Keg Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor

Keg Restaurants Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 334 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Keg Restaurants CEO David Aisenstat
David Aisenstat
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, very flexible schedule(in 21 reviews)

  • "great staff parties/events open to everyone a the restaurant (19(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours, just like any other restaurant(in 12 reviews)

  • "Some very late nights and high standards(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere, for the most part professional compared to other restaurants I've worked at. But the big one.... THE MONEY, tips were amazing!

    Cons

    Staff is a little clicky, I felt I did not fit in, main reason I quit

    Keg Restaurants2019-06-05
  2. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server in Irving, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      works well with schedule. especially for college students.

      Cons

      Sometimes management is hard to deal with. I get the impression they don't care much how long you have worked for them. you can be there for 5 years or more and it doesn't matter to them they treat people the same even if they have been there for only a few months.

      Keg Restaurants2019-04-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company, amazing people!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar Server in Gilbert, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The Keg is an amazing place to work. Whether you want a full time job or are a part time student, the company works with you. I have had very skilled and real managers. I haven't ever worked for a company before that supports the employees as much. From the flexible hours to the staff discount.

      Cons

      The job is stressful but compensation is worth it. The restaurant doesn't open until 4 so morning jobs aren't possible.

      Advice to Management

      Currently my GM Howie is beyond understanding however expects for his employees to work hard. I have no words besides keep it up!

      Keg Restaurants2018-12-12

      Keg Restaurants Response

      January 7, 2019Corporate Training Manager

      Thanks for leaving such a great review! We're so happy you enjoy your work environment! I've passed this along to your GM and management team so they can see the impact they're making.

    • "3.5/5 Steakhouse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Waiter in Tempe, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Team environment, small sections, easy money

      Cons

      2-week training period, corporate standards, days off are rare

      Keg Restaurants2018-09-10
    • "Great part time job for school."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Food Server in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun atmosphere. Young coworkers. Quick cash in your pocket every night from tips. Serving and bar tending is great. Would not consider working full time as a manager though. For serving jobs, easy $20-40 an hour.

      Cons

      Poor management. Bad management moral. Overworked management. Would never consider a career with the company.

      Advice to Management

      Hire on another manager or two. The overworked 5 managers at my location were putting in 50+ hours a week and they looked miserable. It really showed in their work. The corporate office needs to take a fraction of a profit point out of their bottom line to make this happen. It’s ridiculous. Our store did over $3.5M in sales per year. I know a another $55k / year manager isn’t going to break the business model...

      Keg Restaurants2018-08-22
    • "Hostess. Not terrible but it’s not a secret they hire based on looks for certain positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Oro Valley, AZ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Keg Restaurants part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Higher end so you get decent tips

      Cons

      Hostess has to wear heels and you’re on your feet for many hours and old guys gawk because of the dresses they make you buy to wear to work.

      Advice to Management

      Let hostesses wear flats

      Keg Restaurants2018-07-27

      Keg Restaurants Response

      August 13, 2018Director, Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. Please feel free to reach out to humanresources@kegrestaurants.com about your time with The Keg. Our dress code includes a 1/2 inch heel black leather shoe with non-slip sole for male and female staff. That is the height ...

      Show More
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Arlington, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with. Great environment.

      Cons

      I really don't have any cons.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up

      Keg Restaurants2018-02-21

      Keg Restaurants Response

      February 28, 2018Corporate Training Manager

      Thanks for the great review!

    • "Best company ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Arlington, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture. Love the Atmosphere Good clientele Approachable management

      Cons

      Hours can be a little rough, but thats just the nature of the job.

      Advice to Management

      Keep being open and honest

      Keg Restaurants2018-01-27

      Keg Restaurants Response

      February 5, 2018Corporate Training Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review!! We're glad you're enjoying working with us and are sure that your managers enjoy having you on their team.

    • "Sometimes good, sometimes terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server in Golden, CO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great pay, staff is like family at the Colorado Mills location. GM was wonderful and very understanding. They had a lot of company social events which were great and made the job interesting! Also, James was one of the best managers I’ve ever worked for!

      Cons

      Male servers and sometimes managers get away with harassing the female coworkers. New management was terrible and made me extremely uncomfortable in my work environment - had to walk on eggshells in order to stay on said managers “good side.” Favoritism can definitely play a role. It was very hard to move up from a certain position. Making servers into managers isn’t the best decision in the world - especially when they...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I truly believe you need to show more respect towards your staff members. It was apparent that new managers went on power trips and lost respect from your coworkers. Be more approachable. Have more faith in your employees - we really are trying our best.

      Keg Restaurants2018-02-09

      Keg Restaurants Response

      February 28, 2018Corporate Training Manager

      Thanks for leaving a review. We have a zero tolerance policy for any type of harassment. Please contact us as humanresources@kegrestaurants.com and give us an opportunity to address these concerns. All information can be kept confidential but we hope to speak to you in order to ensure ...

      Show More
    • "Amazing staff, Management is excellent professional and willing to help out anyone in need."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Back of House 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Keg Restaurants part-time

      Pros

      High pay rate, Great hours available, constant promotions available and great vibes and attitudes from all employees and management.

      Cons

      need to be able to handle extreme high stress environment and have exceptional attention to detail as well as being able to maintain a fast pace.

      Advice to Management

      nothing at all. Management is wonderful, friendly and helpful.

      Keg Restaurants2017-11-08

      Keg Restaurants Response

      December 6, 2017Manager, Talent & Compliance

      Wow - thank you!

    Found 334 reviews