Kate Spade New York "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kate Spade New York Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Kate Spade New York President and Chief Executive Officer Anna Bakst
Anna Bakst
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Eager to train you Very friendly Very understanding Great management

    Cons

    sometimes hard work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Kate Spade New York2019-09-19
  2. "Ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time

    Pros

    Discounts Paid time off Benefits Transfer options Apparel That’s about it.

    Cons

    A lot... no work life balance. Open 7 days a week until 11pm (even Sundays). On thanks giving open from 9am-12am Black Friday, So 39 hours straight. Pto consistently denied because of black out dates + black out dates by DM

    Advice to Management

    Please give us work life balance. We do a lot and love the brand

    Kate Spade New York2019-11-17
  3. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Jeffersonville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, somewhat fair pay,

    Cons

    Over worked, poor work/life balance

    Kate Spade New York2019-11-02
  4. "Not a place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with can be great. Wearing fun clothes, wardrobing pieces, discount

    Cons

    Absolutely no work-life balance. Always hire externally. No value or appreciation is shown towards current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly just do better.

    Kate Spade New York2019-11-05
  5. "Major Culture Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros are that the discount is great and free clothing item once a month.

    Cons

    I started working at Kate before the last holiday season. I was extremely excited about the prospect of building a career with Kate Spade. However, the honeymoon phase was over fast. I was hired into a store with high turnover which I was unaware of when starting the position. I was given one day of training and then put to work on the sales floor. I essentially had to teach myself all the competencies, try to... understand the policies, and rebuild a store essentially on my own. Even with this, I had a positive outlook with the higher ups assuring me it was only temporary. The girls were great and I enjoyed reshaping the store culture and selling behaviors. With that being said the lack of support was astounding in the district. By the end of the holiday season, I was the only manager left standing and was given basically no credit for turning around a store that was falling apart upon my hire (nor was I compensated for it). Flash forward to now they have started to try to get the company back up and running since they have recently become a part of Tapestry. It's really a shame that they can not see how far gone the stores truly are. All the management feels unappreciated and undervalued and the lack of support continues to show in the high rates of turnover. Another huge issue I had was that I told them about a week of PTO I was going to take after the holiday was over ( I told them the week of my hire) and when it came around to the dates they tried to tell me no that they needed me for a slew of reasons. Absolutely no work life balance.

    Show More
    Kate Spade New York2019-10-05
  6. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount Wardrobing Growth potential

    Cons

    Inconsistent communication and expectations Lack of support for stores Poor work life balance. Required to work every holiday

    Kate Spade New York2019-08-30
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So much fun, great discount!

    Cons

    Work/life balance, but doable!

    Kate Spade New York2019-06-07
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Worked to Death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The brand vision is very inspiring every season

    Cons

    The creative teams are extremely overworked, under acknowledged, and taken advantage of from every division at every level. Nothing is ever good enough, people are no empowered to make decisions or do their job, and there is absolutely no work life balance (or the realization that there should be one). The company has taken a very superficial stance on mental health following Kate Spade's suicide but offering... 'mental health' seminars where you can go to mediate, etc. However, very few people can actually attend these due to workload and meetings.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empower and appreciate your employees who put in the hard work to make you successful. Take physical and mental health of your employees seriously not but instituting superficial tactics, but by fixing core issues within the calendar and processes of the company that truly causes these dangerous side effects.

    Kate Spade New York2019-04-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "My worst nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kate Spade New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive peers help me through a very difficult time

    Cons

    DM management style was to make you feel like a failure, and intimidation. No work life balance!! Lack of training The worse work environment I’ve ever experienced in my 20 year career

    Advice to Management

    Why do you think her district has high turn over? Training... training!!! Don’t cut the training because you need to fill a postion. Keep your promises.

    Kate Spade New York2019-04-02
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kate Spade New York part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks, discounts, work life balance

    Cons

    Low Pay, not many opportunities

    Kate Spade New York2019-02-18
Found 51 reviews