Kate Spade New York Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Kate Spade New York CEO Liz Fraser
Liz Fraser
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, fun people to work with, flexible scheduling(in 154 reviews)

  • "Employee discount, great people, fun environment(in 106 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor upper management, took credit for other managers work, lack of communication(in 40 reviews)

  • "sometimes hard work/life balance(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Kate Spade New York and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great job!

      Oct 8, 2020 - Sales Associate in Aurora, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best jobs I ever had. Taught me a lot about sales and how successful you can truly be.

      Cons

      Not the best pay. Somewhat of a dress code but it is not hard to follow.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall great work environment

      May 4, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Cypress, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible with working schedules - Management is very nice and has an open-door policy

      Cons

      - Not a place for people seeking to climb up the ladder

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good first job!

      May 3, 2021 - Lead Sales Associate in San Ysidro, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for a first-time job! I definitely feel like I was spoiled; for starters, our breaks/lunches were 15 min/1 hours compared to other stores in our mall with 10/30min. Every so often we did receive 2 pieces of kate spade ready-to-wear (we only covered tax and it was taken out of our paycheck). Great discount! 70% off outlet, 50% regular store, plus every quarter you could get a handbag for 50% + 50% off.

      Cons

      Overnight shifts to introduce new merchandise/change store layout were rough. Very physically demanding; at my store, closers had to carry sometimes up to 200 boxes from backstock to the front of the store so it could be opened up by our stockroom employees at 6am. Some issues with management that were only resolved after numerous complains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall a good Company

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive Genuine Culture, There's a lot of ways to build relationships even with work from home employees. Lots of clubs, resources, and activities to grow professionally and personally. Overall the management and HR cares about employees as much as they can without affecting profits.

      Cons

      With Covid- KSNY had to lay off a lot of ppl and it added those responsibilities to the ppl who remain on board.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great Work Environment but not a living wage

      Apr 21, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Pottstown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really cares about it's employees. Everyone is friendly and kind, it is a warm and welcoming work environment. Feels like home.

      Cons

      Tapestry gives hour and wage caps. This means, unless you are a supervisor or manager, you are not going to make a living wage. It's great if you are young and looking to start your savings, just need a second job, or are someone in a situation where you don't need a lot of money. But if you are looking to pay your bills, this is unfortunately not going to be the job for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Interview was a joke, I will not be working here!!!

      May 12, 2021 - Sales Associate in Rehoboth Beach, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I didn’t see any pros when I went in for my interview

      Cons

      Went in for the interview with high expectations until I met the management staff who knew absolutely nothing about the business the interview questions were so basic it was so disappointing I will be looking elsewhere for employment. Store manager was not welcoming or friendly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      pt sales

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun, employee benefit, friendly people

      Cons

      no phone, over night during floor set up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Kate spade

      May 4, 2021 - Retail Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun, flexible schedule, and overall great work environment

      Cons

      not many staff members, too many members on management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      My Favorite Job Ever, But Kind of Low Pay and Little Hours

      Nov 10, 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at the Kate Spade North Outlet location in Las Vegas while I was in college, and out of the several retail jobs I've worked, this was hands-down my favorite. The work environment was incredibly fun and positive, the managers were fantastic, friendly, and were great with scheduling, and the overall vibe was just very chill. I became friends with most of my coworkers immediately, and I still go out with them even almost a year after leaving. The work itself is very easy. Just be friendly and professional with your customers, learn as much as you can about the products, and practice your salesmanship and you will do great.

      Cons

      The pay was lower than in other retail stores in Las Vegas. When I first got hired, I really had to negotiate with management to raise my hourly rate since I was being paid more at my previous jobs. However, if you're fluent in Mandarin, Cantonese, or Tagalog they will offer you a much higher pay rate than someone who only speaks English. Also, when I was there, they implemented a new policy that part-time associates can only work 19 hours per week. I don't know if they've changed this policy since then, but either way, don't expect to make a living from only working at Kate Spade. It's a great part-time job if you're a college student.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      May 3, 2021 - Senior Muse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming environment and place to grow

      Cons

      No cons-work life balance is great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,187 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kate Spade New York Job Seekers

    Assistant Store Leader
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kate Spade New York? Share Your Experiences

    or