Kayako "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kayako Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jul 3, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Kayako CEO Andy Tryba  (no image)
Andy Tryba
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility to work from home if required(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "I accumulated huge amounts of knowledge through this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time

    Pros

    * Friendly/Mentor CEO * Open communication. * Flexible timings. Flexibility to work from home if required. * Food, outings * Mac machines * Deployment is well guarded by test cases at different levels.

    Cons

    * You can make or break yourself. If you're just working like everyday programmer and fear to take up challenges or make mistakes then you may feel like rotting. * Process can slow you down until you get used to them. But in the end you will find an improved programmer in you.

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-07-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good for software engineers to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Unlimited paid time off - Unlimited work from home - High quality Macbooks - Use of latest technologies and tools - CEO is superb in interaction and knowledge as well, interact directly with developers and has extreme interest in latest technology - Stickness to high quality code and dev tools - Knowledge of fully matured Saas product - Timely outings - Comptetive salaries - Free meals

    Cons

    - Not as such, but their stickness to high code quality may irk you little bit if you don't like to follow code standards.

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-06-20
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with Kayako for around 6 years and it was a great journey. I absolutely loved working there! They really know how to keep a great work life balance and treat their employees really well! I think most of IT company need quantity work, but in this company always need quality work and it’s can help for growth and learn. The CEO is highly Loveable and Motivated which brings lot of positive energy in the team. Great Work culture, Best of talented colleagues, Flexible working hours, sponsored meals, unlimited PTO, unlimited work from home, amazing benefits, competitive pay, collaborative work environment, supportive management. I always felt as a company family member not an employee. If you want to work on challenging and interesting things, then Kayako is the best place for you. Working in Kayako is way interesting than working in other places. You will find a lot of freedom and a great work culture. The culture is full of great people who bring lots of energy to the floor. Great product and decent office perks. They make sure that you are equipped with required thing. Management genuinely cares about the advancement of it's employees. You have full flexibility to work on new technologies like EmberJS and NodeJS. Great mentors in the company to give a proper guidance in career progression. Here are some key benefits I would like to mention. Work freedom Unlimited Paid Time Off Unlimited Work From Home Very good salaries Amazing benefits, competitive pay, collaborative work environment, supportive management Last but not least, free meals. You don't need to carry your boring lunch box with you :) At the end, I would like to say Thanks to Kayako for helping me to grow professionally.

    Cons

    There aren't any I can think of !

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-06-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company really encourages team work & collaboration. It invites new ideas and wants you to challenge the status quo. You are encouraged to innovate and follow your ideas through. You get to work with smart people, so you learn something new almost everyday. Some additional benefits: - Free breakfast/lunch/dinner (if you stay late) - Work from home (as many as you want) - Macbooks & Apple Thunderbolts for everyone - Use of latest technologies & tools - You get to learn writing high quality code for the product. - No cabin culture. CEO will sit beside you and will code along with you.

    Cons

    As of now i didn't find any.

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Learn & Earn with Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment. There is a lot of space to learn, have fun, work and feel dedicated towards work. Work life balance is great with work from home option. CEO is superb in interaction and knowledge as well, interact directly with every team and does detailed knowledge sharing

    Cons

    None that spring to mind

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-06-22
  7. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako

    Pros

    - Free (unhealthy) meals - some refreshments - work from home

    Cons

    - Short sighted management - the CEO is a drop out and he thinks and acts like one - no real value offered in the product - trying to ape anything and everything fancy in the market/ industry - aimless product development devoid of a vision - blind to the shortcomings of the product and blames the sales team - if people question the status quo - they are fired. - they insult employees, practice favouritism - your achievements are not celebrated

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-06-16

    Kayako Response

    June 19, 2017Co-founder

    I'm sorry that you are upset we let you go, and I am also sorry we had to take a step like that. But I hope you trust that as founders we took the best decision for the company and the team. Thank you for providing your feedback - Jamie, Co-founder

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Some things are very messed up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako

    Pros

    Free food, few of the best engineers in india, homely office, good starting compensation, Awesome office location, work from home.

    Cons

    All the above pros go down the drain because they missed on some core cultural values. Well where to start :- - You will work tirelessly for years only to hear that you have skill problems, in your appraisal meeting. Which apparently they didn't saw for 3-4 years. - One fine day, half of the company will be gone(fired), which doesn't even shock anyone anymore. - You will never feel respected for what you do. - Unnecessary pressure is built up. - Then of course their are some favourites, who will get the royal treatment, while others get scolded. - They usually scold people who left them on the floor for bad code and stuff, which might be true or false, but that sounds really bad and gives a negative character of the company.

    Continue reading
    Kayako2017-05-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Best company In my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Jalandhar, Punjab
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kayako full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Talented colleagues 2. Friendly management 3. You are part of the entire process and system and not just a small fish in a big pond. 4. Transparent process 5. A good sense of responsibility and humour in team members, leads, managers and directors 6. No work pressure 7. Work from home 8. CEO work as leader not like a Boss.

    Cons

    The only drawback I see is that things take a little longer to materialize in your favour but the management listens to you, compose you and do take care of you in the end

    Continue reading
    Kayako2016-12-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Sadly there is no option for 0.5 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kayako full-time

    Pros

    The company introduced concepts like work from home, unlimited leave policy etc. Only to actually blame employees who took it!

    Cons

    The CEO has no idea what is going in his company. He is willing to blame everyone and everything but the crappy product he has made for his failures. The concept of 'job security' is a joke! They have done mass firings 2 times in the last 2 years! Nothing more to be said there

    Continue reading
    Kayako2016-11-22

    Kayako Response

    December 19, 2016Co-founder

    Howdy. I'm sorry that you are upset with the company changes we made recently. As I'm sure you know, we follow Open Book Management at Kayako, and have been fully transparent with the changes and the reason for the changes with the team, and we are all confident that it was the right course of action. It is always a crappy experience to let people go and is the worse part of our jobs. We don't find fun in it and it is certainly not part of our plan: we do not spend days of our lives recruiting, hiring and onboarding people in order to let them go. Recently, we let a number of people go for a variety of reasons, which being emphatic to those individuals I won't go into detail here. I presume you are included in this, and if you have questions - or even want just want to rant - we're happy to meet with you to discuss. I know you are upset, and I would be too. As founders, we believe our sole duty to everyone has committed their time and faith to Kayako is to provide them with everything they need to execute on our huge opportunity. And the main ingredient to that is the opportunity to work with lots of brilliant people aligned to our values and vision. We had this in mind when we made this decision, and the team stands by it. Best wishes and best of luck - please let me know if there is anything we can do to help make this less difficult for you. - Jamie

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewals and Customer Service Representative in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kayako full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open leave policy Helpful teammates Friendly environment Cooperative people Work from home policy

    Cons

    Limited growth path Not many cons

    Continue reading
    Kayako2016-08-29
Found 11 reviews