Kate Spade New York "great discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Kate Spade New York Employee Reviews about "great discount"

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Kate Spade New York CEO Anna Bakst
Anna Bakst
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fair Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts and fair wage

    Cons

    Management can be disorganized

    Kate Spade New York2019-06-05
  2. "Major Culture Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros are that the discount is great and free clothing item once a month.

    Cons

    I started working at Kate before the last holiday season. I was extremely excited about the prospect of building a career with Kate Spade. However, the honeymoon phase was over fast. I was hired into a store with high turnover which I was unaware of when starting the position. I was given one day of training and then put to work on the sales floor. I essentially had to teach myself all the competencies, try to... understand the policies, and rebuild a store essentially on my own. Even with this, I had a positive outlook with the higher ups assuring me it was only temporary. The girls were great and I enjoyed reshaping the store culture and selling behaviors. With that being said the lack of support was astounding in the district. By the end of the holiday season, I was the only manager left standing and was given basically no credit for turning around a store that was falling apart upon my hire (nor was I compensated for it). Flash forward to now they have started to try to get the company back up and running since they have recently become a part of Tapestry. It's really a shame that they can not see how far gone the stores truly are. All the management feels unappreciated and undervalued and the lack of support continues to show in the high rates of turnover. Another huge issue I had was that I told them about a week of PTO I was going to take after the holiday was over ( I told them the week of my hire) and when it came around to the dates they tried to tell me no that they needed me for a slew of reasons. Absolutely no work life balance.

    Show More
    Kate Spade New York2019-10-05
  3. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount Wardrobing Growth potential

    Cons

    Inconsistent communication and expectations Lack of support for stores Poor work life balance. Required to work every holiday

    Kate Spade New York2019-08-30
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the perks of working there. Great employee discount and quarterly wardrobing.

    Cons

    None other than I spent too much working there

    Kate Spade New York2019-07-12
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So much fun, great discount!

    Cons

    Work/life balance, but doable!

    Kate Spade New York2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons (Student perspective!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Waipahu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee discount is great! - Management is nice and personable

    Cons

    - System needs to be updated. The system gave us so much trouble when I worked there. - Management is pretty disorganized - Had a weird "on-call" system when I worked there that was not very efficient - Overstaffed so getting a lot of hours was rare

    Kate Spade New York2019-06-06
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Wrentham, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount is great. The managers also made team meetings fun and gave you incentives and prizes.

    Cons

    No cons in terms of the company itself.

    Kate Spade New York2019-05-13
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Folsom, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great discount Discount also can be used at Coach and Stewart Weitzman

    Cons

    Hours are dependent on sales

    Kate Spade New York2019-03-27
  9. "Be Aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New Clothes, Great Discount on full priced items and outlet items

    Cons

    lack of training in regards to operations/boh, muses stealing sales, unrealistic goals/expectations as far as making store goals, lots of favoritism , experience some racism from other employees, gossip is a major issue, major pressure from management to buy clothes constantly, mobile devices constantly having issues, upper management likes to create more work even though there is plenty to do in store upper... management encourages a catty , cut throat atmosphere between the staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff especially upper management on how to train new employees. Improve your software system .

    Kate Spade New York2019-04-05
  10. "I worked at Kate Spade for over a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wrentham, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great company, great discount, great people

    Cons

    you have to sell things to people who might not want to buy

    Kate Spade New York2019-02-24
Found 142 reviews