Keilhauer Reviews | Glassdoor

Keilhauer Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Keilhauer CEO Mike Keilhauer (no image)
Mike Keilhauer
9 Ratings
  1. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keilhauer for less than a year

    Pros

    Great tight-knit company to work for. Management prvides students with many responsibilities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Better communication throughout the different groups within the business.

    Keilhauer2019-03-13
  2. "Good place to work, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Balanced work life, respectful management, good benefits etc

    Cons

    Work culture, Mid-manager politics, Egos

    Advice to Management

    Get away from positional politics and try to work towards a common goals

    Keilhauer2018-05-22
  3. "Amazing opportunities and truly love what I do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit and Collections Supervisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a great environment and has some wonderful owners. This is a family run business and everyone is treated as such.

    Cons

    This company gives all the opportunities and advances as they can. There are really no cons to say about this company.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Keilhauer2018-02-24
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of communication and trust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I leave my desk, it is either for going to the washroom or grabbing a coffee from the kitchen. When I do, I realize there are some amazing people I come across that do not have a chance to talk to, let alone work with. If you are too busy to have the chance to stop and have a quick small talk with fellow co-workers, at least say hi to everyone you pass by- This includes the production workers. They may not... have an office job like the other co-workers, but they are people too!

    Show More

    Cons

    I have come to a realization overtime that there is a lack of communication, both within departments and between departments. I do not know if it is a trust issue, or a power issue between the level of positions , or favouritism (or all) but it is incredibly unprofessional to deal with internally. Due to this muffled issue, I would never recommend anyone I know to work at this company. I understand that not everyone... meets eye to eye, and I am sure this is common within bigger companies. Also, every department has their way of doing work. This is more of a cautious warning, but make sure you are able to tolerate the one you are to work in, whether it may be their process or their rules.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure everyone works well together, and listen to employee's complaints. If anything, have co-workers do anonymous reviews. This suggestion is to provide a positive change to work better as a team, not to demean one another.

    Keilhauer2017-11-05
  5. "Purchasing Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keilhauer full-time

    Pros

    Great team, stipend available for professional development, quarterly lunches with the entire company, feels like a strong family company

    Cons

    When it gets busy, sometimes you feel like you can't step away and you are the only one who can handle a specific supplier so there is a lot of pressure

    Advice to Management

    Check in more often, particularly during peaks and foster more support within the team

    Keilhauer2017-08-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keilhauer full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere; fantastic work-life balance; fair pay; friendly workers; management respects employees at all levels.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that people seem to stay at this company for so long that there aren't many opportunities for growth into a management role.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. This was the best company I've ever worked for and if more opportunities open up in the future I would be happy to re-join the team.

    Keilhauer2017-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Culture needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly small company so stars can shine brightly. Located in Scarborough which is a great option for anyone who doesn't want to commute downtown. Free parking.

    Cons

    Major communication breakdown between Management & staff. Salaries are low & room for growth is next to non-existent. Benefits package is highly lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication between all levels in the company, increase salary drastically, increase benefits package & allow staff to provide performance reviews to management in order to isolate which managers are the problem!

    Keilhauer2017-03-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small in size, run by the family and it feels like it Welcoming environment Challenging work Interesting industry

    Cons

    Poor communication between departments can cause problems

    Advice to Management

    Improve interdepartmental communication

    Keilhauer2016-11-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Confidential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, cool, casual & friendly atmosphere, employees treated like human beings, good benefits you don't have to pay for, competitive salaries.

    Cons

    People seem to stay a long time, so there's not a lot of room for advancement; some managers are friendlier than others.

    Advice to Management

    More professional development for internal employees.

    Keilhauer2016-03-07
  10. "Good company, wonderful people throughout the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Keilhauer full-time

    Pros

    This company has a positive work culture. No company is perfect but Keilhauer tries to constantly balance the demands of the customer with the needs of their employees.

    Cons

    Almost every employee stays so there is not a lot of room for upward movement.

    Keilhauer2016-01-25
Found 13 reviews