Kate Spade New York Reviews | Glassdoor

Kate Spade New York Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Kate Spade New York President and Chief Executive Officer Anna Bakst
Anna Bakst
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My team is very business oriented and my store manager does not fail to make everyone feel appreciated.

    Cons

    Corporate does not lend enough hours.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-03
  2. "Amazing!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive community along with the ability to be creative

    Cons

    New York is extremely expensive to live in

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-26
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Wonderful People, Great Perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Muse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong trust and communication with management

    Cons

    Don't take this opportunity if you aren't willing to put in the effort to meet your goals

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-18
  5. "Great company, management can be iffy, and plays favorites."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic discount and compensations. Great experience for event coordination, operations, and visual merchandising.

    Cons

    Management can be very degrading.

    Advice to Management

    Communication.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-09
  6. "Decent Place to work long hours on feet!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Auburn Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employees high energy 75% off one item every quarter, great discounts great wardrobing cute items

    Cons

    fast paced long hours cleaning after 10-12 hour shift inventory and floorsets

    Advice to Management

    Hire good managers that don't hate their lives and make their employees suffer.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-18
  7. "Kate Spade review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time

    Pros

    Great step into the luxury industry

    Cons

    Managment doesn't always see eye to eye

    Kate Spade New York2019-12-19
  8. "Worse than High School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate discount; pockets of genuine, inspiring people

    Cons

    - Extremely cliquish - Blatant favoritism in considering who gets promoted - Incompetent senior management too self important to listen to their employees and leverage their strengths to work as a TEAM in growing the company

    Advice to Management

    Hire, grow, and promote people who contribute positively to the good of the company; not to your personal agenda.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-23
  9. "Not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wardrobe, friendly environment, knowledge growth on retail

    Cons

    They let customers get away with anything, Poor communication, no work balance at all.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-01
  10. "Can't wait to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous employee discount Wardrobing program Discount with Coach and Stuart Weitzman

    Cons

    Toxic environment Lots of favoritism shown from management Unethical Drama every single shift No room for growth

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-21
  11. "So many lessons learned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team was the only pro to working here.

    Cons

    Oh let me count the ways. -was asked to travel to various stores on the eastern seaboard, and by asked I mean it was demanded of me with promises of promotion that never came. I was driving 3 hours EACH WAY for one store, working 9 hours, and then had to drive back the next day. and they refused to put me up in a hotel. Citing it wasn’t far enough. 2) was constantly told my hair was “unkempt” it I didn’t get it keratin treated because I’m native and my hair is difficult when not braided. Had district leaders insist I dye, cut, and even burn my hair to a crisp with heated tools 3) no work life balance. They’ll ask the world of you and give you nothing in return. My grandma died and my store leader refused me bereavement— I had to go above her to HR. And the entire time I was gone? The rest of my management team was blowing Up my phone to let me know how short staffed they were. I had a day off to finish my SENIOR THESIS and they made me come in and write it on the sales floor because someone called out. They used to try to make me skip class and I had to fight to attend my own graduation. People. Have. Lives. 4) constantly changing expectations. Give them what they want? Sorry not enough, they want more. At one point I had keys to five different stores. I was an Ops manager who ended up being at my own store MAYBE one day a week— they had the audacity to give me a not on target performance review because “while I’ve displayed operational excellence in the stores I’ve helped rebuild, I’ve fallen behind at my home store”. Again. One day a week. They’re impossible to please. I could write you a whole list of reasons not to work here, but I’ll spare you some of the darker details of my time with kate spade New York. Stay away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Appreciate your employees, pay your managers MORE THAN YOUR SALES LEADS, promote internally, express gratitude, and let people have lives.

    Kate Spade New York2020-01-17
Found 883 reviews