals - someone being sold a bill of goods (popularity/perception contest, blame culture has helped the wrong people get promoted)
    3. Sales compensation plan is not competitive
    4. Revolving door with management, have lost several really good employees
    5. Organizational changes seem to happen every 6-9 months (especially in sales and VAR coverage) - inhibiting ability to build consistent relationships with customers and partners

    Advice to Management

    For NA: Hire a qualified sales executive team that has a proven track record of growing sales in NA within a highly competitive market for a channel-dedicated company.

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Sorry to hear that Kaspersky Lab didn't meet your expectations.
    Our company is in a unique business situation at the moment. I don't think a quick fix for it exists, but I'm optimistic that we will... More


  4. "Support Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaspersky Lab full-time

    Pros

    Consistent clean environment. If you keep your head down you can work there forever.

    Cons

    Room for growth was very limited.

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Hi there,
    If you're working in the Support department, there is a career matrix over there with clear direction on how to get promotion.
    Feel free to contact me for details.
    - Alena Reva


  5. Helpful (10)

    "The Titanic of Cybersecurity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Applications Developer in Woburn, MA
    Current Employee - Web Applications Developer in Woburn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the co-workers are nice, people higher up and HR, not so much, too arrogant.

    Cons

    Top heavy management, too many people with no talent calling the shots, not enough people actually "doing" anything.

    For a company that is supposed to be dealing with such high tech issues as cyber security, they have a very primitive technical setup, actually embarrassing.

    Russian culture compared to American culture is strange to say the least, it simply doesn't float here.

    Very much a kill or be killed mentality is required to survive, I have seen people thrown under the bus on many occasions for nothing, fear breeds fear.

    Very low pay compared to other companies in the same space.

    Advice to Management

    Try and not be so arrogant, try to actually follow a process and stick to it. This company is very much scapegoat culture, they need to get away from that.


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Will be gone within 5 years at this rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Woburn, MA
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Woburn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    1. Healthcare.
    2. Free tea and coffee but that's pretty much par for the course at most companies.
    3. An onsite gym if you can get a moment to actually use it is a different story.

    Cons

    1. If you wish to make about 20-25% LESS than at other companies for the same role then this could be the place for you!
    2. Work/Life balance is a joke, you'll find yourself working at nights and weekends because of awful management.
    3. You have to be in the clique to advance yourself in any way.
    4. Awful broken English from Russian colleagues - sometimes making simple jobs seem like a nightmare.
    5. Incompetent people seem to "fail upwards" whilst dedicated and skilled employees fall by the wayside - again the "clique" effect.
    6. Enjoy being underpaid whilst Eugene Kaspersky becomes a newly minted billionaire, globetrotting like a poor mans Richard Branson.
    7. It's a Russian company that is basically in the news every other week for the wrong reasons, just recently - even the department of homeland security has issued a guidance to "avoid the vendor"
    8. Progress is as slow as a glacier, example - company switched from Drupal CMS to Tridion, a process that took a mere 4 years.
    9. Extremely long and dull days, micromanaged to death on everything, creative thinking is not applauded.
    10. Revolving doors employment, I have seen good employees come and go whilst the driftwood seems to linger on.

    Advice to Management

    I have no words t help this disaster. Get your golden parachutes ready.

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Jun 27, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    First of all, thank you for caring so much about this company to bring this to the forefront. It must be tough for you to experience all of it and do your daily job with proper efficiency.
    Please... More


  7. "Changes for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woburn, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woburn, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Recent changes have created great opportunities for the hard working employees of NA Kaspersky Labs. It's a very exciting time to be part of the team.

    Cons

    Please continue to improve on the communication

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Feb 13, 2017 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Thank you so much for appreciating changes in company's strategy! We hope they will create new opportunities for career advancement for proactive and entrepreneurial people.

    Alena Reva,
    VP HR... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Life-work balance, benefits, nice co-workers

    Cons

    Nonexistent business strategy, poor communications across the organization

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Oct 6, 2016 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Thank you for 5 stars! I appreciate it.
    We actually have a business strategy, shoot me an email and I'll send you a link to a place on intranet where it has been published.
    However, it's a very... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woburn, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woburn, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    During my twenty five years of professional experience and having worked at three different companies, I can honestly say that Kaspersky is the best place I have ever worked at. The best benefits you’ll find anywhere at a low cost to employees, great people and atmosphere. lots of focus on employees, team building events, career development and internal communications. Strong focus on giving back to the community and charitable events. Flexible work environment , upper management always has an open door policy. Lots of teamwork and comradery between employees in different geographic locations. I consider myself lucky to work for such an outstanding company.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons. People here are great and flexible to accommodate employee needs.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you are doing. Anyone who would give Kaspersky a poor survey probably hasn’t had the opportunity to work at other companies and to see what it is like to work there and know how lucky they are to be part of this company.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kaspersky Lab part-time

    Pros

    The people who work at Kaspersky are some of the nicest people I've ever met. Managers have a great relationship with their employees. The office is hugely collaborative. Plus, there are bagels every Friday.

    Cons

    Communication between departments could be better. It's not always easy to get questions answered because most of the upper management is based in Russia.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing as long as it's working. Processes don't need to change if they work well.

    Kaspersky Lab Response

    Sep 18, 2016 – Head of HR NA (VP)

    Hello,
    Thank you so much for your review!
    We're launching a cross-cultural awareness program in Q4 to help cross-cultural communication and collaboration between all folks from more than... More


Showing 226 of 237 reviews
Reset Filters